We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel - great staff!!”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #288 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a fab little hotel just a tiny bit outside the usual touristy areas of Paris. It offers some lovely little touches - a great breakfast (homemade yoghurt and the lemon curd is to die for!!!), a glass of wine and nibbles before you go out in the evening and a free minibar with snacks that are replaced every day.

The hotel is in an area with a really buzzy feel and lots of places to eat and get a drink. The amazingly helpful and friendly reception staff are happy to recommend good places to eat and will phone around to get you a booking, in fact they are happy to try and help with anything and are amongst some of the best reception staff we have come across a real plus point for this hotel and they should be congratulated by the management as they are a young team that work very hard covering reception, the evening drinks and the breakfast always with a smile!

The room we stayed in was one of the smaller ones, but it is well planned and very clean and we were only there for 3 nights so it was perfect, any longer and you might want to think about going for one of the larger rooms as I imagine they would have slightly more storage etc. Be warned Paris is noisy and the area around this hotel is no exception we had a 5th floor room which wasn't too bad but I think some of the lower levels might suffer, so ask for a high floor if you can.

We loved Paris and we loved this hotel and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the canal just try and get one of the top floors to avoid the road nois...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1countryatatime72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Le Citizen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 793 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I can't add much to the previous reviews- this is a beautiful boutique hotel in a fantastic location with the most wonderful staff. Rooms are elegant and well designed, and the pain au chocolat at breakfast is delicious! The place is faultless.

Thank you to all the staff a Le Citizen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Le Citizen - great little hotel. Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff made our 3 night stay a pleasure. Good breakfast and lots of great eateries nearby in this cool area of Paris . We would recommend
this hotel to anyone - 5 stars

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

What a wonderful boutique hotel. The room was perfect with a wonderful view of the canal. The room is done in light wood and white linens making the effect very cheerful. The mini bar snacks and beverages were perfect. The bathroom was well stocked and the best shower that I have ever had in a hotel. Wonderful breakfast in the morning with fresh pastries, homemade yogurt, fresh fruit, croque monsieur, french toast, pancakes, eggs, fresh orange juice, cafe au lait, the list goes on. The best part of this hotel is the staff. Very helpful with directions or making reservations at a local restaurant for you. As well as just taking a minute to check with you to make sure that your stay is going well. I would strongly recommend this boutique hotel as I know that I will be back for another visit.

Room Tip: City rooms are for 1-2 people. Otherwise go with the suite. Excellent views from every room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinemtclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just got back from Paris and stayed here for 3 nights. I travelled with my 18 year old son so chose the Apartment which was ideal ie 2 bedrooms ensuite with joining living space. The beds, showers, sweet treats (fresh every day), ipads and views (all rooms look directly onto Canal St Martin - at a busy but surprisingly quiet junction) were all great. We both enjoyed the breakfast too. All the previous reviews that I'd read had commented on the staff and I agree, they were friendly and helpful, (even when we lost one of their umbrellas!!) providing excellent service and great recommendations for local restaurants and shops. This was a real treat and I would be very happy to be able to stay here again when next visiting the city.

Room Tip: All rooms have large windows overlooking the canal.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63JFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night to visit Paris. We booked last-minute and got a nice discount on their smallest room. The room was very nice: great bed and shower, room was equipped well and we loved the small place where we could lay down and take a look outside.

Staff was very friendly and gave us some info about taking the metro.

Breakfast was a nice change in your typical hotel breakfast; everything was homemade, fresh and delicious.

It's a great hotel for short stays. For longer stays I'd take a larger room, that I assume will be as nice as ours.

Room Tip: For longer stays (+3/4 days) I would not take the smallest room as there is not much space to put yo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimGeudens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I spent 5 days there in September 2013 and honestly speaking it has been one of the most gratifying experience I have ever had regarding the service I received from the staff that works there, they were just amazing and made my stay quite comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast was always delicious. If you want to use the metro, there are two stations, La Republique and Gard du L'Est, which are close to the hotel. In brief, I strongly recommend this hotel and I will not think twice to use this hotel again. Many thanks to the staff at Le Citizen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franciscojbrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#51 of 1,803 in Paris
785 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,803 in Paris
1,454 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#200 of 1,803 in Paris
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#566 of 1,803 in Paris
505 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#281 of 1,803 in Paris
183 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#284 of 1,803 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $166 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing