We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming little hotel, beautifully located!!! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel de Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Nice
Ranked #765 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charming little hotel, beautifully located!!! :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This little hotel was perfect for our 4 days stay in Paris in Aug 2012. Fantastic location in the Marrais, minutes from the beautiful Notre Dame, and literally a 2 minute walk to metro!!!
Yes, the room was small... but welcome to Europe's top cities!! We wanted to see as much as possible in our short four day visit as we had come a loooong way (from Canada). i.e. as little time in the room as possible!! The staff were great... Especially Gael. What a wonderful person... When I showed her our super compact plans of the days, she helped me optimize the routs, etc... Even though we spoke fluent French, she made an effort to speak English (Good English!!)... I caught a cold during our stay, and she took the time to write down some the name of some off the shelf medications for me, and asked me every morning if I was better... Little things that made a HUGE difference for our first (certainly not last) Parisian experience...
All in all, great hotel, GREAT experience, and I definitely would go back...

ENJOY PARIS... IT'S A LOVELY PLACE...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niloo1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    137
    46
    15
    9
See reviews for
48
105
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This small hotel has much to offer in terms of location and charm. It is three star and offers all that one would expect from a hotel with that rating. The rooms are fine in terms of size. The bathroom is small and certainly a one at a time place. The shower has great pressure and plenty of hot water. If you bend down however you are likely to turn the water off through bumping the tap! The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. The location is perfect for exploring Paris. Most sites are an easy walk or else the Metro is close by. There is a great courtyard area next door with cafes and restaurants if you do not want to travel further. The rooms are quiet with the windows closed. With them open it is great to listen to the noises from below. Looking out the window you can see the hustle and bustle from the courtyard cares. With the windows closed, and the A C on, then no noise from below can be heard. A good nights sleep. So yes in terms of value for money this is a great place to stay. We would certain stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reynard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

I booked this hotel based on nice reviews on tripadvisor.
I arrive at night in paris and got to the hotel to find hotel staff who were too busy to attend to us and once attended told us our room was on the 5th floor and no lift to use for us (only a small old lift for luggage) - so we were stuck walking up 90 steps and my 70 year old mother struggled as did i!
the room was tiny - could not bend to pick something up in the bathroom without hitting the wall and i'm a small person. no fridge or bar ie no water apart from the tap. and very noisy from the bars downstairs.

When discussed with them the issues above mainly the stairs in the morning they suggested we should go else were and best they could offer us would be the 3rd floor. I told them that this was not possible for us as my mother is unable to climb up that far and they didnt try to help. When i asked if we could check out and cancel the rest of the stay they did not agree and refused to refund ANY of the 6 nights booked.

We moved to a different hotel just down the road which was very comfortable and lovely and clean.

I wouldn't stay here if you fancy climbing up flights and flights of stairs after a long day of sightseeing unless you are very tight for the budget. definitely ruined the start to a nice stay in paris.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Fabulous location - an old hotel with bathrooms in the corner of the rooms. They were as small as we had on our canal boat so they would not impress Americans! The beds were just passable, the rate was fantastic, the female day managers (2) were helpful. The evening manager was an Indian fellow who needs people skill lessons. Main downside was yelling and noise from the bars and restaurants in the square below) which went until dawn each morning.

Room Tip: ask if they have one that is not exposed to noise from revellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The beds were comfortable but the pillows were hard and lumpy, and there was insufficient lighting. The bathroom was very nice for Paris with an enclosed shower. The lift usually began at the 1st floor not the ground floor entry. The entry and public spaces are long overdue for a face lift. This is not near the fashionable section of the Rue de Rivoli, and it is very difficult to hail a cab. The first room we were shown has not closet or drawers and were were staying for six nights. There are much better choices.

Room Tip: Ask if there are down pillows and a chest of drawers or at least an armoire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 942lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

I ACTUALLY took this trip in September of 2008, it won't let me review that far back (I'm sure they just want to keep things recent, but I believe this is a place that deserves a review).

It was my first trip to Paris, France. The night before my trip I began my search for a place to stay by calling hotels, one by one, speaking French to the receptionists to the best of my ability (which was, unfortunately, not very well). Most of my attempts were halted VERY abruptly by a voice, saying "English is spoken here for your convenience", which was the nice way of saying "PLEASE stop butchering our language". Others interrupted with the equivalent of "we're full". I still wonder if I was rejected immediately by some BECAUSE of my poor attempts at French.

The Hotel de Nice had a very friendly receptionist who answered and, very patiently, listened to me and helped me book a room. If I remember correctly, I gave a credit card over the phone to secure my reservation, and they said they'd confirm it using e-mail. At that point I had no laptop with me, so the train ride to Paris was a little uneasy, not knowing 100% if the booking process went through alright. However when I arrived I was greeted and checked in without any problems.

The inside of this particular hotel was like no other in that it had an old Victorian antique look to it, despite the simple inner-city looking entrance. Bright pinks, greens, and blues painted the walls and staircases of this thin-vertical hotel. Inside the rooms were comfortable with elaborate designed "safari" wallpaper (if I remember correctly) and a small window with a view of the Parisian skyline and Rivoli St. I could tell the building was a bit older by the overall sounds heard, but at night it was quiet and the utilities were up to date. No complaints here. No wifi offered back then, but that might have changed.

I think what I liked about this hotel the most was how friendly the attendants were. Of the three people I met at the front, 2 spoke english very well and ALL three were extremely helpful. I seem to remember the location being pretty good. A restaurant next door offered wifi to paying customers and the food was decent as well. I didn't have a good experience with the fish, but I think I wasn't used to all the butter (or SOMETHING similar). I walked most everywhere or took the metro. Seemed like a pretty safe area.

First time in Paris and you're looking for a smaller off the map hotel, this is a great place to check out. Not TOP notch, but has character and a friendly staff (or at least it was when I visited).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnrohStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel du Loiret
Grand Hotel du Loiret
#1,017 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
Hotel de la Bretonnerie
#326 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,391 of 1,798 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#681 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#344 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
Hotel Bourg Tibourg
#679 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Nice

Property: Hotel de Nice
Address: 42 B rue de Rivoli, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#599 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the historic Marais quarter, this hotel of charm will warmly welcome you on your arrival to the French capital. Friendly and romantic, the Hotel de Nice is ideally situated near Paris 's most famous sights. All rooms are "en suite", with bathroom (shower or bathtub), toilets , hair dryer , TV & AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Nice Hotel
Hotel De Nice Paris
De Nice Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing