We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Ranked #439 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hidden hotel in the Latin quarter hidden behind large green doors. When you enter, you a greeted by a lovely garden with tables to sit outside. We stayed five days in September recently and loved coming "home" to our hotel every day! Marie is a gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 58Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 772 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at this charming hotel in the Latin Quarter for the 2nd time in 13 months. This time our stay was 12 nights and I just love this hotel. Marie and the staff make every effort to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Close to Notre Dame (10 minute walk) and very close to a Metro stop make this hotel a perfect jumping off place to explore Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eriksatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Lovely quaint 3* hotel in quiet courtyard setting. Nice breakfast room, patio, and lobby. Breakfast very basic - not worth 9 euros especially when there are many bakeries and options nearby. Friendly, helpful staff. Our room was okay - small and showing its age a little, but very clean. Bed was a small double. Hallways also showing a bit of wear & tear. Location was good - many cafes very close, a lively little neighborhood in the evenings, a few blocks to metro and bus stops. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda154944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent four nights on a recent visit and found this place very very comfortable as a base for our stay. Although the rooms were small and without TV, the ambience and relaxed atmosphere was very welcoming! It was an oasis and you will feel like a "local"! However, the best part was its location! In the Latin Quarter, the immediate neighborhood (including Rue Mouffetard) was filled with activities, great restaurants, shops and "culture". Just beyond that, the St. Germain area and Notre Dame were easily accessed within minutes. There are 2-3 close metro stations that also provided access to any other part of town! We will certainly be back again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maui-mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

this is a very quaint, quiet hotel near the cardinal lemoine metro. just outside the courtyard and to the left are lots of restaurants, shops, and the best thing: an open market with lots of fresh fruits, vegetables, and specialty foods. the hotel was clean and fairly comfortable. i would have scored this higher if the staff had been friendlier and more helpful. i know there is a cultural difference, but come on. there was one staff person (out of 5) who was kind and helpful. it is because of her kindness i did not score this lower.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The best thing to say about Hotel des Grandes Ecoles is that they make you feel like a close friend who has come to stay with a warm, happy family at their private home. There is none of that parisian attitude or aloofness. The staff seems very happy to be working there, and their happiness permeates your stay. After a day of crowds at museums and crowds in the metro, it is wonderful to enter the courtyard and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was rubbish, rubbish staff, rubbish food, rubbish and if you believe that then you are crazy, mad of your head and insane. This hotel was great. I popped the question to my girlfriend in the hotel. Yes, I did what every man should do and pop the question in Paris on the Eiffel Tower and again in the hotel. We were there for 3 nights, nice room very old school and cool. No TV which is Kool it kept us out and about and the breakfast was okay. There are great breakfast places just walk out and turn right, great bars and try a bar called le Descartes, 70 rue Cardinal. Very nice.

The only down side was a light bulb did not work ( i did not ask them to fit it, how English of me) and I should have asked for wifi access.

Lastly to the cleaning staff, support and management of Hotel des Grandes Ecole thanks for everything.

Lastly there is a great pizza places.......sorry you have to find it yourself......

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BLACKSTARSOFAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#128 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#242 of 1,802 in Paris
336 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#602 of 1,802 in Paris
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Familia Hotel
Familia Hotel
#818 of 1,802 in Paris
596 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#1,064 of 1,802 in Paris
458 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grandes Ecoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

Address: 75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in Paris
#228 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Grandes Ecoles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Des Grandes Ecoles Paris
Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Des Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Hotel Des Grandes Ecoles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing