We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #104 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great hotel in a good location away from the heavy tourist traffic, yet so close with two metro stoped within a few minutes walk. Hotel was clean and rooms a good size for Paris, beds some of the best ive ever slept in. Staff were always helpful and recommended some great local restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjloveseurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    338
    39
    3
    8
See reviews for
166
616
112
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good location, quiet place, charming and clean hotel, friendly staff. But the single room (or at least number 21) is very small. A tiny table that can hardly contain a laptop. In the bathroom the toilet stands right in front of the shower. Better book a double room even if you travel alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
307 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Chose this place because of the great reviews. To be honest, we'd usually stay somewhere with a higher star rating but the quality of this little boutique hotel was just fantastic, and for what is a really cheap price in Paris. The rooms are small (which is pretty standard for old European capitals) but were very comfortable indeed with good bathroom facilities and super beds. The building is old but it is beautifully kept and the spiral staircase is a wonderful feature. The breakfast was tasty and filling; a little pricey but then again not really if you try to eat the same outside in cafes. The wifi was both strong and free which is hard to find even in much more expensive establishments. The service was also flawless and everyone is very helpful and friendly. Added to that, the location was perfect; on the southern edge of the old Montmartre district and within short walking distance of two different metro stops that get you onto major lines which will take you anywhere you want to go. So all in all, we couldn't recommend it highly enough; top marks for everything and next time we're in town we wont even bother looking for anywhere else.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a little balcony and/or a lovely view across the Parisian rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here from 4th to 15th... We searched a lot i could say to find a good value and we chose New Orient hotel that his price was more close to us!! Well it was a really good experience; the room wasn't very large but nice and romantic!! The staff is a really big plus of this hotel as they helped us in whatever we needed!! Totally recommended!! A really value for money!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the best value I found on Trip Advisor, so gave it a try. I can't compare to other Paris hotels, but based on comments from others, I think this was a good deal.
Note - The stairs are narrow and the elevator stops between floors (middle of the stairs). This may be a factor for those not wanting stairs.

The rooms are "cozy", code for small. The bed is 6 foot long, so those of us 6+foot tall will have their feet hanging off. The shower is a snug fit - make sure to point the showerhead into the corner to limit spray onto the bathroom floor.
We had a very small balcony - great in January for storing drinks, etc. to keep them cold. Not much of a view.

The desk staff was very helpful. They printed some tour tickets for me. They also went out of their way to make sure we got to the airport on time - let them know 24hrs in advance before you depart so they can help.

A few blocks from the Metro, which then gets you anywhere. Also lots of restaurants and bakeries around the Metro Stop. There is a little market just across the street from the Hotel.

We did not do the breakfast, instead went and got fresh items from the local bakeries and fruit from the market.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juarez - Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This hotel is really good, placed in an area well connected to the subway stations. The reception staff is friendly and always smiling, gave us restaurant recommendations and tips on the city. The room was not very spacious but very nice and clean with free wi-fi. The breakfast is good. We found a very friendly hotel in this romantic city. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adolfo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Deeply impressed by the private-owned cute hotel. The decor brand-new, comfy bed, generous breakfast, and above all, really great service that is rarely mentioned in Paris. From hotel owners to staffs, they showed great attention to your needs.

Besides, the hotel sent small gifts like Chocolates to us when we mentioned we are on honeymoon to Paris.

We will choose this hotel again if we visit Paris next time.

Room Tip: We don't choose balcony room as it is cold in winter. But it seems it is a good option during mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Residence Foch
#49 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,902 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#114 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Fabe Hotel
#76 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#95 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Hotel Henriette
#86 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#108 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#289 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing