We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and breakfast feel - great value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Ranked #405 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bed and breakfast feel - great value”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

3 night stay on the 3 floor in the main building. At first, and after coming off a cruise ship, the room seemed dated, bed small and extras sparse (not even a radio) but after spending our time we look back and were thankful for a clean comfortable room in a convenient (quiet) location for a great value ($125€). Used Metro and walked a lot. Did not take advantage of breakfast ... Cold outside- slept late. Additionally, very accommodating in the reservation process, printing boarding passes ( they opened their office downstairs) and connected us with a great share car ride to airport. Will return - do recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    269
    56
    21
    21
See reviews for
153
326
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kintnersville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My teenage children and I loved this hotel! It's in the Latin Quarter and a short walk to the Parthenon, Cluny Museum, Sorbonne, Metro, Notre Dame, Ile St. Louis and a wonderful little square full of live music and a large variety of restaurants. Enter off the street through huge doors into a charming, quiet, flower-filled courtyard which is the perfect place to share a bottle of wine, bread, cheese & fruit from nearby markets in the evening. Although they don't serve dinner, the hotel staff is happy to provide wine glasses and bottle opener. The rooms are charming - I loved the huge windows that open like shutters to let the air in! We had a nice private bath. The breakfast is exactly what you want in Paris - a tray with coffee, pitcher of warm milk, and a selection of pastries and jams for 9 euro. We tried a couple nearby restaurants for "petit dejeneur" but regret not sticking with the hotel's breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisy1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel des Grandes Ecoles for 4 nights on our most recent stay in Paris. A lovely hotel of charm and character in this most picturesque city - what could be better? The location is superb, especially for those who love the 5th arrondissement with its medieval quality and literary-artistic history. Our room, though typically on the small side, was ample enough for our comfort and nicely furnished, with a spacious bathroom. The staff is friendly and accommodating. If you choose to not take the hotel breakfast, there are tons of neighborhood cafes to sample for your morning coffee and croissant, as well as terrific patisseries, boulangeries, and the very lively rue Mouffetard around the corner. Paris is always a feast, moveable or otherwise, and staying in such an atmospheric corner only adds to the pleasure of being there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letstravelforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We loved our stay here. We booked 2 rooms 3 months in advance.
The rooms were small but charming. The location was great and it was wonderful to be able to sit at tables in the garden in front and be off the street and yet be outside. We did not eat the breakfast as it was too expensive, but enjoyed out croissant & coffee at places nearby each morning.
The staff was sometimes helpful, other times not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The room was great (first floor, in front of the garden, also more expensive) and also the location, but the staff was very rude. Never saw that before. First of all, when I arrived, around 10 PM, the male receptionist didn't make my check in (not even checked my passport). He just gave me the room key in order to make me disappear quickly (not even asked me to seat down). When I was leaving, another guy from the staff saw I was in trouble with my luggage to take them to the shuttle. He just said "Je suis desolé" ("I'm sorry for you") and didn't help. The breakfast is expensive for what it is (you cross the street and you'll find a nice boulangerie).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla_Marques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Touring the world's most-visted city, with its traffic and crowds, can at times be rather frenetic, even if like us you have done "the sights" before and opt for spending at least some of your days simply wandering in neighborhoods. If you are staying at Grandes Ecoles, walk through the gate and you magically leave the city and enter a lovely courtyard of serenity and charm to a small hotel with the nicest and most helpful staff one could imagine. Marie, the Director, and every one on the staff, are always busy...but never too busy to answer questions or repond to requests. We have recently spent our second one-week stay at Grandes Ecoles, and are ready to go again.
In the evening guests lounge in the courtyard with their bottles of wine, getting to know each other, exchanging Paris notes, and congratulating each other on how lucky (or smart) they are to choose Grandes Ecoles. One guest we met had stayed here for every one of the last...40 years. Leave the windows open overnight to savor the birdsongs - there is no AC and, happily, no TV.
Grandes Ecoles is at 75 Cardinal Lemoine. It may be of interest to some to know that Hemingway and Hadley lived at 74 (his "A Moveable Feast" chronicles their stay there); Joyce finished "Ulysses" at 71; Descartes, Verlaine, etc. lived nearby.
A well-known writer of European travel guides describes Grandes Ecoles as "idyllic"; we concur.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and not a lot has changed in the 8 years since we last stayed. Its strong points are its location in the Latin Quarter, close to the bustling Place de la Contrescarpe (full of bars and cafes and street entertainers), nearby eat streets and the Pantheon. Notre Dame, St Germain and the Marais are all within walking distance and 2 metro stations serving different lines are only minutes away. The hotel also has a lovely cobblestone entrance and courtyard with tables for evening meals (from local boulangeries etc, not the hotel)or whatever - the only stipulation is that if you want to eat breakfast at the hotel you need to buy it from the hotel (9 Euros for a basic continental). This is very popular with hotel customers and provides a good basis for discussing good places to visit etc. It is almost an oasis in the Parisian environment and is a major plus.
The rooms are pretty basic and small with no TV/radio or bar fridge, but they do have some charm.
The hotel Manager is very capable and effective and speaks good English. Unfortunately this does not apply to all the staff who serve on the front desk and this can create some problems - from our observations a large number of hotel customers were English speaking so the ability to converse in that language would seem to be essential. Wifi is available free of charge but proved to be very erratic in the room we stayed in and this can be frustrating.
This is a popular and well priced hotel that is well worth a visit - but don't expect too much from the accomodation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Wing this time and it is probably preferable to the other building which inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wozzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#138 of 1,800 in Paris
1,648 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#617 of 1,800 in Paris
551 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#207 of 1,800 in Paris
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#369 of 1,800 in Paris
989 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#67 of 1,800 in Paris
1,009 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#965 of 1,800 in Paris
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grandes Ecoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

Property: Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Address: 75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#159 Family Hotel in Paris
#229 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Grandes Ecoles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Des Grandes Ecoles Paris
Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Des Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Hotel Des Grandes Ecoles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing