We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pleasure of Paris”
Review of Hotel des Carmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Carmes
Ranked #867 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The localization of hotel Des Carmes- 5,rue Des carmes ( Quartier Latin ), is one of the
best for those that whant to enjoy Paris. "La cathedrale de Notre Dame de Paris,le musée du Louvre ( et, les boutiques du Carroussel ) la Tour Eiffel,le musée D'Orsay ,...,"are places that can be achieved just walking since the hotel, without stressing in the subways of the metro.
An alternative to move around thes places is taking the bateau-bus,in the ile de la Cité,in the
river Seine. It cost 18 (eighteen euros ) for two days use,going in and out,wherever you want
to visit,at Seine's margin,For instance,you take the bateau at Notre-Dame, get out at Louvre ,get in again at Louvre,get out at tour Eiffel,and so on ,until 19 o'clock.And repeat in the day after !
D'ont miss going to the Moulin Rouge.Wonderful night club

Room Tip: Send a email to Luc and ask for a room in the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jh-108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 204 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was referred to me by Hotel Diana as their rooms were all booked on the dates of my stay in Paris.

This hotel is in a perfect location, close to everything. As I was travelling alone my priority was safety, comfortable and easy access to everything. This hotel exactly met the criteria. Very helpful staff.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Chandni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at Hotel des Carmes in January 2014. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends. It was great. The staff were very helpful, especially Marie and Luc who were very nice and gave us all the help and advice that we needed - they were very accommodating. Our room was adequate in terms of size, and had a small balcony. Everything was clean. The hotel is in a good central location if you want to explore Paris on foot. Lots of restaurants nearby, also Jazz Clubs. The price was very reasonable. For those who complain about room sizes in Europe, get over it. Europe is Europe. Our room was perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: We advised the hotel of what we wanted and that is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 8 nights beginning October 21. The previous reviews of this hotel prompted us to stay here. The part that was left out of previous reviews was the helpful assistance of two staff, Marie and Luc. They readily answered all questions, gave wonderful suggestions, simplified confusing issues, made day trip reservations, called taxis, and in general functioned as if the worked for the Ritz Carlton Hotel chain. They were fabulous. Top notch service.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a great stay.
Perfect location, just a short walk from the notre dame, bars, restaurants and the transport links of the RER and metro.
The hotel was clean, just a little wear and tear in the bathroom but very comfortable.
We had a room with a double bed and a single, the double was comfortable, but the single was only a camp bed, which was not quite as good. Air con- fantastic!
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucyer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We toyed at this charming hotel one year ago and returned again for one week. The location is th best you will find. So close to everything including the RER train and the Metro

The downside is the noise. I never slept all night the whole time we were there. We like to sleep with the window open but every night we were forced, despite the heat, to get up and close it to shut out the noise. This goes on until well aft 2am every night. Such a shame but not the fault of the hotel
I think what makes this hotel special is the fantastic staff. Marie is great with the coffee in the morning and anything else you need to know. Luc is the most polite, friendly man who is always willing to assist. I really can't speak highly enough of these people
Thanks again for a great stay

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are noisy but it is my understanding that the rooms that don't face the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I along with our 11 year old son have just returned from a 3 night pleaure break in Paris. I believe that this is our 6th time staying in this hotel over the last 15 years or so. It continues to tick all the right boxes for us. For us the key attractions of this hotel are as follows:
1. The Location:
It is located within the Latin Quarter, a real nice area of Paris. There are lots of attractions close by including the Pantheon, The Surbonne, Notre Dame, Blvd St Michel and Blvd St Gernain.
2. The Convenience to the transport system.
The Paris metro is literally on the door step. In additin, the RER (line B) is only a few hundred metres away. This is a very convenent station if one is coming to Paris by air via CDG airport. Get on the RER at the airport and it will bring you to within a 5 minute walk to the hotel. No changing trains or metros. No taxis needed. You will be in the hotel in no time.
3, The Pricing
We have always found the price to be fair and reasonable. Very good value.
4. Condittion of the hotel
This hotel is well managed. It is clean and well mantained. Whilst the rooms and bathrooms are small, they are nevertheless very comfortable. The air conditioning unit in the room we stayed in was exceptionalluy effective, much better than you might find in a 4 or 5 star establishement. The quality of the window finish is excellent. There was no noise intrusion whatsoever and that's important for a good night's sleep. We did however stay in the rear portion of the hotel so the room was not exposed to potential street noise. Even if it were, the quality of the window finishsuggest that noise should not be a problem. On previous stays, we had rooms with street views and these were also very nice. We did not use the telly but it looked to be a good quality flat screen.
5. WiFI
We had high quality complimitary inter net connection in the room. The connectiing process was uncomplicated, in contrast to many more expensive hotels.
6. Reception Staff
Most welcoming, attentive and anxious to help. They make you feel at home.

We did not take breakfast in the hotel, but it is served from 7am to 11am.

This is a gem of a little hotel that does not pretend to be something that it is not. It is in the heart of Paris and is staffed by people that care. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Noel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#179 of 1,803 in Paris
939 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Studia
Hotel Studia
#1,408 of 1,803 in Paris
90 reviews
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#539 of 1,803 in Paris
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
Hotel Le Home Latin
#1,081 of 1,803 in Paris
550 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#383 of 1,803 in Paris
997 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#476 of 1,803 in Paris
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Carmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Carmes

Address: 5 rue des Carmes | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #867 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $128 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Carmes 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Carmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Carmes Hotel
Des Carmes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing