We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were thrilled by this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #174 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We were thrilled by this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

We'd done our research on affordable hotels in Paris and chose the New Orient based on what we had read, and we were absolutely delighted. It lived up to our hopes and expectations.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the room (we went for the balcony option) was absolutely fine, and the continental breakfast was excellent (Mmm - those yummy dark brown rolls !!)

Madame suggested a local Restaurant "Le Coin" for an evening meal, and we would heartily recommend this place to others - it provides good honest french food and is very busy with local customers (always a good sign)

The location meant that we could walk to most of the sights of Paris, and the area felt safe and friendly. The little supermarket directly opposite is really handy for odds & ends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    341
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
170
621
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

Excellent location (quite close to Villiers metro station) in a quiet and lovely neighborhood. Restaurants and a grocery store (Monoprix) are available close by (Rue de Levis). We felt very safe walking around the area at night. Two-person room with bath was a decent size and had a lovely balcony view over the street. Overall, a perfect place to stay in Paris!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ciara3247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Excellent hotel; Nice and very helpful Staff, room and bathroom are very clean, good location, great price. We need clean and reasonably priced hotel and we got that plus more here. A true representation of a European hotel, small room but we hardly stayed in the room we left early morning and did not return till we were ready to go to bed. I would stay her again, if you are traveling on a budget you will not find a better place to stay.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank wasta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

As anyone looking for a hotel room for four people in Paris will know, these types of rooms are few and far between. We booked a family room and were totally satisfied. The room was not large but was totally adequate for our purposes. It was extremely clean, the beds were very comfortable, there was air conditioning which we were very grateful for as it was very hot during our stay in Paris, the location was very good (walking distance to several subway stops, a major shopping area and the St. Lazare train station. There were good eating options close by, a grocery store and laundry mat across the street, and a computer for guests in the lobby. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The cost was not unreasonable by Paris standards--160 euros per night. If you arrive by train, make sure you exit from the train station and not the subway station with the same name. The subway station is a fair bit further away!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

Having stayed in many mid range hotels in Paris, the New Orient probably takes top marks, all things considered. I stayed two nights on my own for 93 euro per night. I did not take breakfast. I was given a room on the sixth floor at the rear of the building. Take the lift! The main plus points? Firstly the comfort of the bed. I am a big bloke but slept like a baby. Excellent quality of linen. Also the room was so clean. If you had told me the bathroom was newly installed I would have believed you. the quality of the room clean was superb. The bathroom dazzled the same on my departure as it had doneon my arrival. I didnt hesitate to book again for my next visit.

Its really handy for Saint Lazare station, Parc Monceau is just a five minute walk and there are plenty of nice cafes and restaurants on hand. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPHWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I just returned from a stay here with my husband. We arrived in Paris having read the reviews for this hotel, but not booking it since we were flying standby. Upon arriving, we stopped at an internet cafe and saw that there was still availability and since it was our first trip together and we didn't know where else to look we went ahead and booked this room. The reviews were spot on for this hotel. We lucked into a 100 Euro per night special, so it seemed like a great deal for a very clean, quiet hotel. The rooms may be small, but we've definitely had smaller rooms in other European countries. We had an actual double bed, a desk, an armoire and two little nightstand ledges for books, glasses, etc. Our bathroom was nice and fresh with a shower and sink/vanity and toilet.

This hotel is close to the both the Europe and Villiers metro stops and we felt very safe arriving at any time of day or night. It seemed to be a little farther walk to places then is mentioned on the website, but it is so easy to take the metro, that we most often did that. If you don't mind staying in a quiet area, this is a great hotel. If you want a little more lively area to just step out into, this is probably not the best choice. But again, it's so easy to get places via the close metro stops (both of which took bills in the ticket machines!) that it really doesn't matter.

We didn't stay for breakfast, so I can't comment on that, but the breakfast room looked nice. The staff were all very nice and lovely. The free wifi was GREAT! The balcony was charming. They even have a computer in an old phone booth should you need it.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltripak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

Just returned from 8 days in Paris...wow! A friend had recommended the hotel, and I wasn't disappointed. The price was right, 120 euros for the bath/shower combo, very clean room, hardwood floors, small desk, free WI-FI, brand new bathroom, amazing shower head with great water pressure, fresh white linens and two balcony's.

The hotel is about a 5-6 minute walk from the metro station. And another 15-20 minute walk from the Arc. There are several little places to grab breakfast, lunch or dinner in the area. Most importantly, if you are staying for any length of time, there is a laundrymat across the street and about 4 doors down. Very very convenient. Wish I had known this before I left, I would have even brought fewer clothes with me.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. Someone is always at the front desk to greet you and answer any questions you may have.

The hotel is located on a very quiet street, and if you can get a room with a balcony, it's great. It really adds to the charm of the hotel and allows you to listen to the sounds of the city.

Sure, the rooms are on the small side, but that's Paris. I had definitely considered staying in a chain hotel, specifically Best Western, Marriott or Hilton. But for this price, and the friend's recommendation, I am glad I went with the New Orient. What's the point of going to Paris to stay in an "American Hotel".

I traveled by myself, and felt very safe walking from the metro to the hotel late in the evening. I would definitely stay at the New Orient Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#53 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Hotel Astoria - Astotel
#127 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#50 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#37 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#106 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Le Fabe Hotel
#98 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing