We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tres Charmant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #104 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tres Charmant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Yes it's a lovely hotel, welcoming, clean and charming in all respects. We were looking forward to sitting on the balcony of our room but unfortunately we were on the fourth floor and we both felt a little peculiar sitting up there so we sat at the window and took in the Parisienne air and architecture. Breakfast was unremarkable and cost 8 euros each but there is a small supermarket opposite where you can get all your food and drink needs. The location is central however we found it hard to find a decent restaurant nearby and would frankly prefer to have been closer to the centre of Paris. A lovely stay but not one we will be repeating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordandLadyFuttock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    337
    38
    3
    7
See reviews for
166
614
111
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm not sure what can be said here that is different to past reviews, but my title says it all. From the moment we arrived until the second we departed I loved everything about this hotel. We were met with absolute kindness and efficiency. The little bit of French that I spoke was greatly appreciated, but don't worry if you know little of the language you will be made most welcome.
The hotel is very conveniently situated to metro stations, and the location is very quiet. The rooms are charming, and everywhere is spotlessly clean. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. If you want to stay in Paris, which was a city I completely fell in love with, you could do no better than to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolynu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great central location on our 4 night stay. 2 metro stops very close which was fantastic. Loved the neighborhood and Parc Monceau is beautiful down the street. Our room was clean and bathroom modern. Staff at front desk always helpful. We had continental breakfast one morning which was OK for the price. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First of all, my choice based on three things - price, location and tripAdvisor rank.
Overall, I'm satisfied with my stay, but.

Room was very small. I know that this is the problem of old buildings, but for me price for the hotel is a little bit over. Even in very exprensiive Paris area.
My friends lived at the same level 2* hotel near Montmartr, they had 30eur less but it was incl. breakfast.

Room was clean, there were safe, tv, hairdryer and free wifi.

As breakfasts were not included in the price, I decided to have them in the city so I believe it was good decision.

Reception was very friendly and helpful.

Overall, this hotel is good first of all because of this price but if you want you can find another maybe even cheaper and not so far from quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your visit and kind comments on our hotel.

We would just like to come back to the point of price and quality.

The fact to have 2 stars only is our own choice. We could have demanded 3 stars and would have received them. Our area is very residential , safe and very well located and we really have very low rates compared to other hotels in Paris which for often less service and quality are at least 30% more.
We have rooms with a good comfort, charm, high quality beds (changed in April 2012 for a very high level mark which you only find in 4/5 stars hotels) . Of course if you look for a price, you will find cheaper hotels in Paris but it is important to compare everything.
Concerning the breakfast, we really propose 2 very good quality breakfasts which is a very high cost for us for a very little profit. We know what are the breakfast included in the room rate and it's really hard to compare with ours. If you go in any café in Paris, you need 6/7 Euros for a coffee and a croissant and we offer a continental breakfast with coffee, croissants, juice, hot drinks as much as you want. For guests who need to eat more, we propose a buffet to 12 euros which offers choice and very good quality (many organic items). These breakfasts are served in a nice room with a good service.
Anyway we are pleased that in spite of all you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all the best.
With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle


Anyway we are pleased
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel lived up to all the good reviews. The welcome was warm and efficient, the rooms were lovely and the location was ideal, very close to two metro stations in a nice neighbourhood. An excellent choice for any visitor to Paris, and not expensive either. Perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but those facing the street have small balconies on higher floors or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConstantTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Daughter and I stayed mid October. Couldn't have been happier with stay! We knew we were in the right place when these 2 jet lagged and tired travelers received such such a warm welcome upon arrival. No silly tourist question was to much for them, no matter how busy they always took the time to answer. The hotel is exactly as pictured on the website. We stayed in 1 room with 1 doubled sized bed. Room size just fine, very comfy beds. The shower room had a hair blow dryer mounted on the wall a bit weak with air but it did serve the purpose. No small wash cloth so if use one, bring it with you.

Metro Europe & Villiers stations within 10 mins walk ( which takes u just any where you would want to go) there are others stations but they are a farther walk. I thought walking to any major tourist attraction was a bit too far from the hotel but taking the metro was close and easy.

Decent bakery just a couple of doors away but found even better ones in Montmartre area which was just about 15 min walk .

Opera garnier was also 15 -20 mins walk with lots of shopping.

Thank you to Catherine, Josef and all the wonderful staff at New Orient for making our first visit to paris such a wonderful visit, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have just returned from 2 nights in this hotel with my teenage daughter. It was a great place to stay in a very safe feeling neighbourhood. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. Really useful to have free Wi-fi and the breakfast was delicious. We had this in our room as we're not at our best first thing in the morning and it was just right: rolls, croissants and pastries with butter and jams, a hot drink, juice and yoghurt. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and the area felt authentically French not touristy yet only a few metro stops to the centre.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaOxonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Residence Foch
#48 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,900 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#114 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Fabe Hotel
#77 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,072 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#96 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Hotel Henriette
#88 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#110 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#289 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing