We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Ranked #412 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“well located”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by colleagues and were not disappointed. We stayed with friends and so got to see 3 very different rooms of varying sizes. They all had points in their favour and also some drawbacks. We stayed in an attic style room which was quaint. There is no air conditioning but it was not that hot when we stayed and we could leave the window open day and night to keep cool. Would be a little problematic in the middle of summer though I would think. If we had stayed another night we would have bought food from nearby markets and eaten in the fabulous courtyard. The hotel is in a good location and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneG546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    268
    56
    21
    21
See reviews for
151
325
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a charming European hotel, nestled behind a stone wall in the heart of the Latin quarter. My husband and I spent 5 nights here in October on the recommendation of friends and found the location to be ideal for easy access to metro/bus/coffee shops/restaurants.
We loved that our tiny garden suite had direct access outside, and was very quiet at night. We did not eat breakfast here, but enjoyed our wine on the terrace in the evening.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Great value in Paris!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights after a recommendation by a friend. We could not have been more happy! The location was perfect, right in the heart of the Latin Quarter, close to metro and bus lines, near many attractions and great restaurants, bars and shopping!! The rooms were quant and a good size for Paris. The rooms definitely are a bit outdated but I found it charming. The best thing about this hotel is the peaceful, quiet and relaxing courtyard. It was delightful to sit out in the garden and enjoy a bottle of wine in the evenings. It was hard to believe that we were in the heart if Paris, yet it was so quiet! We will defietly br staying here in the future!!!! Also, Maria, at the front desk was amazingly helpful, friendly and spoke great English!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jannemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I spent 4 days at this hotel in August. The location was perfect. It is close to the metro, but also a walking distance to nearby attractions and great restaurants and shops. It was hot when we were there and the room had no air-conditioning, but did have a good fan. Three of us stayed in a room with 2 single beds and a pull out couch. All the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of room for us. The decor is dated, but it adds to the charm of the hotel. The bathroom was small, but clean and in good repair. The garden terrace was a definite plus. We would sit down with wine and cheese in the evenings after a day of touring and wind down enjoying the beautiful Paris evenings outdoors. The hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. I was recommended this hotel by my brother in-law, and I would definitely stay here again. It was an excellent choice with good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel facing the garden are quiet and reduce the noise from the street at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toothfairy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cute small hotel in a lovely neighborhood located walking distance to restaurants and the metro. The rooms are small as they usually are in Europe, but it was clean and comfortable. There is a dining room for breakfast or socializing with other guests. Laundromat across the street is a plus.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor will have more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krobinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent our last night in Paris here. No A/C and it was warm but they did give us a fan for our room. We asked for ice on a couple of occassions and they were able to accomodate.
Conveniently located near the 'square' with shops and restaurants-nice and busy at night with lots of people.
The garden terrace is lovely to be able to sit out and enjoy a glass and a nibble-you can bring your own as only breakfast is served. Paris can be expensive = 9 Euros for coffee, juice and croissants so if you're not pressed for time as we were, head out for breakfast instead...this is in general for all hotels not just this one.
Stairs and hallways are tired and could do with a deep clean and touch up.
For a 1 or 2 night stay this is great spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellahannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in early September on the recommendation of a friend. We booked early to make sure we got a room, as the hotel is fairly popular. The location can't be beat - walk one direction and the metro is right there. Walk another and the cafes are right there. The hotel is older, decor a bit dated, and the rooms tiny. But it was so quaint it just added to the charm. The interior garden/patio area is lovely for sitting out as many have said, and having your own wine and picnic. We did do the breakfast because it was convenient. Wonderful coffee but the truth is, it is only bread/croissants, coffee and a choice of juice. We just thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would do so again - primarilly based on the very reasonable price and location. I will say that although housekeeping did a fairly good job, I knew they weren't cleaning the bathroom floors as there was a plastic toothpick on the floor when we arrived, still there 3 days later.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#148 of 1,801 in Paris
1,640 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#581 of 1,801 in Paris
551 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#216 of 1,801 in Paris
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#300 of 1,801 in Paris
982 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#982 of 1,801 in Paris
444 reviews
Quartier Latin
Best Western Quartier Latin Pantheon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grandes Ecoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

Property: Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Address: 75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#159 Family Hotel in Paris
#229 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Grandes Ecoles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Des Grandes Ecoles Paris
Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Des Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Hotel Des Grandes Ecoles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing