We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France
Ranked #108 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in this charming hotel at the end of February, but only writing this review now. The hotel is located on a quiet street in the centre of the Latin Quarter with an array of bars and restaurants within walking distance, as well as being close to the RER airport line. Staff were very pleasant and friendly, my standard room being a good size by Paris standards, as well as being recently and tastefully renovated - a nice mix of classical and modern. After staying 3 nights there followed by a night visiting friends in the suburbs, I returned to find that I'd been upgraded to a top-floor suite for my final night - much appreciated! All in all an excellent option in the very heart of Paris.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityTourist2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 806 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location in Paris. Minutes from Notre Dame but set in a quiet square in the shadows of St Severin Church. The room we stayed in (34) was large by Paris standards and the bed very comfy! Close to Metro line 4 which is very handy if you are travelling in from Gare du Nord. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doofloof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fabulous location right in the heart of the Latin quarter yet beautifully quiet as in a pedestrian only square overlooking the beautiful St Severin Church- ask for a room with a view. Staff were all extremely welcoming, polite and helpful. Extremely clean and rooms very comfortable. Our room had clearly been newly decorated and was very tasteful. Nice products in the bathroom. All non smoking. Breakfasts were a bit on the pricy side at 15 euros but the convenience and the freshly squeezed juices, freshly cut fruit salad were worth it.( Hot food cooked in small portions so good to ask ask soon as you get there if running low and then cooked to order.) We will certainly return.

Room Tip: as above -ask for a room with a view of the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEWMST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a charming comfortable hotel with some extra amenities that make it a four star Parisian hotel. Rooms are well equipped and quiet in a neighbourhood famous for noisy nights. The full breakfast is extra but we found it great value and enjoyed starting the day full so we could trek around Paris well into the afternoon. Staff were very helpful and accommodating and always with a smile. We loved the neighbourhood and proximity to the action . Room 52 and 31 both have king beds, another rare treat in some Paris hotels. We saw many business people but we were with family and I would recommend this for even women travelling sola.

Room Tip: Try to face the corner for a view up both streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sola123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinne A, Directeur général at Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear sola123,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your time at the Parc Saint Severin.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we offer our guests different rooms categories: Classic, Superior, superior with terrasse , one room with Panoramic view and Family Room (one single plus one double room, connecting). If you need any assistance in booking the right category, do not hesitate to contact us.
We hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you again alone or with your family.

Warm Regards,
Corinne ANDRIVON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My experience at this hotel was very different from the majority of other reviewers. To begin with, the person greeting us seemed only mildly interested in our arrival. Once in our room, my daughter and I immediately noticed a mildly nauseating, sour odour that didn't belong there. I contacted the front desk and very discreetly explained the situation and expressed my desire to change rooms. We were there for three days. Not only did management not offer us a different room, but never even acknowledged the problem or contacted us again to follow up. The smell remained throughout our stay (deceased rodent in wall?), gradually working its way into the hallway. Now this would have been sad tale enough, but there were other problems as well. Despite how wonderful the pictures looked, our room was, upon closer inspection, rather dated. I've stayed in two star hotels in Paris before, so I understand what it means to stay in an older building. However, in this instance, the fixtures were dated, and the grout both on the floor and in the shower stall were badly stained. Lots of mold around the wooden window frame in the shower too (see pictures). But wait - now for the truly odd part. Apparently management had some cause to block off the vent in the bathroom ceiling (perhaps they knew of the smell after all?). The bizarre thing is that they chose to execute this repair using several feminine hygiene products (mini-pads -- see pictures). In fact, I first noticed the creative home repair remedy after one of the mini-pads dropped to the floor. Looking up, I saw that another mini-pad was hanging from the ceiling by the last inch of its sticky edges. It stayed there for the duration of our visit, suggesting that the cleaning staff either did not know it was there or thought it was a normal occurrence. I didn't know whether to laugh or cry. Ultimately it proved a source of much humour for us despite how completely inappropriate it was. What with the pungent odor and the dangling minipads from the ceiling, the fact that the soap dispenser in our shower remained empty for our entire 3 day stay should come as no surprise, and in fact, seemed rather trivial. On the pro side, it is a great location, as the other reviewers state, and the rest of the hotel smelled just fine. We were just very disappointed overall as we thought this hotel was going to be the nicest of the four hotels we visited during our brief European tour, but instead it ended up being the least nice of all four. I am unlikely to return and was, in fact, quite relieved to be on to our next destination. I still can't believe how our experience could be so different from the majority of other guests of this property!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the adjacent restaurant. On a weekend the noise is quite loud and the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camillebinz, Marketing Manager at Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Stephen M.,

I am really sorry to read that your experience in our hotel did not fulfill your expectations. It is a pity that our team did not find a solution right away when you complained.

I wish to inform you that the necessary steps have been taken so that similar incidents do not arise in the future.

I hope that you will give us another chance during your next visit of Paris.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel. We booked this hotel as part of a deal with Eurostar on their website and were very pleased with it.

We stayed at the Hotel Parc St. Severin at the end of February during a 3 day minibreak to Paris. It is in a really great location - we wanted a central hotel so we could walk around the centre of Paris easily and this was it - with close metro links too. It is 5 minutes walk from Notre Dame and very close to lots of restaurants and amenities in the Quartier Latin.

The hotel is small but very nice and well presented. Very clean and staff were very friendly. Our room was great with a view of a lovely Parisien street. Bed very comfortable with ample wardrobe space, and an amazingly powerful and relaxing shower. Heating in room was great and easy to control (which was great as it was very cold outside).

Didn't have the breakfast so can't comment on that. We didn't want to pay the 15 euros each when we can get breakfast somewhere else much cheaper.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank beznee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Middle of the latin quarter, in its own culdesac, street traffic mostly people, bikes. Area fine for walking. Easy to get around to most points of interest. Front bedrooms with the bend in it, have an extra narrow closet in short doorway hall perfect for suitcases. Bed very comfortable, front desk knowledgeable, helpful, and night clerk like all other night clerks. Always check with them for certainty regarding wake-up calls.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Clark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
Hotel Albe Saint Michel
#189 of 1,805 in Paris
1,286 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#38 of 1,805 in Paris
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
Melia Paris Notre-Dame
#314 of 1,805 in Paris
966 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
Hotel Europe Saint Severin
#223 of 1,805 in Paris
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France

Address: 22 rue de la Parcheminerie | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#128 Business Hotel in Paris
#168 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $148 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latin Quarter: the heart of romantic Paris. Right on the corner of a pedestrian street, the Parc Saint-Severin Hotel lies just across from the cloister of Saint-Severin and the gardens of the National Museum of Middle Age. No more than a stone's throw from the Sorbonne, Notre-Dame and the banks of the river Seine with their picturesque bookstalls. A warm and spacious lobby greets you, and the well appointed bedrooms are full of light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Parc St. Severin - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Parc St Severin
Parc St Severin Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing