We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #209 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cosy Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I spend 4 nights at the hotel. Due to the many reviews on trip advisor, I knew what to expect in terms of room size etc. I was not disappointed when i arrived. Despite the small room, we managed to fit in both our big luggage. When we checked in, Josef was friendly and offered to help with my luggage up the steps. The room was nicely decorated and I was surprised by how clean the place was, which made our stay more comfortable. Each day, the room was well cleaned and the toilets were spotless!
In terms of location, New Orient is pretty self sufficient in that there are good restaurants/ convenience store, laundry and even some shopping within walking distance. However, when you take into account the places of interest in Paris, and places to visit as a tourist, I feel that New Orient's location falls short as it was not located along the most convenient train line.
All in all, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and are pleased to note that yu enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning the transportation possibilities from our hotel we would just like to precise that we have 1 different metro line at each end of our street :

From VILLIERS line 2 direct to Arc de Triomphe and Champs-Elysées and Montmartre Sacré Coeur and the famous Cemetery Père Lachaise.

From EUROPE Line 3 direct to Havre Caumartin (the big department stores, Opera, Sentier (Halles Musee Beaubourg), Arts et Métiers (Marais)
From the Saint Lazare Metro station (!8 min walk from the hotel) Line 14 direct line to station Pyramides (Louvre) Châtelet (Beaubourg Museum and left bank)

We also have 3 good bus lines : 53 direct to Department stores and Opera - 30 direct to Arc deTriomphe and Trocadéro (Famous museums and Eiffel Tower) 80 to Montmartre and to Rond-Point des Champs-Elysées (Musée du Grand Palais)

So many transportation possibilities are difficult to find in Paris and we regret that you did not ask us more advice, we would have been pleased to help you.

Thanking you again for your visit,

with our best regards

Catherine Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    341
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
170
625
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in September. Had the twin room with bath and balcony. Spotless and with some nice touches. The air con (it reached 32*C) was effective and silent. If you want to explore Paris and want a lovely hotel to sleep in off the beaten track but close enough to stroll to the sites then you could be in for a treat. Would we stay here again. Yes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thak you very much for your kind recommendation.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future,

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the New Orient Hotel for a few days in August. The hotel was charming. Not in a touristy area (a good thing) but plenty of nice places to eat close by - although when we visited (18 August) many were closed for their annual holidays so choice was slightly reduced - not that this spoilt our time there at all, just something to be aware of. As two women alone we felt very safe walking around the area even at night. Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable, clean and light. The metro was a few minutes walk away and it was easy to get to all the tourist sights. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We are planning to stay here again when we return to Paris next year. Those with mobility problems might find the small winding stairs difficult. There is small lift but you need to walk up a short flight of stairs to get to it, however, staff are willing to help with cases.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our area which is really quite attractive to discover Paris in a real Parisian way.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your next trip in Paris.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in the "opera district" of Paris. There are many musicians and instrument makers in the area along with the Palais Garnier opera house. Our room was small but very comfortable and had great views of the street outside. The market across the street was a great place to pick up some drinks and snacks. There are also plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby to get a bite to eat.
We stayed at New Orient for a week and the service was outstanding regardless of who we talked to at the front desk. We got some great local restaurant recommendations and they even helped me arrange for a delivery of flowers to the room to celebrate our anniversary.
The only negative (and it's a small one) is that we wished it was a little closer to main tourist sites around the Louvre. The nearby Metro stations were easy to use, but we would have preferred walking to most of the distinations and it was a bit too far to do that every day.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. Enjoy the things the local area has to offer, but be prepared to use the Metro.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to share your impressions on our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again for your next Parisian trip.

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quairading, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Thanks to other trip advisor reviewers we booked this hotel for two nights. The welcome we got was so warm. Nothing too much trouble. The room was spacious and had air con. Very clean and beautifully presented. All staff were very friendly and understanding in regard to our terrible French. Handy to the metro and lovely restaurants and cafes without being too touristy. A bit of a walk to main attractions but that didn't bother us in the least. Really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review on our hotel and are pleased that you had a nice stay with us.

Wishing you all the best

with our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Quaint! Nice period furniture, very helpful staff! would book again.There was a metro stop a short walk from the hotel, many sidewalk cafes,a market across the street from the hotel.Did not hear any noise from the street at night. We stayed here three night which was not long enough to see all that we wanted to see so will have to come back for sure! Next time would request a balcony off of our room.We did visit the eiffel tower,Louve, and Notre Dame we were there the first week of September and it was still hot and humid as far as the weather! We had just finished up with a twelve day cruise and wish we had visited Paris before the cruise as all the excursions six of them pretty much wore us out we are in our sixties and feeling the age!

Room Tip: we were in room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay for your first trip to Paris.

We look forward to welcome you again to help you to discover the places you did not have time to visit.

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here nearly a week while sightseeing around Paris. We didn't see everything we could have. But we had a great base. We could walk to some sights. There were two metro stops in easy walking distance. There was an open air market and there were plenty of small restaurants from which to choose. The room was small but definitely adequate. We traveled in June of 2012 so I already forgot some things about it. We enjoyed our stay, it was very good value for the money. Would consider staying there again, but would also look into other options just for variety. Staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony. It was so small that it probably wasn't worth it. But I don't know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJG620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind comments on the New Orient. It is nice to read that you had a nice time with us.

All the best to you

with our best regards

Catherine Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#49 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#36 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#53 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#127 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#114 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#160 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Agoda, Despegar.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing