We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I think its a nice hotel...”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #200 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I think its a nice hotel...”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I haven't stayed in this hotel, but was staying in the hotel next door. I did try to get a reservation into New Orient for my trip but they were full. Since I was staying in the hotel next door I just thought of getting a feel of the highly rated New Orient, so I just waked in one evening to have a look. I must say that I was rather impressed by the small but very neat lobby and the entrance etc... The lady at the reception was very very courteous and very hospitable.  I think the hotel is run by this lady and her husband. Having travelled a lot and come across all sorts of hotels and management, I do believe this hotel would be a very nice place to stay. Since I was staying in the hotel right next door, my hotel and this one actually are two halves of the very same building with pretty much an identical layout. Hence I am certain that the rooms are of a decent size, small - but decent keeping in mind that most hotels in such historic cities are in very old buildings and have small but nice rooms. For location, and why I would choose this hotel over the one I stayed in - I have written a longer review about the hotel I stayed in (next door), so if you want to can have a look.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aby-Bubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

First of all, you know things have chanced when a 2 star hotel in Paris is now $140/night. When I first came through this town, with a backpack in college, I think 2-star hotels were about $20! But these days $140 counts as a bargain here, and as the other users here have pointed out, the New Orient is delightful choice. You do haul your luggage up a couple flights of stairs to your tiny room, but the place is very clean and charming, and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast downstairs, and a whole bookshelf full of books previous guests have provided, in a ever-evolving shared library. The location is slightly out of the way (and surrounded by luthier shops, interestingly - you'll see luthiers sitting in their shops, working on violins, and you'll see various Parisians walking the sidewalks with their violins, taking them in for repairs and adjustments) but it's only a 5-10 minute walk from the Gare Saint-Lazare station, where you can get both Metro and RER trains which will which you pretty much anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BretWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great hotel in a good location away from the heavy tourist traffic, yet so close with two metro stoped within a few minutes walk. Hotel was clean and rooms a good size for Paris, beds some of the best ive ever slept in. Staff were always helpful and recommended some great local restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjloveseurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good location, quiet place, charming and clean hotel, friendly staff. But the single room (or at least number 21) is very small. A tiny table that can hardly contain a laptop. In the bathroom the toilet stands right in front of the shower. Better book a double room even if you travel alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chose this place because of the great reviews. To be honest, we'd usually stay somewhere with a higher star rating but the quality of this little boutique hotel was just fantastic, and for what is a really cheap price in Paris. The rooms are small (which is pretty standard for old European capitals) but were very comfortable indeed with good bathroom facilities and super beds. The building is old but it is beautifully kept and the spiral staircase is a wonderful feature. The breakfast was tasty and filling; a little pricey but then again not really if you try to eat the same outside in cafes. The wifi was both strong and free which is hard to find even in much more expensive establishments. The service was also flawless and everyone is very helpful and friendly. Added to that, the location was perfect; on the southern edge of the old Montmartre district and within short walking distance of two different metro stops that get you onto major lines which will take you anywhere you want to go. So all in all, we couldn't recommend it highly enough; top marks for everything and next time we're in town we wont even bother looking for anywhere else.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a little balcony and/or a lovely view across the Parisian rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here from 4th to 15th... We searched a lot i could say to find a good value and we chose New Orient hotel that his price was more close to us!! Well it was a really good experience; the room wasn't very large but nice and romantic!! The staff is a really big plus of this hotel as they helped us in whatever we needed!! Totally recommended!! A really value for money!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best value I found on Trip Advisor, so gave it a try. I can't compare to other Paris hotels, but based on comments from others, I think this was a good deal.
Note - The stairs are narrow and the elevator stops between floors (middle of the stairs). This may be a factor for those not wanting stairs.

The rooms are "cozy", code for small. The bed is 6 foot long, so those of us 6+foot tall will have their feet hanging off. The shower is a snug fit - make sure to point the showerhead into the corner to limit spray onto the bathroom floor.
We had a very small balcony - great in January for storing drinks, etc. to keep them cold. Not much of a view.

The desk staff was very helpful. They printed some tour tickets for me. They also went out of their way to make sure we got to the airport on time - let them know 24hrs in advance before you depart so they can help.

A few blocks from the Metro, which then gets you anywhere. Also lots of restaurants and bakeries around the Metro Stop. There is a little market just across the street from the Hotel.

We did not do the breakfast, instead went and got fresh items from the local bakeries and fruit from the market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#54 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#34 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#51 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#142 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#111 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#153 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing