We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel”
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Orient Hotel
Ranked #252 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We are very happy we chose this hotel. Though it is a bit out of the way, it's close to several Metro stops. It was very clean and had the most comfortable beds of our whole trip. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Even though our window faced the busy street, it was perfectly quiet when the window was closed. The room was small, but charming. Breakfast was fine. We decided to extend our stay in Paris and were disappointed when we found out they were fully booked. But we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    342
    40
    3
    8
See reviews for
171
627
117
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We found this hotel through previous recommendations on TripAdvisor....and they were spot on. The staff are extremely helpful and courteous. Ask for any type of recommendation & you'll get lots of ideas/suggestions. The rooms are on the small side (typical of Paris) but nicely decorated and well maintained. The location is nice; off the main street but still only a couple of blocks from the metro and cafes & shops. There's a grocery store across the street and a patisserie a few doors down....very convenient. You really can't go wrong with this hotel for your trip to Paris!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PKMaceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2011

the location ok, but a little remote for me. the room was small, which was ok, but the walls were paper thin. i could hear the people in the rooms beside and above me in the bathroom - every sound. when they were talking in the room beside me, it was if they were sitting in my room, and they were not loud - just conversational. the elevator is tiny and you have to climb a flight of narrow rickety stairs to get to it. it is overpriced for what it is. i would not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabellaparis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Propriétaire at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Madame,

We are sorry about the bad impression you have about the New Orient
and that you did not inform us directly during your stay. The New Orient was built in 1856 and we did our best to restore it the best we can according to basis we cannot change at all. We are quite surprised to read that the cleanliness , the bed and the service were average and would have liked to know a little bit more about it ,as we even don't know in which room you were accomodated.
We never had such a bad comment on these points and it would be very helpful for us if you could send us a short E-mail toprecise us which room was concerned.
Concerning the rate, be sure that we really have very reasonable rates according to this very residential area (the 8th district is one of the most expensive in Paris and all hotels in the neightbourhood are much more expensive with exactly the same type of walls and also mid stair elevator for some of them and an average service) Our comfort and equipment is the same than in 3 stars hotels but with much lower rates. We inform our guests on our homepage
cncerning the inconvenient of our elevator , so nothing is hidden. Nevertheless we still
are happy to have an elevator.Concerning the stair, we would never change such a nice old stair and believe us it's still quite wide comparing to many old hotels in Paris (in the Marais, Saint Germain des Prés) London, or Amsterdam.
This is also part of the charm of historical buidings,which we are proud about.
Anyway we hope that in spite of the bad experience you had at the New Orient, you enjoyed your stay in Paris.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here in early November after staying at a 2 star Disney Paris hotel. The experience was so much better and even better than some higher start hotels we have stayed at in the past.

It is a very small hotel, but the charm and genuine staff make up for any lacking amenities. We never tried eating breakfast there because we wanted to eat on the streets of Paris as much as possible. Just down the street, there is a wonderful bakery. Directly across the street from the hotel, there is a small market, where we bought snacks and water.

We were in room 2, which had a shower and bath. Yes, it is small but we only needed it for our young son. We found the room to be a little small but just fine for the 3 of us. We had 3 medium size suit cases and were fine with the space.

We found the beds to be very comfortable.

As already mentioned by others, 2 metro stations (Metro and Villiers) are very close by, about a couple blocks away. We found a street near the Villiers station to be full of life in the morning with all the bakeries, produce markets and butcher shops open. We came back at night to find that the restaurants are not on that same street but also nearby.

We took the TGV train from the airport to Disneyland Paris upon arrival. It was easy to manage our luggage and toddler. We even managed to get from Disneyland Paris to New Orient by train and metro. However, we were didn't think it would be so easy to go back to the airport from Paris via metro, especially since we would be going during rush hour. Catherine helped us order a taxi, and we got there without any troubles. It cost about 55 euros plus tip. We think that it wouldn't have been that much less if we took the metro for the 3 of us.
We would definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to come back to Paris.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath so if it's important to you, be sure to ask for one when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkhhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here with friends for 3 nights at the beginning of November. We found this hotel very charming, staff very helpful. The hotel was very clean and close to 2 Metro stations (since found out this should say 3 ) which made getting about Paris very easy.

Our friends stayed in a double room with shower whilst we paid the upgrade price for a room with bath. The bath turned out to be very small, you could only sit in the bath and not lay down. Of caurse this could only be an issue with our room which was room 8 so maybe worth checking with hotel when booking. Although the rooms are on the small side they are very clean and well appointed. Ours had a small balcony which would be very nice to sit on with a glass of wine.

We would happerly stay at this hotel again if we return to Paris

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in room 3 on the first floor and found that in the early morning they could here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWildCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I spent 9 Days in Paris at the beginning of November and we were absolutely delighted that we chose to stay at the New Orient. The location is perfect - quiet but very accessible to all those parts of Paris that first time visitors want to see and the hospitality is simply first class. Catherine, Joseph and their staff were so friendly and helpful that we almost felt like we were at home.

We asked for a quiet room and were accommodated in a charming rear room on the 5th floor that was easily accessible by lift. Staff took care of our bags to and from the room and each morning our room was serviced during the time we were at breakfast. It was very quiet, cosy and provided all the amenties we needed. A limited buffet breakfast cost an extra 12 Euro per person and it was a great way to start the day.

We were provided with maps to guide us around Paris and given directions to train and bus stations, restaurants and places of interest. Would particularly recommend a restaurant called Bistro du 17eme located about a 15 minute walk away. For a set price of 42 Euro per person you get a glass of bubbles to start, tantalising choices of 3 courses and a bottle of wine per 2 diners. Be sure to have Catherine or Joseph book for you.

We can only reiterate all of the great comments that have been recorded previously on Tripadvisor and thoroughly recommend New Orient to the budget conscious visitor who likes special treatment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here as part of our London and Paris vacation back in August. This place was amazing. Let's be honest, Paris in August is amazing with all of the locals being on holiday, it was deserted.

What stands out about this place. First and foremost, the staff was incredible and friendly. The were always attentive to our needs and willing to help us out. Further, we had an unfortunate incident of wine spilling on the sheets (to which we were both horrified) and the staff didn't make a fuss about it and had them cleaned; and we weren't charged.

Location: It is located in the 8th district which is nice as its not touristy and well priced. It is convientiently located close to the subway station, about a brisk 20 minute walk to the Arc and about a 45 minute walk to the Louvre. There is a little market street about 2-3 blocks down the street where you can grab any fresh pastries or other sundries. There is a grocery store directly across the street, which is very helpful if you are eating on the run. If you are into walking a lot (which we are) this is a great place and location to stay.

Rooms: While not big rooms, I didn't mind the size. They are about the standard size of a 2nd or 3rd bedroom in your typical American single family home. The bathrooms were recently updated and had all new fixtures. Our room had a balcony with a view of the street and flowers on the window sil. The hotel offers a breakfast for about 8 Euros a person that is comprised of pastries and coffee, sufficient for a quick bite.

Overall, this place was just what we expected and most of the reviews accurately reflect the awesomeness of this place. I would recommend this place to everyone!!!

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher up will require a walk on a narrow, winding staircase or a ride in a cramped e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnapolisMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Idol Hotel
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
393 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Muguet
Hotel Muguet
#163 of 1,802 in Paris
1,386 reviews
Hotel Apollon Montparnasse
#145 of 1,802 in Paris
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Louison Hotel
Louison Hotel
#199 of 1,802 in Paris
1,103 reviews
Hotel WO - Wilson Opera
#40 of 1,802 in Paris
1,515 reviews
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#272 of 1,802 in Paris
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Property: New Orient Hotel
Address: 16 rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#70 Family Hotel in Paris
#290 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing