We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, convenient location.”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #272 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel, convenient location.”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

New Orient is a very nice hotel. It is conveniently located. The rooms are clean and nicely furnished. Staff is very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chastegnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    344
    41
    3
    8
See reviews for
172
629
118
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

lift was a little scary to negotiate with suitcase, due to the spiral staircase you had to step behind or down stair to open the lift door..lovely bakery on same street going to Villers station. Hotel staff were very helpful. rooms very clean Lovely tiny balcony so you could open the door for fresh air. Air con very quiet and lovely comfortable bed. Good location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The "New Orient Hotel" was "perfect" for our first trip to Paris. Being the first time to Europe for that matter I really did not know what to expect from this establishment, but after staying there for four nights and as evidenced from the positive feedback I provided it was just that PERFECT!!

The location of the hotel with close proximity to the Metro (Villiers Station), many surrounding restaurants, a grocery/convenience store across the street, bakeries galore and a well fitted out laundrette across the street and a couple of stores down made for a perfect stay.

Before I go any further I really should mention how friendly the staff were and how they were really there to help me and my partner in our stay at Paris. Unable to speak French there really wasn't a language barrier at all as we could communicate with them in English.

The room we stayed in was a Superior Twin Room as all the double rooms had been booked out. But because we were on a budget and bookings were made very last minute, Micheline was able to speak to the owners who were happy to offer me the Superior Twin Room at the same price of the Double Room for the four nights. They also arranged for the two beds to be joined together for us as well.

On arrival after our train ride from Amsterdam we were glad to make it to our accomodation. But on opening the door to our room we were presented with our own little bit of Paris. Honestly I was surprised by the size of the room, the fitout and cleanliness of it. I don't know how the star rating works in Paris but this was nothing like what I would expect from a two star hotel. The accomodation I would say personally was four stars, maybe it's things like room service which aren't provided which make it a two star, but when you're in Paris who needs room service.

I could go on forever about how good this place is but I won't as I'll leave you to find out for yourselves. I know one thing however and that is when I come to Paris next I'll definitely be staying at the New Orient Hotel and I'll be recommending my friends do as well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_bolinao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The New Orient hotel is situated in a neighborhood where traditionally music instrument makers reside. Next to the hotel are violin makers, trombone dealers and repair shops, etc. The neighborhood is almost ideally located behind the St. Lazare station, surprisingly close on one side to the old opera house and the grands boulevards with the famous department stores, and on the other to the Champs Elysées. The hotel has recently been renovated. The rooms are quiet with air conditioning and not as small as one expects in two star Paris hotels. The room rates are reasonable, and the atmosphere in the hotel was very agreeable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schulzkeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Loved New Orient Hotel and recommend it to anyone looking for a small boutique hotel in Paris. About a 3 min walk from the Villiers or Europe metro stations in the 8th Arr, 7 min walk from Gare St Lazare. Checked in at 11pm and front desk guy was super nice and helpful. We stayed in room 13 on the 3rd floor with a balcony and remodeled bathroom (see pics). Small room but very nice, clean and perfect for me and wife. I've stayed at Best Westerns in Paris (which are everywhere and one is just a block away from New Orient) and for the price, New Orient is a great choice. 115EUR/night in summer time.

Wifi was excellent quality, breakfast was nice but not free, service was great and friendly. Quiet neighborhood at night and most of the guests we saw were businessmen and a few older tourist couples.

I will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlaw423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Visited this hotel with my wife for a few days in June, 2010 after reading good reports on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Hotel staff were helpful in every way, which included recommending places to eat and booking them for us. Rooms were clean and comfortable with good showers. In all a truly nice hotel in a lovely area of Paris.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NightPorterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2010

A true "hotel de charme", with kind and thoughtful service, impeccable rooms, and very reasonable pricing, the Hotel New Orient is conveniently located and staffed by exceptionally pleasant, helpful people who make one feel immediately at home. Free wi-fi is a welcome bonus. I have stayed here on several occasions and never had anything but an exceptionally pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAvanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#169 of 1,801 in Paris
1,391 reviews
Idol Hotel
#58 of 1,801 in Paris
399 reviews
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#259 of 1,801 in Paris
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#187 of 1,801 in Paris
1,111 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#156 of 1,801 in Paris
1,032 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#211 of 1,801 in Paris
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing