We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel des Carmes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel des Carmes
Ranked #951 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Gyongyos, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was there on March, 2013. Nice staff, clean but small room ( anyways it is normal in Paris ), - Room 207 - clean bathroom, excellent location ( Metro station 2 min, the Pantheon is end of the street, 5 min walking Notre Dame, etc ) only the bed was uncomfortable for me. It is a really perfect 2* hotel , but I think liitle bit expensive in this category.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    78
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
86
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at Des Carmes for 6 nights, my parents have stayed there a few times also. The localization is very nice, a few steps from the metro station and the boulevard saint germain, close to many restaurants and stores, the Pantheon is very near and 10 min walk from Notre Dame, very safe to arrive at night. I've stayed one time near Champs Elisses, but staying at Quartier Latin is having a little bit of Parisienne life! The rooms are small but very clean and silent. The front desk staff are so adorable and will help you in what you need. The hotel is not a new one, but for the price, cleaness and localization I would stay there again!

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same size, the difference is just that some have a view for the street and oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marianamarzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is good, the room and bathroom are clean, the stuff is friendly and attentive and the big advantage is that it is very close to the city center. It is also places on an area where you have boulangeries, pizzas very close, so if I would go in Paris next time I'd stay at the same hotel, but I WOULDN'T have the breakfast included, as it is very poor. For that money , approximately 10 euros/pers you have a lot of places very close wher you can eat much better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mona_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you want to stay in a cheap hotel in Paris, I highly recommend this hotel. Close to the Notre Dame Cathedral, train station and many restaurants, this hotel was very convenient. Rooms were small but well taken care. Staff was friendly and spoke English and was helpful with directions. We didn't spend much time in the room during the day but we were able to walk to many locations from our hotel including the Notre Dame Cathedral, the Louvre, and Musee d'Orsay. We even walked to the Eiffel Tower, but that was a bit of a hike.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liketotravel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband use to stay here many times while traveling to France. This was my 3rd time here since 2004. It seems management does not want to update it's decor, this hotel is now run-down and need of updating. The carpet same as in 2004 had yellowish stains everywhere ( we did not remove our shoes) the bedspreads are the same from the 80's. The bed sheets had a tear. Shows management doesn't care about quality. For 20 euros more you can get a better newly renovated hotel just down the street! We will never book here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My family and I stayed in hotel des carmes for 3 nights, we are a family of 6 persons so we booked 2 triple rooms. One of our rooms had a balcony with a partial view of both the Notre Dame Cathedral and the Pantheon. Our other room had a courtside view which wasn't so bad also. The hotel itself is a little dated but kept very clean. Marie at the front desk is friendly and very helpful, i wasnt able to get the name of the other front desk man but he was also nice. The rooms are spacious for European standards, we had ample space for our luggage and still have room to move around. The bathroom was a little small but not cramped. Having airconditioning in the room was a definite plus since the weather and temperature in Paris varied while we we're there.

Location: We loved the location! The metro station was just down the street, Restaurants and cafes are nearby. The Notre dame Cathedral is an easy 5-10 min walk from the hotel depending on your pace so is the Pantheon. The hotel is located in a quiet street, away from the touristy streets. It's also convenient since the Hop on hop off buses all stop at the Notre Dame.

Breakfast: We only had one breakfast there during our stay because we opted to eat breakfast in one of the cafes in the area since we got more for the same price as the hotel.

Overall: I would definitely book with Hotel des carmes again and recommend it to others as well. =)

Room Tip: Request for a room on the street side. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katherine425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is ideally located in the Latin Quarter, an ideal base when exploring Paris and within easy walking distance to the metro, Pantheon, Notre Dame to name a few. It is also close to many good restaurants and cafes. At the end of the road there is a strip of little shops which include a wine shop, cheese shop, bakery, green grocer etc - great if you want to put a picnic together for dinner by the eiffel ;-)
The hotel is quite basic and the rooms rather small and a little outdated. Not that we cared at all - it was also extremely clean and the bed super comfy. The staff are lovely and even lets us borrow utensils and plates for our picnic. This hotel is fantastic value for Paris and I will be sure to stay here again when I next visit Paris

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aus-Nellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Studia
Hotel Studia
#1,370 of 1,800 in Paris
86 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
Quartier Latin
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
Moderne St-Germain Hotel
#528 of 1,800 in Paris
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Minerve Hotel
Minerve Hotel
#945 of 1,800 in Paris
741 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
Hotel Vendome Saint Germain
#453 of 1,800 in Paris
98 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Saint-Jacques
Hotel Saint-Jacques
#369 of 1,800 in Paris
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Carmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Carmes

Property: Hotel des Carmes
Address: 5 rue des Carmes | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #951 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Carmes 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Carmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Carmes Hotel
Des Carmes Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing