We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel - wonderful staff”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #298 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just spent 3 nights at LeCitizen Hotel and enjoyed it quite a bit. The room itself was very nice, had everything we needed , was clean and well appointed. The extra's were great - free wifi, free "mini bar", great breakfast with lots of breads and yogurt as well as eggs cooked to order. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms do face the street so if you need quiet to sleep it may not be the best place for you but I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 811 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very stylish and comfortable hotel, staff are friendly and located in one of the most hip area in Paris. I have both lived as well as visited Paris many times and stayed at high end to budget hotels but this one is a real good value to cost hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at Citizen Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Birdmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. I would highly recommend Le Citizen Hotel and would absolutely return on future trips to Paris. The location on the canal is charming, and the neighborhood is lovely--not at all touristy, but still plenty of interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes, etc. The hotel is also a quick 10 minute walk from the Republique metro stop, which makes the rest of the city easily accessible. I can't say enough good things about the staff--they were by far the friendliest Parisians we encountered: welcoming, helpful with answering questions and assistance with dinner reservations/information--especially Laure and Caroline! The complimentary breakfast is delicious: croissants, fresh squeezed OJ, eggs and coffee prepared as you wish, plus lots of other delicious things. The rooms are small, as most in Paris are, but they are modern, very clean and comfortable. Another lovely touch -- the fridge is stocked with complimentary bottled water, juice, a couple beers -- which is great after a long day of walking. Each room is also provided with an iPad, which is tremendously helpful for planning visits around Paris. The attention to detail, while remaining low key but very comfortable makes for a seamless stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal...very charming to open the windows for fresh air and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Been our 4th time at Le Citizen and it is now unofficiallyl our home in Paris, until we actually buy an apt. When, who knows.

Thanks to wonderful staff, Laure, Caroline. Forgot the name of the guy who let me borrow his lighter a few times.

Fresh sheets daily.

Laure, please tell Sophie to add Apple TV next time and a docking station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaimosLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here 7th June for 5 nights.

The hotel staff are very helpful and always willing to assist if you have any queries. Their english is excellent and certainly better than our french.

The hotel is in an excellent location. 10 Minutes walk from Gard Du Nord. 10 minutes from Republique metro station which we used to get the Eiffel tour area and also to the Notre Dame area. 10 Minutes walk to Belleville metro station which we used to get to Montmartre / Sacre Coeur area. So pretty much all the main attractions are easily reached via the metro from the hotel. We would recommend buying a carnet pass which is a book of 10 tickets so the metro can become you new best friend.

The Canal St Martin area is in the 10th arrondissement. It's really nice as it's not full of tourists, it's mainly locals. At night everyone gathers at the canal with their wine and food and passes the evening away. One night we ordered our dinner at the Pink Flamingo which is on the street behind the hotel. You are given a pink balloon so the delivery guy can find you sitting by the canal. It was a great evening sitting out having out pizza and bottle of wine!!

Breakfast was very good. Freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee. Yoghurt, pastries, eggs, fruit and served with a smile.

Room is compact but big enough for the amount of time you are in it.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuJen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A TOP week in my TOP suite in a TOP location - On my own (sadly!) and a ´senior citizen´, I could not have found a better place to stay for my 80th birthday which I celebrated with my son and his wife at the finals of Roland Garros! This hotel is delightfully low-key and informal with (as everyone says in their reviews) a charming staff. You leave feeling you have made friends. Restaurants galore (booked ahead by Reception), chauffeur service (on request), imaginative breakfasts, super-comfortalbe bed and lovely view down onto the Canal Saint Martin and the lock. It is a vibrant area and does not (yet) seethe with tourists. All the young picnicking alongside the Canal add a festive feeling. Within easy walking distance of the Bastille (super Thursday market, eat oysters there) and Le Marais. The modern minimilist interiors appealed to me. Without doubt, my hotel for my future stays in Paris.

Room Tip: For a Senior Citizen 66 is the best, no awkward steps (i.e. avoid 44) and an easy shower. Lovely v...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Zoë O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

As much as I enjoy trying different hotels in a city, Le Citizen will always be my first choice in Paris. All the bits matter, but the friendliness of the staff is consistently as impressive of any hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#60 of 1,809 in Paris
844 reviews
Hotel Georgette
#110 of 1,809 in Paris
784 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#623 of 1,809 in Paris
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
9HOTEL REPUBLIQUE
#296 of 1,809 in Paris
500 reviews
Hotel Helussi
#67 of 1,809 in Paris
641 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#191 of 1,809 in Paris
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $145 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing