We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Familia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Familia Hotel
Ranked #818 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Familia hotel in Paris for eight nights. The excellent service began before we left home via email. All my questions on location, transportation options from the airport, and selection of room were easily answered, all correspondence was in English. We had a balcony room on the 5th floor, small, but a great view and no noise from the street below. Breakfast was great but do go out on your own and try the small cafés throughout the area for the experience. The location could not have been better, we walked to Notre dame, the Marais district, the Louvre, and the St Germaine district to name a few of the nearby locations. great places to eat within walking distance. The entire staff is excellent. Will return!

Room Tip: Room 52 small but clean and no street noise with a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 596 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Familia for 6 nights, Sept. 14 to 19. I have given this a 4-rating as it is an excellent hotel for the price (E119/night), is well located close to Metro and is a good focal point for walking tours (Pantheon, Notre Dame, Ile St. Louis, Marais district etc..). There were lots of restaurants to choose from at night within easy, safe walking distance. But do not look for luxury and space; the rooms are very small with little or no storage space - so for a 6-night stay it was a major challenge dealing with clothing. We had a room facing the street, which was nice for the view, but tended to be noisy as there is a brasserie nearby frequented by students and conversations and laughter could be clearly heard at 2:00 am. We did not opt for a pretty basic breakfast at the Familia (E7), but went to the Hotel Minerve (same owner) next door for a more substantial breakfast with boiled eggs, ham, nice granola available for E9. The staff was always helpful and friendly.

We enjoyed our stay, but I think 6 days in such a small room is tough - the next time I think we will splurge for a 3 or 4 star where we know there will be more spacious rooms

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel will be quieter but will have a poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boffin111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived on Sept. 11th and were greeted by Nicolas, not ready to get in our room, but he took our luggage and we came back at around 12:00. Very nice room overlooked Rue des Ecoles, modern bath with shower, room is tight, closet to hang clothes, but no chest of draws so we kind of lived out of our luggage. There is a breakfast for additional 7 or 9 euros a person, but we decided to go out. Places in area on St Germain and just a few doors down from Hotel, an american breakfast place, very good, enjoyed hearing Beach Boys music and other American groups. You are in walking distance of all major attractions except Eiffel Tower and Are Triomphe, but metro and bus line 10 and 12 will get you there and they are in easy walking distance of hotel. We found Nicolas and Olivia a big help. Olivia was working for most of time we were there and she was an immense help to us telling us which metro or bus line to take to get to Montmarte or the Eiffel Tower. Nicolas also very helpful in finalizing our return flight plans when we left, printed our boarding passes for us. This is a reasonably priced hotel at 119 euro a night without the breakfast, also small fridge in room they keep stocked with water and soda, but we found little grocery store close by where we purchased juice or whatever we wanted. Staff was friendly and rooms cleaned everyday, just make sure you put used towels on shower floor, that way they know you want fresh towels. We have been to Paris four times now and found this a very nice experience. They also have WIFI and you can use their sister hotel next door Minerva for 1/2 hour / one euro for internet. Enjoy your stay in Paris, hope you have better weather then we did, was chilly all week for Sept. we thought. Our last two stays we beautiful 70 degree temps, but we were told that isn't the normal, it's hit or miss in Paris, some come prepared for all types of weather....and bring that umbrella.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view when booking, or else you could get back end of hotel that overlooks alley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ree G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location surround by cafes and bars with two metro lines near by. Just a short stroll to the notre dam and many many more restaurants. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Will come back again

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarradlaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ticked the boxes as a small value French hotel with character. Easy walk to the river and Notre Dame. Rooms small but comfortable. No safe which we would have liked. Bathroom fine. Not noisy though on street. Staff friendly and helpful. Took breakfast in diner up the street as prefer to cold croissants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjbarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. The service was warm and very helpful. Although I spoke with the staff in French, I did note, repeatedly, that the staff was quite fluent in English. My wife had a hip injury and they were willing repeatedly to boil water for a hot water bottle to use on her hip. That's great service! Furthermore, the location is excellent -- right near two metro stops going on two different lines, in a great neighborhood. One can easily walk to the Seine from this hotel, as well as to good, reasonably priced places for dinner (French, American, Indian, Vietnamese, etc.). (The Indian restaurant on rue Descartes was excellent.) The only drawback to note was that the rooms are quite small -- we rented a triple, and it was a tight fit. (The only reason I don't give a "5" rating is the smallness of our triple.) That being said, when we are back in Paris, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 898Fairminded898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Familia Hotel was terrific and I definitely recommend it. The staff could not have been more helpful with directions, arranging airport transportation, etc. The room was very good (albeit small/tight on space). The location was very convenient and we walked to many places. A metro stop (Cardinal Lemoine) is just around the corner. Breakfast was lovely.....coffee, juice, and breads. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyWait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Minerve Hotel
Minerve Hotel
#928 of 1,802 in Paris
755 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
Hotel Au Royal Cardinal
#1,284 of 1,802 in Paris
525 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#909 of 1,802 in Paris
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#543 of 1,802 in Paris
114 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
Hotel Quartier Latin
#376 of 1,802 in Paris
451 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#602 of 1,802 in Paris
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Familia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Familia Hotel

Address: 11 rue des Ecoles | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#572 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $98 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Familia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Familia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Familia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing