We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value hotel, could be noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ramey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ramey
Ranked #1,560 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, could be noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights while on a solo holiday to Paris. I would definitely consider staying here again, chiefly because I believe that the hotel offers travelers excellent value.

The hotel is situated in Montmatre, which can be seen as both a positive and negative - while the area may come across as rather seedy at first glance, it is very close to excellent cafes and restaurants, and it was a good experience to stay in a less touristy part of the city.

The room was excellent for the price. The bathroom had recently been redone, and it was cleaned and provided with clean towels ever day. My chief complaint is that the room is potentially noisy - while there are double-glazed windows and a double door into the room, I think that the walls are rather thin as I could here the TV in the next room. In addition, if you are not a fan of stairs then I suggest that you call ahead to make sure that you get a room on a lower floor - there are 6 floors and no lift. I didn't mind this though, even though I was on the 4th floor.

I did not have the breakfast, because if I'm in Paris I'd much rather get a delicious sandwich from one of the many patisseries - there are several within just 100m of the hotel.

There was also a launderette near the hotel which cost me 8€ for a load to wash and dry - a huge help for me as I am traveling very light.

If you are on a particular tight budget, but don't want to stay in a backpackers, then I would recommend considering Hotel Ramey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakeRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    25
    9
    11
See reviews for
3
31
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Don't expect luxury or anything like that. This is a budget hotel. It's super simple, almost a hostel with all private rooms. But it's well located and very clean. Room size is a plus - ours was huge and the window faced the street (which we liked but of course meant it was a bit noisy). Shower was good.

No A/C. We didn't try their breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I looked for a hotel which was decent...on tripadvisor we had read horrible reviews of dirty rooms, croackroaches in bed, stains on blankets...my first worry was to find a clean structure, though at a reasonable price. Hotel Ramey is, but don't expect the greatest location. It is located not in the good part on Montmarte but is quite close to subway (about 5 mins. walk). There is no lift as this is an old building, so ask for a 1st floor room or ask your girlfriend to leave all that stuff home :) I had to carry upstairs her huge luggage and the stairs are small, very small). There is quite nothing around the hotel to eat or drink something good, but a bar in the way to the subway full of people on Friday night. The room was quite large to the Paris standards, and clean, which seems to be a rarity in Paris budget hotels. 6 extra € charded for breakfast, we tried it once and was not bad. The furniture is kind of dated, helpful staff, no English though. Would recommend if you are on a bugdet and don't care about the fanciest location but a clean place to stay

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms...remember? No lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrippaAdvaisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

me and my mother stayed at the last level (5th) and there was no lift. I really wanted to stay in Montmartre but I think this hotel is located not on the good side of Montmartre but the bad one, I didn't feel safe walking on that area at the night time. The hotel is very simple, no hot water on the sink, I felt very cold I think they swittched off the heater, it was february so really cold! If you are just traveling with a backpack and don't want to pay a lot and have a 'good' localization it may be good, but I was with my mother and expected a bit more. The staff was friendly but didn't speak english.

Room Tip: no lift so get a room on the first levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inamara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Kent, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you want to stay in Montmartre on a budget, this is a good place to stay. You have to be prepared for a badly cracked handbasin (if you get the room I stayed in) and decor that would not look out of place in student digs. However, the redeeming feature is the location, and the price, which would be outrageous for this quality of accommodation anywhere other than a tourist hotspot, is sort of, almost, OK.
Unfortunately, the badly-cracked handbasin is indicative of the attitude: if they did care much about the customers they would take some care over the decor and the reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkwrightZoborodsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hengoed
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

A small cheap hotel that is clean, well services with towels changed daily and close to metro and in heart of Montmmarte.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

It was selected for a romantic trip in Paris. The location was very good, close to Sacre Coeur and metro station, but our room was on the first floor with no nice view.
Room was noisy (water falling was a typical background noise), clean - except for the lamp.
Internet and TV were OK. Service was decent, but staff was not onsite outside the check-in/out time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simo_Luca_2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Residence Hotel Villa Montmartre
Montmartre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#1,597 of 1,794 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Boronali
Hotel Boronali
#979 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
Hotel Regyn's Montmartre
#997 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#306 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,384 of 1,794 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ramey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ramey

Property: Hotel Ramey
Address: 24 rue Ramey, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,560 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ramey 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ramey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing