We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, very friendly and helpful staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orient Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent value, very friendly and helpful staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

The hotel itself was very clean and the staff excellent. The rooms are amall, but normal for Paris and the value was excellent.

The windows opened and the rooftop view of hte enighboring buildings was nice.

The shower was EXTREMELY small and the step up to the shower was almost a foot. Some travellers might have trouble using or getting in and out of the shower, especially those who are elderly or have any limitations. (Next time we probalby would request a room with a bath instead and just avoid the issue.) But over all the bathroom was modern,very clean, and functional.

Also, the elevator starts 1/2 floor above the lobby and each stop is between floors and basically opens directly onto the narrow stairway. So you have to carry your luggage up at least 1/2 floor to and from the elevator and you have to balance on each floor with your luggage as you exit the elevator onto the fairly narrow, winding steps Still, at least it had an elevator (many Paris hotels don't) and it is only an issue when you check in and check out (and they actually carried our bags to our room for us when we arrived.) But, as with the shower, some travellors might find it challenging.

The neighboorhood is not special, but there are two good boulangeries within about 50 meters and also two stores and a laverie within about the same distance. The two nearest Metros, Monceau and Europe, are about 2 long US blocks away and both are almost a straight line from the hotel. (If you walk down to Europe, be careful not to miss it! It is in the middle of a side street about 10 meters from a corner to your right.

You can easily walk from the hotel to Parc Monceau in 5-10 minutes, same for Gare St. Lazare.

If you are comfortable using the Metro and use your hotel as a base, this is an excellent choice. If you are looking to stay in a great neighborhood and eat and sightsee close by, this may not be for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Thank you so much for this very precise description on the New Orient.

It will certainly help many guests.

We look forward to welcome you again,

with our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    341
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
170
621
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed for a weekend in November and travelled by Eurostar. We walked to the Hotel from Gard Du Nord which took about 15 mins and were delighted with it when we got there. A lovely building with flower filled wrought iron balconies - far prettier than the more expensive Best Western next door. Our room was adequate in size with stylish french decor - beautiful fabrics, and a comfortable bed. Also a little balcony which picked up some of the autumn sun. The bathroom was clean, plenty of hot water and a miniature bathtub, (not recommended for anyone over 5'10"!).
We didnt take breakfast in the hotel on the first day but once we realised the prices elsewhere did so on the second and third days. A small cotinental breakfast is available for E7 but upgrade to E11 and you get cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses etc -much better value than anything available outside.
A small library of books including some in English in the lounge is an added nice touch.
The hotel is situated in a very quiet street but has the advantage of having three metro stations within 5 mins walk. A useful little supermarket opposite.
We highly recommend and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WatfordWelltravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments to our hotel.

We are pleased that you liked your stay with us.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

I spent two nights in this hotel in early November, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I had a single room (although it was a double bed), which was quite small however we have to remember people - this is central Paris! Good (and safe) location, nice restaurants nearby, staff very friendly. The stairs are kinda crazy, but there is a little lift. Nice bathroom, comfortable bed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyClaireH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions de cette sympathique description de l'hôtel et de ses environs..

Avec nos meilleures salutations



Catherine et Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

Good location, clean, quiet and friendly. Not bad value for Paris either.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disestablishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2011
Google Translation
Merci de vos sympathiques commentaires.

Dans l'attente du plaiqir de vous accueillir une prochaine fois
Avec nos meilleures salutations

Catherineet Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
323 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is an adorable boutique hotel on a residential neighborhood. You do not need to stay on the Left Bank to feel like you are in Paris! At a fraction of the cost and far less noise and commotion, this hotel is ideal. It is near 3 metro stations and a beautiful park. Our room was in the back, very quiet. The breakfast was delicious and breakfast room is so quaint and enjoyable. The owners were most helpful and pleasant. I would definitely return here again! An adorable hotel in a very nice area of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pulmqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Gérant at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel.
It will encourage us to pursue our efforts continue to give our best service to all our guests.

With our best regards

Catherine, Josef and their Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

What a joy it was to stay at this wonderful little B&B in Paris. The location is fantastic. The welcome on arrival was really appreciated. We were shown to a lovely room, with a balcony overlooking the street. It felt very parisian! The room was immaculate. The breakfast room light and cheery, as was the atmosphere and manner of the hotel and staff!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frith59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Gérant at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your kind review and are happy to know that you appreciated your
stay at the New Orient

Staying at your disposal,
with our best regards

Catherine, Josef and their Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

charming hotel, everyone helpful and welcoming, especially with our two sons (aged 6 and 3) a spotlessly clean and comfortable room

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Time4Tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Gérant at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2010
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind words about the New Orient and are happy to know that you appreciated
your stay with us.

With our best regards

Catherine, Josef and their Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#53 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#128 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#48 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#35 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#106 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#117 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing