We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great location”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #291 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in October and found it very comfortable, friendly, safe. As a single woman traveler, I'm always concerned about the location of my hotels; this one is very near the train station so I could very easily get the metro to go anywhere in the city. Quiet, un-touristy neighborhood with lots of nice small restaurants and cafes. A teeny room but no matter, who spends much time there? The front desk was terrific -- so friendly and helpful. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solange47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments on our hotel.

we will also be pleased to welcome you again for your next visit in Paris

Kind regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and theirTeam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for New Orient Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We reserved the room with a bath tub. The room was charming and very clean. We enjoyed dipping in the clean bath tub after a long walk in paris. The location was also good. There are nice bakeries and a glossary store near by. It is also close to metro stations. We certainly had a nice stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tora05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking time to send your impressions on our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wishing you all the best

with our best regarf

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here two years ago and were delighted to have the same wonderful experience again. The staff is exceptional - always genial and always available to help with directions, reservations, suggestions or whatever you may need. Many thanks to Amar for helping us find information on the catacombs. Our room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable. Even though some may consider the rooms small we felt like we had plenty of room for two people. We stayed in a double with balcony (perfect for sitting outside with a glass of wine). We did not have any trouble with noise as this is a more residential area. Great location, close to many wonderful shops and restaurants and two metro stops. We will definitely be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dax15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty to the New Orient Hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed this second stay with us.

All the best to you both

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in late October, booking on the basis of the positive reviews, and we're not disappointed. The staff were exceedingly friendly and were always friendly, offering advice when asked and willing to chat - in English - and talk about the local area.

The rooms were really immaculate, and finished to a high standard and maintained that way. I have spent many nights in a hotel with shoddy tiling and worn out carpets for a similar price and the New Orient surpassed most I have stayed in. I wanted a balcony room but did not book early enough, my mistake and I will not make it again.

We did not have breakfast but went out to the a couple of the local patisseries for croissant and coffee and we're not disappointed. It is not a touristy area but all the better for it as the restaurant are for the locals, but the metro will get you anywhere you want quickly and efficiently.

The wifi was reliable and free and is something I so rarely see I was not worried if it was not always fast. It was there and enabled me to check out activities for the next day and read emails if I wanted to.

We will be back, with the children, just need to save up for those Parisienne prices!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Garnett40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your kind comments on the New Orient.

It is nice to read that you were happy with our comfort and service.

Of course we will be happy to welcome you again with your children,

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this small hotel (14 rooms) in mid-October and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room, while small, was well appointed and well laid out. The beds and the pillows were very comfortable and we had asked for a room away from the street so it was quiet (the view from the room window was nothing to write home about).
The hotel is near the metro and a couple of train stations, so access was easy. But what made our stay most enjoyable was Mme. Catherine, the owner. She spoke good English and was a wealth of information about Paris and the area we were in. She assured that all our needs were met. I think that when the owner is present at all times all the details are seen to and there was attention paid to small details. She was also helpful in making restaurant reservations.
We had breakfast in the hotel which was simple and consisted of cereal, fruit, yogurt, croissants and rolls. We also had a choice of coffees including Cappuccino and Espresso. It was plenty to get us going for a day of walking.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the New Orient and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. Most of the rooms are smaller than US hotels/motels.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiraz0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind feedback on our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our main purpose is to satisfy our guests as much as we can to make their stay in Paris enjoyable.
Hoping to welcome you again if you plan another visit to Paris,

with our best regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 4 nights from October 12th through the 15th. This is a real gem of a hotel located in the 8th Arondissemont, a short walk from the Villiers metro station. The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. The room was small by U.S. standards, although quite comfortable by European standards. The location is on a (relatively) quiet street in a mostly residential neighborhood. The hotel was very clean. The only quibble that I had is that the hotel needs to replace the towels with a few more towels that are a bit more plush. Otherwise, a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning the towels, we had a problem with our supplier which we already warned before your review. Fortunately they renewed their stock in the meantime and we are now satisfied.

With our best regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We just spent 4 nights at the New Orient Hotel and, like most people who have reviewed the hotel, were very pleased with the whole experience. The room was spotless, the beds very comfortable, the desk staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful, and it is in a very convenient location - there are three metro stations within walking distance (Europe, Villiers and Gare St. Lazare). We had the buffet breakfast on our last day, and it was delicious. But there are also some small cafes and patisseries in the neighborhood, as well as a grocery store across the street if you want to go out.

We noticed that there is a Best Western Hotel right next door that charges twice as much (literally)! Save your money and stay at this little gem.

The rue Levi market is a short walk away, and is definitely worth a visit.

I whole heartedly recommend this wonderful little hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was a twin on the first floor, and had a small terrace (but you couldn't go out on it...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLinda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind and detailed comments which will certainly be a great help for our future guests.

Wishing you all the best

with iour best regards

Catherine Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Le Swann
0.1 mi away
Idol Hotel
Idol Hotel
#52 of 1,804 in Paris
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#236 of 1,804 in Paris
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Berne Opera
Hotel Berne Opera
#329 of 1,804 in Paris
570 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#202 of 1,804 in Paris
1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais Monceau
Hotel Relais Monceau
#1,056 of 1,804 in Paris
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $140 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing