We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel in a great area of Paris!”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #318 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Paris for the first time, and we stayed at the New Orient Hotel. The staff was really kind and helpful! In fact, on our last day in Paris I lost my metro pass that I needed to get to the train station, and the man behind the front desk gave me his metro ticket. What a nice man!

Our room was waiting for us when we got there. Everything was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms are a little small, but that's what you get when you travel to European cities. The room was big enough for what we needed it for anyway. We had our own shower, too. Great water pressure, which is always a plus for me! We also had a balcony, which overlooked the street. It was a great place for us to sit and enjoy the local city views.

The location of the hotel is great, because it's close to two different metro stops and there is some great shopping and eating in the area. It's in an area where your every day Parisians shop and eat, so you feel like a local. There are numerous shops you'll pass by over on Rue de Levis (walking distance to the hotel) such as charcuteries, fromageries, perfume shops and clothing shops. There are also handfuls of pastry shops (patisserie shops) full of fresh breads, croissants and much more!

All in all, our experience at the New Orient was lovely, and we'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kowalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your kind review on the New Orient. We are happy that you also enjoyed our area which really deserves to be discovered.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future,

with our best regards

Catherine Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I and two friends stayed at the New Orient Hotel for four nights in early April. I was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience.
The words bijou and boutique come to mind when thinking of the hotel and by using those adjectives I mean that it is a small hotel of around 30 rooms providing a comfortable and intimate setting.
New Orient is a two star hotel awaiting its third star. It does not have all the areas or facilities you would expect in four or five star hotels such as a bar and a restaurant although it does have a nicely furnished breakfast room serving excellent continental and buffet breakfasts. What the hotel does provide it does so to a very high standard. The bedrooms and all areas are spotlessly clean and furnished in a warm, homely way. A good deal of care has been taken over all aspects of the decor.
Our twin room had a modern en suite bathroom with a bath incorporating a shower - again spotless; so much so that it looked as though it had just been installed. All the rooms are double glazed and air conditioned. French doors opened on to a small balcony.
For us one of the outstanding aspects of our stay was the willingness of the owners, Catherine and Josef Wehrle, to go out of their way when asked to provide advice and guidance about any aspect of Paris you could think of, as well as assistance suggesting and booking restaurants.
There are other hotels nearby with three or more stars that offer less but charge twice as much!
We have already recommended the New Orient to family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreddieHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

We really thank you very much for the time you invested in writing these nice comments.

This is the best reward we can get after 25 years of passion and efforts to help the New Orient
to become a little home for most of our guests.

All the best to you and your kind friends

Catherine and Josef Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My teenage daughter and I stayed for 4 nights in this lovely hotel. All the staff were incredibly helpful and the room and hotel were extremely clean and comfortable. We chose a twin bedded room on the front of the hotel, which had a balcony and an ensuite with a bath and shower. The room was very quiet - hard to believe you were in a large city. The staff were happy to provide us with hot drinks and plenty of advice and recommendations from restaurants, to metro and walking routes. The local patisseries were amazing! The location is perfect, we walked to the Champs Elysee, Arc de Triomphe and Sacre Coeur. Interestingly we found that in Paris, entry to many venues, including Versaille, is free for EU citizens up to the age of 26 - however passport proof is required. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Mademoiselle,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Paris.
We will of course continue to do our best to help all our guests in discovering our beautiful city.

Kind regards to both of you

Catherine and Josef Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great hotel in a residential area of Paris, with lots of small shops, and a real Paris atmosphere.

The rooms are small but well presented and very clean.

The metro is a couple of minutes away, so no problems getting in to the centre of Paris, or to the rail stations or airports. You can walk to the Gare St Lazare in about 10 minutes. Monmartre is also walkable in about 20 to 30 minutes.

The hotel serves breakfast in it's own small breakfast room or can be served in your room (both excellent).

North of the Villiers metro stop is a good shopping and eating area, with restaurants and food shops.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Small boulangerie just north of the hotel serves excellent pastries and coffee for a couple of euros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banham332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments on the New Orient.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future,

with our best rgards

Catherine Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the New Orient for 2 days in early April. The hotel is a lovely small family run hotel that has good and friendly service . The hotel is nice and clean and has been modernised. The rooms are a bit on the small side, but this is Paris!!. There is a lift which is very helpful The hotel is conveniently located to a couple of metro stations, it has a supermarket across the street and a few nice cafes and boulangeries close by. At the end of the street is Rue de Levis which has a lovely food market.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NSW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking time to write your impressions on our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With our best regards

Catherine Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I recently visited Paris for a spring break trip with a friend. The New Orient Hotel proved to be an happy choice. The staff was very helpful, the room was lovely, it had a elevator which helped with aging knees issues and the location was very convenient to the Metro system. We arrived at Charles De Gaulle airport and took a taxi in to the hotel. The staff was very welcoming and the room on the top floor was more than comfortable. The room was spotless and the bed was actually comfortable (I still sleep in a waterbed and moving to a conventional bed temporarily can be traumatic). The neighborhood was fairly quiet. My friend accidentally left 50 euro's in the back of a drawer and the hotel contacted us immediately. The credited the 50 euros against our account. Honesty like that can be unusual. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back did not have much of a view but were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runningbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your kind review and we are really pleased that you appreciated your stay with us and also our beds (new high quality beds which seems to please most of our guests).
Thank you to honour our staff honesty but it really is the basis of our activity together with hygiene, comfort and service.

Wishing you all the best

with our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this lovely small hotel. Though we arrived at about 11.30am we were able to check in immediately, having emailed in advance that we would arrive early. The room is small but not in the claustrophobic sense, the staff is so so nice and helpful and gave us great restaurant recommendations. We had the delicious buffet breakfast - top quality food and incredible value. All in all, New Orient is a great find.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandMod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our hotel. Concerning the early check-out, we always do our best but it really depends on the daily situation and it is not always possible ;
Anyway we are happy we could organize it for you ant that you had a pleasant stay.

All the best to you

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel des 3 Poussins
Hotel des 3 Poussins
#296 of 1,803 in Paris
730 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#241 of 1,803 in Paris
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
Hotel Magda Champs Elysees
#221 of 1,803 in Paris
1,718 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#37 of 1,803 in Paris
1,582 reviews
Idol Hotel
#74 of 1,803 in Paris
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#289 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $119 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing