We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Parisian meal after several false starts”
Review of au 35 rue jacob

au 35 rue jacob
Ranked #1,116 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: hostess welcomed us with a smile. The food was prepared with love, care, and the best ingredients. Just a perfect tiny and elegant room with an aura of good work done with delight and fine food offered without any attitude of preciousness. Quiet and charming surroundings. Chic without being a slave to fashion.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Parisian meal after several false starts”
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was near our hotel so we put off going there seeking more exotic fare. The last night we went. Room for two on the top floor. From the first moment we we delighted. Our waitress was not the owner she told us, but the appetizer if beets and cheese spread was the perfect pairing with the chateau Neuf de paupe we choose. We had lamb and beef. Delicious. W even stayed for dessert because everything was so good and we were not disappointed! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    110
    33
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
“Fantastique prix fixe menu”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stumbled across this liitle gem when our first choice restaurant was closed for the evening on a Sunday night, and like most folks here we were lucky to get a table without a reservation. Cosy doesn't do this restaurant justice, the closeness of the tables and neat little bar make it quite intimate. The service was impeccable and patient, particularly as I tried to remember my high school French lessons. And the food was simply sublime, even on the set menu. Everything was wonderfully fresh, simply dressed to complement the flavours of the ingredients used. A true example of French cuisine. Price-wise, quite reasonable for the quality and wont break the bank. I will be making a stop here on my return to this beautiful city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Impeccable service, good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's true that this place is an excellent option in the 6eme and truly worth the price. But for me the best part was the service. With 2 non-english/french speakers with me at the table, I had to translate everything back and forth and the waiters were absolutely patient and accommodating. I did appreciate that.
Can't remember exactly what we had but it was all tasteful and fresh. House wine was also very good.
We didn't book in advance and were lucky to get a table around 9pm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claudia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything is True”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A small, wonderful place in St. Germain. Very cozy, delightfully decorated, but the best part has to be the meals. We were very lucky to get a table for 2 without a reservation. I suggest you call in advance. Everything we had was amazingly fresh and comments we heard from diners around us reflected what we thought. Not cheap, but certainly not close to Paris expensive and when you leave and the terrific flavors are with you, the cost is nothing. Had we been in Paris one more night we would have returned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 366DaveN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Around the corner at au 35. ..”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

"My" hotel is literally around the corner from this tiny piece of Left Bank Paris. I love sitting outdoors, weather permitting, and people watching, Paris being stellar in that regard. Solo, I depend on friendly, efficient staff and good food to round off my evening.
Au 35 does not disappoint. I also take it as a good sign when I see troops of locals inside, and I feel the swirl of le vrai Paris around me. Wonderful Dorad fish, good house wine, neat little bread basket At my petite table on the sidewalk, I am the most content American around. The kitchen here is upstairs, and I was impressed by the focus and efficiency of the chef and prep staff. A good place, overall, to visit more than once...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EileenO727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed au 35 rue jacob also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to au 35 rue jacob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing