We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful week!”
Review of Hotel Chaplain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Chaplain
Ranked #203 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Hotel Chaplain is a little gem in on a quiet street in a great section of Paris. You will be disappointed if you are seeking a Marriott, Hyatt, etc. You will be disappointed if you want an elevator that holds more than two! If, however you are seeking a terrific Paris experience this is for you. The staff are smiling, helpful and polite. We particularly were impressed by Sophie, Arno and the young brunette whose name we can't remember, they were gracious and welcoming. While our room was small, it was fine. It was clean, recently redecorated and modern. The free minibar and wifi were a nice touch. If you get a room on the 5th floor you look out over the roof tops.....beautiful! We were in #54. Rooms 52 and 51 have small balconies but they overlook the street.

The hotel is located a half block from the intersection Monparnasse Ave and Blvd. Raspail. The area is filled with many small family owned, excellent restaurants and two key Metro stations. A short walk away are the Luxembourg Gardens and the Pantheon and everything else is within easy walking distance or quick Metro rides.

There is a reason so many are eager to share their positive experiences at Hotel Chaplain, it is very good. BUT, remember if you are more comfortable in a larger commercial hotel, you may not be comfortable at Hotel Chaplain.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear guests,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking time writing this comment and inform other guests about your satisfaction concerning our hotel. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and the location of the Hotel with major metro stations and restaurants just nearby.

Thank you very much for your great appreciation of our staff! Thank you for having mentioned Sophie, Arnaud and the young brunette Morgane.
Your compliments have been shared with the them.

Since you had such a positive overall experience, we hope that we may welcome you on a next occasion.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 807 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I struggled for ages trying to find the ideal, yet affordable, hotel in Paris. Eventually we settled on Hotel Chaplain and we were not disappointed. The hotel is literally 2 seconds from a metro, which was perfect and surrounded by plenty of Brasseries and restaurants. The room was small (as are all central Paris rooms) but was very nice and clean, with a modern bathroom. It was quiet too. Staff were friendly. The only thing I would change: Breakfast should definitely be included and perhaps a discount for the nearby car park (expensive at 34 euros per 24hrs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. It helps us to improve our service.

Regarding the size of the rooms, our standard double rooms are between 13 and 15 m²: they are "in the average" of the 3 stars hotels in Paris. Also we have different types of room, with different size. For more space, we offer you to book a Privilege room for your next experience in our hotel.

For your information, in our own website, we do offer different special deals, some of them include Breakfast.

We hope to welcome you again soon,

With very best regards,

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a small hotel in the 14th district of Paris, but near many places to eat. It is on the small side, but the room was very comfortable and the staff was super friendly. We stayed one night before returning to the U.S. We did not partake of the breakfast offer. It is offered for room delivery at a time you specify. We thought it was a bit pricey

Room Tip: We stayed in room 51 which had windows on the street, but it is off the main, main street and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgleasonphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guests,

First we wish to thank you for your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, services and staff.

The Hotel Chaplain is located in the 06th district near by many restaurants and only 2 minutes walking distance from the metro station with direct access to major touristic places.

The hotel Chaplain offers different types of room, with different size. For more space, we offer you to book a Privilege room for your next experience in our hotel.

We hope to see you again in our hotel for your next trip to Paris !

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the very tidy, very friendly Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche. Located in a charming neighborhood right near Montparnasse Blvd and the myriad of fine restaurants there as well as an easy walk to the Metro a block away, meant all of Paris was at our feet in just minutes. The hotel is charming, small rooms in the euro style but very clean and fun decorations abound. The staff is Grade A number one....helpful and friendly. Free wi-fi is nice. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meild2198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to right down a comment about your last stay in our hotel !

Indeed the location is great to take advantage of the monument and activities Paris has to offer.

Thank you for your kind comments about the cleanliness, the rooms and the staff. We have forwarded your compliments to the people concerned.

Your enthusiasm for the hotel is highly appreciated and will be a great source of motivation.

We hope to welcome you again soon,
With very best regards,

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fabulous unobtrusive little hotel in the heart of Montparnasse in a quiet little street. The hotel was immaculately clean, modern with friendly helpful staff. Air con was fab as temps in excess of 30deg! Would certainly stay here again.Vavin metro station was just across the street and there are lovely little bars and restaurants close by. Would recommend this as it is within walking distance of the Latin Quarter or by a short metro stop to saint Michelle and all the other tourist attractions are so easily accessed this way too. Did the Paris L' Open Tour bus trip where you can hop on and off where you like? 4 routes to choose from, well worth the money. Buy a 3 or 5 day pass for the metro and get 20 % off a day ticket.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 20,30,40,50 are all away from the lift but and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBalmull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guests,
We do thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at the Chaplain Rive Gauche.
We are happy you enjoyed the cleanliness of our hotel, which is also a compliment for our housekeeping staff. Thank you very much for your great appreciation of our staff! I will certainly not fail to share these comments with them.
So glad you enjoyed your time with us and very happy you like your room and the hotel in general.
Thank you once again for your commentary.
We look forward to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights in August 2013 and enjoyed it. Excellent English speaking staff, small but tidy room, brand new bathroom.
Great location close to underground train but silent at night!
I would recommend it to my colleagues and Family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are happy that you thought our staff was excellent English speakers. We try everyday to satisfy our guest’s requests as much as we can, it is always a great satisfaction to get good feedbacks such as yours about our team. We have forwarded your compliment.

It is also very kind of you to recommend us to your family and colleagues.

We hope we will welcome you again in the future.

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in this hotel on our way back from Provence before flying home. The room and bathroom were modern, in great condition and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is fantastic, within easy walking distance of Montparnasse and a short walk from Saint Germain, so plenty of bars and restaurants around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lechaplain, Responsable réception at Hotel Chaplain, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind message! Many thanks for taking the time to let us know you feedback from your recent stay with us. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay, our service and location.
We hope to see you again in our hotel for your next trip to Paris!

Best regards.

A.Sané
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#167 of 1,803 in Paris
709 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#61 of 1,803 in Paris
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#172 of 1,803 in Paris
1,131 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#197 of 1,803 in Paris
680 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#124 of 1,803 in Paris
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chaplain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chaplain

Address: 11 bis, rue Jules Chaplain, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#217 Business Hotel in Paris
#279 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#449 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $147 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chaplain 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying between Saint Germain des Pres, the Luxembourg Gardens and Montparnasse, the Hotel Chaplain is immersed in a multifaceted whirl of culture and art. Writers, painters, sculptors and musicians have given this district its unusual character. Surf the Internet at your leisure, enjoy your choice of drink or be swept away by a good book in one of our twenty five air-conditioned rooms, in our lounge with its library or in our inner courtyard. Each room greets you with a depiction of a unique smile, surrounded by sober, contemporary decor. Our rooms offer a full range of amenities to ensure your comfort (Wi-Fi, Internet, flat-screen TV, domestic and international channels). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Chaplain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaplain Rive Gauche Paris
Chaplain Rive Gauche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing