We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best hotel I've stayed at”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #289 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Like the title says - this is probably the best hotel I've stayed at yet.

We've spent 8 days in a double en-suite room, which was probably the cleanest room I've ever seen in a hotel. The shower was sparkling white, I felt very comfortable walking barefoot wherever, the bedsheets were squeaky clean - the whole deal.

The room was rather small (as we'd expected), but had a lovely little balcony watching over the street (Rue de Constantinople). We actually asked for a balcony in the comments section of our reservation form, so I strongly advise you to do the same (only not when I'm coming to stay there again).

The area wasn't as central/lively as a hotel in the heart of the Latin Quarter would probably have been, but I think I actually prefer it that way, as its location was perfect for us: a very short walking distance from an amazing Brioche Dorée bakery for breakfasts (among other options, of course - but that's what we preferred), a selection of quiet (though pricey) bars for night time, and two metro stations that allowed us to easily get to the less quiet and more vibrant parts of the city. It's also quite a short walk (around 15 minutes?) to the Opera / Galeries Lafayette area, if that's your thing, and of course the streets around it felt completely safe to walk around, day or middle-of-the-night.

Also, over these 8 days I think we've probably met the entire hotel reception staff, and every single one of them, without exception, was ever-so welcoming and helpful, and it's probably worth to keep in mind we don't speak any French (but I think that goes for Paris generally - English gets you what you want and to wherever you wanna be without any problems whatsoever).

Bottom line - This was our first trip to Paris, so I don't know how it feels to live in other parts of the city, but I do know that next time we're there we'll have to be in a *really* adventurous mood if we're to look for another hotel. Fantastic value for money, and then some.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for New Orient Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

912 - 918 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2010

I've been to several european hotels. While small and cozy, this one provided all the space needed and was very quiet and clean. elevator is tiny -enough for a couple pieces of luggage and 1-2 mid sized people- but all workable!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My family of three stayed here for five nights in August 2010. The location is far enough away from the city center that you can breathe but close to three Metro stations that allow you to get almost anywhere in the city in minutes. We stayed in one of the family rooms. It was understandably small, but we weren't looking for a place to live, just a base of operations for sight seeing. There are enough cafes and bars in the area to allow for a late dinner and drinks when the sightseeing is done for the day. There is a small grocery store right across the street where you can grab baguettes for a quick breakfast and other supplies for the room.

The clencher for me: We left the hotel and my 17 year old son left his wallet, with cash, credit card, and all of his identification (minus passport), in the hotel room. We got home and found an email waiting for us from the hotel's owner letting us know that they had it and would put it in the mail at the earliest possible time. They packaged the wallet very securely and mailed it immediately. My son had his things back within the week. Fantastic service.

The staff is very helpful. On several occasions we returned back to the hotel very late, after everything else in the area was closed, and the helpful staff would go into the bar/kitchen area to get us water, orange juice, and other items. They made reservations for us for dinner, helped with baggage, recommended breakfast stops, called us a cab the day we departed, anything you would expect from a concierge at a large upscale hotel.

Overall fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PackLite2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and found this hotel to be excellent value for money with great service. Check in couldn't have been easier, we were literally just handed the key as I had prepaid with an excellent Tripadvisor rate. The room was small but this is Paris and we had a lovely antique bed, huge armoire and traditional French dressing table. If you want something traditional, this is it! The hotel is conveniently located between 2 metro stations and is opposite a supermarket. If I could have one wish I would have had a kettle in the room for a tea or coffee in the morning but this is a small quibble. Much better than a 2 star and we've stayed all over!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Well run, friendly hotel. Everything spick and span. I think every room has a balcony - ours did - so you can go out and see for miles down the Rue de Constantinople. Easy to get to from Gare Du Nord.

I recommend the area too. Handy for the metro, and plenty of places to eat. I particularly liked the fact it appears to be where all the musical instrument shops are - including one making / selling / repairing just double basses. Lots of quirky little shops too that would just get gobbled up in somewhere like London. I'm sure it's much better value than somewhere slightly closer in, and nice to get just slightly off the beaten track.

We saw a car rally go through on our Sunday morning which was just great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mustard58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I first stayed at the New Orient Hotel in January 2007, after selecting it on the basis that it was one of the very few 'true' non-smoking hotels in Paris at the time (some of the other so-called "non smoking hotels" had smoking levels, I found out, and probably still have today). Not a small achievement for a French place, as people who have visited this country can tell you. That was my first and only criteria to choose this hotel, and the quick & friendly email responses from the owner closed the deal. I was then happily surprised, upon checking-in, by the immaculate cleanliness, friendly service and great location (near subway entrance, convenience store across the street, walking distance of Opera & Montmartre). It was a romantic getaway and room 22 was perfect, but more impressive was the willingness shown by Ms Wehrle to ensure that flowers and chocolates were in place before our arrival, as instructed.

[I am ashamed to say that I did consider writing a glowing report on this website at the time, but got lazy and never got to do it. I am happy to put this to right today]

I didn’t even think of calling another hotel when planning a recent stay in Paris last month (June 2010). This time to meet a London-based friend. That is when I realised that the proximity of the Gare St Lazare makes it a great location for Eurostar users. Same helpful staff, clean room (quieter as in the back of the building) and excellent bathroom facilities (yes, I know, hard to believe that all three can be found together in France!).

Of course, being located in a character Parisian building, not one room is identical, the plumbing can be heard sometimes and the lift is in itself a funny experience that you will talk about for years to come. But that is part of the charm of this hotel that so many soulless glass & concrete establishments lack today. And without the good advice given by the New Orient Hotel staff, I would never have found the hidden gem that is the Printemps Galerie Lafayette top floor restaurant, nearby.

The awards received by the New Orient Hotel since my first stay three years ago, given by well-know travelling guides and noticed by me on the entrance wall, are testimony of the excellence shown by this well-run establishment.

Note: didn’t have breakfast there, so can’t comment on it

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cafe_cyber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We had to cancel 3 nights due to illness, staff were very understanding and didn't charge us. Value for money compared to most hotels in Paris, very convenient to Galleries Lafette, interesting music shops close by. Rooms are comfortable, small but all amenities. Would love to return in a flash next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Le Swann
0.1 mi away
Idol Hotel
Idol Hotel
#54 of 1,803 in Paris
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#229 of 1,803 in Paris
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Berne Opera
Hotel Berne Opera
#343 of 1,803 in Paris
570 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#202 of 1,803 in Paris
1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Monceau
Hotel Relais Monceau
#1,052 of 1,803 in Paris
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $141 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing