We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #207 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The stay was excellent. The location was convenient (about 5 - 7 mins walk to the St. Lazare station and about 3 mins to another Metro station on the Northwest end of the block). There is a grocery/mini-market across the street so it was convenient to get refreshments (bottled water and a bottle of wine :) ) We were very pleased we got a balcony facing the non-busy street to enjoy the bright mornings.

The staff members was friendly. I had a chance to talk to Catherine W. (see the other reviews) before my wife and I checked-out of the hotel and headed out of France. She was very friendly.

I would recommended to anyone that asks where to stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Choose a private balcony if you staying in the summer. There is a small table and chairs there so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwide20xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a lovely Hotel situated between Montmartre and Champs-Elysees just a short walk from Villiers Metro. Staff very friendly and helpful, we didn't have breakfast but had coffee and beer at the Hotel. Our room was situated overlooking the main road on he 5th floor with a balcony. Room has table and chairs, comfortable bed,shower and bathroom very good. A/C. The only fault for the room was the lack of plug sockets.

There is a good supermarket opposite the Hotel. We did eat in the Publisher which is a bar restaurant some 50 60 yards away. Nice Bar friendly staff recommend the Fish and Chips and 1664 Blanc beer with Lime. The Hotel is ok to visit some of the sights we walked to Sacre Couer which was only 30 minutes. We also walked from our Hotel through Parc De Monceau, too Arc de Triomphe, down the Champs Elysees onto Place de la Concorde and then Jardin Des Tuileries and Lourve ( A classic walk taking in some of the main sights). Even crossed over Ile de le cite and Notre Dame.
Don't worry if you do not like walking the Metro is excellent and the hotel is well served by Villiers metro and Europe Metro. There are also three Boulangeries nearby where you can try purchase food and coffee and eat in or take away

Room Tip: pick a room with a bacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Wonderful hotel! We arrived at the hotel around 10 am and they let us into the room early, which was great because we were tired from traveling all night. We had the family room, which was kind of small, but comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful; they gave us advise on where to eat and how to get around Paris. I couldn't recommend the hotel more!
I liked the location - a quiet safe neighborhood near several metro stops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here back in September of 2011. We chose it because of the price, location, and it looked like a very nice, quaint hotel.

We were very pleased when we arrived. The rooms were perfect for a young couple like us. We had a balcony that looked over the street with a small table and chairs. We got a bottle of wine and some food from one of the stores right across the street, and hung out there when we decided to take a break from all of the walking and touring we did around Paris. The beds were very comfortable. We were on a 4 week tour of Europe and this hotel had the best beds of all the places we stayed. The staff were very friendly, too. Always greeting us and talking about our day. They booked us a taxi to the airport for our departure as well so we didn't have to deal with the language barrier.

The location wasn't central, but it was not hard to get anywhere. It was a quieter area which is what we wanted. We aren't big fans of staying in very busy loud areas right next to all of the touristy areas. We like to escape those areas when we are done sightseeing.

However this area was not secluded by any means. There were parks and restaurants up the street, and lots of shops right down stairs which we frequented. There is also a great street market on Ru De Levis where we bought some fresh fruit and took with us on our sight seeing trips.

If you want a quiet, clean hotel with comfortable beds and do not mind walking a good amount or taking the subway to central locations, then this is the hotel for you. It was perfect for us.

Room Tip: Buy a cheap bottle of wine from the grocery store across the street and enjoy it on your porch over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSoto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel was excellent. Staff were very willing to help you and the rooms were nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. A few restaurants nearby, a supermarket and a boulangerie. Easy to walk to Montmartre and three metro links within a few hundred yards. I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Finding a hotel in Paris is a tricky business with so many to choose from. Looking for one a) not in a chain, b) in a good location and c) that won’t break the bank can take ages, but we eventually found The New Orient Hotel and were delighted that we did. We spent three nights there, and would recommend it highly to anyone needing a hotel in the city.

The hotel was easily accessible on the Metro from Gard du Nord with only one change – Villiers was the nearest station, although there are plenty in the area surrounding the hotel. The hotel is in a lovely area, which is a great base for walking to the main sights of the city. There are restaurants nearby, a small Auchan supermarket across the street, and the area is full of musical instrument shops which cater to the students at the Conservatory a few streets away. We were a little concerned at the proximity to Gare St Lazare, but even walking past that station at 1am, there were no issues at all.

We arrived at the hotel at 10am, and were warmly welcomed and offered a cup of coffee while we waited for our room to be ready – it took just 10 minutes and we were very pleased to find that our bags had been taken up for us. Although we hadn’t requested, and certainly didn’t expect, an early check in it was lovely to be given one. We had room 25 on the 5th floor, accessible via a small lift (only big enough for 2 people) and some stairs – it was at the back of the hotel, so very quiet. The furnishings were lovely, and the room was spotlessly clean, and although the bedroom and the shower room were small, they were perfect for us. We had breakfast each morning in the light and airy dining room, which offered a good choice of bakery items, yoghurts, cereal, fruit, meats and cheeses, with wonderful coffee and an excellent choice of teas.

If we go back to Paris, we would not consider staying anywhere else – an attractive hotel in a lovely part of the city, and with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel itself was very nice. The owners were very accommodating, the room was fine and breakfast was great.

The only thing we didn't enjoy was the location. It was in an area that doesn't offer much to the tourist. However, two metro stops were not far too away.

Previously, we've stayed in the 5th arrondissement and the Trocadero area, and we liked those locations better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#56 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#33 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#49 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#146 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#113 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing