We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful garden in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Ranked #444 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Had a 2 night stop over in Paris to break up the end of our trip. Rooms are a bit small but you only have to sleep in them. Wonderful position surrounded by restaurants and bars and only a short walk to Notre Dame. Position is perfect close to metro walk to the Seine, the garden is a beautiful place to have breakfast or unwind from a big day walking. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if possible the small rooms are quite cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierrethedirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

We had four nights in Paris before we did the Canal du Midi and the south of France. This hotel was an oasis, perfect location within walking distance to the Metro and St Germain/St Michel. The rooms were large and clean, great bathroom and a lovely outlook onto the courtyard. What a bonus! Every evening, guests gather in the courtyard with their own wine and beer, baguette and cheese, and share stories about their day. The hosts could not be kinder, providing glasses, plates, cutlery, all at no expense! Would definitely recommend this hotel - we stayed in room 33 on the ground floor, opposite reception and the breakfast room. Heaven.

Room Tip: Try to get ground flr in building opposite recept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Rooms were small but very clean light and airy with windows that open to the courtyard.
The courtyard tables and chairs invited residents to share a drink or a meal in the evening.
Good food shopping close by, plus plenty of cafes and restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lettyellen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

This hotel is a special place! Located in the 7th arr., it is close to lots of restaurants and sights. Notre Dame, Saint Chapelle, The Pantheon and The Louvre are all within easy walking distance. I loved the area surrounding the hotel as it is full of students and bustling with energy. This hotel was recommended by a very good friend and I cannot say enough about it. First, it is nestled behind the main street and accessible through a large wooden door. Once inside the door, there is a beautiful garden where guests congregate with their wine, baguettes, cheese and stories of their adventures of the day. I always looked forward to these impromptu gatherings! The rooms are nicely decorated and small by US standards, but probably the norm for Europeans. But the staff is what sets this place apart. Marie and Dorata became friends and we spent loads of time laughing together. Of course they are knowledgeable about the area, but they went out of their way to help us with a rental car issue and a few other glitches that we encountered. When I decided to go back to Paris this summer, I first checked with them for availability, BEFORE I booked the flight. That says it all!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

A block away, a huge party can be taking place in the middle of the Latin Quarter, and you will not hear it at Hotel des Grandes Ecoles. In the evening we sat out in the court yard drinking wine and making new friends with people from Australia, Germany, Scotland, and other parts of France. Yes, the rooms are small-ish, but for the price, the location, and the sheer joy of being in the heart of Paris, this place is a bargain. Reservations open up 90 days before you want to be there. Don't miss the 90 day deadline because this place books very quickly. AND, don't miss Cafe Descartes right out the door of the hotel and turn left - fabulous food, atmosphere, and people.

Room Tip: You have to reserve 90 days in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ESusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We felt lucky to have found this beautiful little hotel in Paris. We have such wonderful memories of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhioMeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

In so many ways this hotel is the perfect place to explore the Latin Quarter. It’s as if you’ve left Paris for the countryside. The décor is decidedly French pastoral: Provencal wallpaper, doilies, and embroidered bead spreads. Occasionally, the din of the hard partying students of the nearby Sorbonne echoes through, but mostly it’s perfectly serene.

We booked nearly a year in advance and asked for a quiet room overlooking the courtyard on the second floor for fear that the first floor would be too noisy. Alas, we were still given a room on the first floor. Our fears were not unfounded: the rolling parade of luggage across the cobblestones begins promptly at 6:00 am. Our introduction to the hotel was less than stellar: in spite of our politeness, the late night desk clerk was less a person than a caricature of French haughtiness. Fortunately, Marie was friendliness personified and Dorita, one of the maids, greeted us each morning with a tray of coffee and fresh croissants and a warm Bonjour.

Some reviewers have complained about the lack of television, but personally I rejoiced in the chirping of the birds as opposed to the harsh sounds of competing t.v. programs. There is a breakfast room for rainy days, but stake out a table in the courtyard for a leisurely breakfast when the weather permits. You’ll find that before you know it, the tables around you will be filled up with people who’ve seen you from the breakfast room and migrated outdoors.

Room Tip: Overlook the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paintertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#128 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
Hotel des Nations St-Germain
#244 of 1,802 in Paris
336 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#616 of 1,802 in Paris
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Familia Hotel
Familia Hotel
#808 of 1,802 in Paris
596 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Arenes
Hotel des Arenes
#1,076 of 1,802 in Paris
458 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Grandes Ecoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

Address: 75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in Paris
#228 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $159 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Grandes Ecoles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Des Grandes Ecoles Paris
Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Des Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Hotel Des Grandes Ecoles Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing