We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of au 35 rue jacob

au 35 rue jacob
Ranked #1,137 of 16,854 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: hostess welcomed us with a smile. The food was prepared with love, care, and the best ingredients. Just a perfect tiny and elegant room with an aura of good work done with delight and fine food offered without any attitude of preciousness. Quiet and charming surroundings. Chic without being a slave to fashion.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

I should know better by now - we ate here on the strength of a rave review in the Rough Guide and were disappointed. It's really nothing special at all - far better food, service, value and ambience to be had in any one of dozens of restaurants in the 6eme.

Food is what I would call plain, simple home cooking in fairly mean portions. Service was some of the most bumbling (clumsy, forgetful) we have experienced in France. Prices were stiff - we paid 122 euros for two inc a very average bottle of wine. Would certainly not return, or recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TreacleToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    108
    33
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below expectations (which were not high)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I enjoyed the bread, wine and pumpkin soup but nothing else (rabbit, chicken, cheese and bacon and chocolate fondant).

I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

If you want a great but not excessive meal, a great but not posh atmosphere, friendly but not effusive service, more than drinkable wine which is not going to cost an arm and a leg then this is the place for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtwoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good place to eat near Saint Germain des Pres”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We like the Rive Gauche scene and decided to go this cozy little restaurant on rue Jacob that I frequently walk past during bustling lunchtime, where every table is always full. Turned out to be a great dining experience with refined food, good wine, and a pleasant atmosphere with friendly staff. The filet de bœuf was excellent, as well as the pumpkin soup and cauliflower velouté. Would certainly go back again next time we are in the area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyCampersParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, unfriendly waitress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Little cosy restaurant.
Simple and good food.

We had a great meal but were a bit disappointed in the service. We did not made a reservation and that seems to be a huge problem however there was a table free. Typical arrogance from Paris?

Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed au 35 rue jacob also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to au 35 rue jacob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing