We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hippopotamus

Hippopotamus
Ranked #9,983 of 16,851 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Love the quality of the meat and efficient service. Lots of different cuts of steak and they also accommodated our vegetarian daughter

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    38
    35
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service and mediocre food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It was a last minute decision to go to France, so we weren't prepared for the language. We decided to try the Hippopotamus restaurant because it seemed an interesting place. However, it was anything but. The staff immediately hated us upon hearing us speak English. They served us warm water instead of the chilled bottles other patrons were being served. We asked for a well done burger, but they served us a rare one instead. We may as well have gone to McDonalds. The prices were definitely too expensive for the poor quality we got

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good service, excellent food and portion sizes. Reasonable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We ate here twice during our week long visit to Paris last week. It was situated at Place du Clichy. Both times we ordered the "Hippo Duo", a 2 course menu. We ordered the steak with fries, pepper sauce and cola, then had chocolate mouse and special coffee afterwards. The sides and sauces are unlimited, and there are a few different options. We paid e18.90 each, They provided a basket of ciabatta bread along with home-made crisps.

It had a lovely atmosphere and the wait staff were fantastic with our 'limited' french. My OH steak was slightly rarer than he'd wanted it, and they offered to cook it for longer to get it exactly as he wished. Very good customer service. Because of the value for money, it can get pretty busy and crowded, but to us that just made for an opportunity to meet new people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No stars”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The service from this steak chain was disgusting. We were treated like second class citizens and overlooked by the staff and tables were given to other people who had only just come into the restaurant and there were other English people besides ourselves waiting. We walked out in disgust and found another eating establishment who were very friendly and helpful. Do not visit the Hippotamus chain.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanmannall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great way to eat good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was across my hotel and Hippopotamus always have a good steak with a salad for you to eat.... an easy way to choose the right place..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippopotamus also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Hippopotamus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing