We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Great place to stay in Paris. Staff was amazingly friendly & went out of their way to help. City room is small but adequate. Zen rooms are more expensive but roomy & worth the upgrade. Great location. I will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoopergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    132
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
127
416
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lets start with the good bits; great location in an interesting part of Paris, very attentive staff, great bed, very clean and comfortable. But, oh! What a disappointment. I had forgotten that "boutique " means small, and this hotel suffers from being oddly shaped, long and narrow. Room 33 ( a "zen" suite) was advertised at 35 sq meters, great, but the room is not square, most of the meters are taken up by fiddly unnecessary fittings and the two bits that really matter, the bedroom and the bathroom are cramped. And then there is the wifi....it is "sponsored" which means every time you want to log on you are forced to watch a video add before the wifi connection is made. I usually just gave up. The connection is poor and oh so slow...this hotel prides itself on being the first hotel in Paris to offer guests an ipad to enjoy during their stay loaded with movies and music....not much good if the Internet is so poor and believe me you get pretty tired of watching dots chase each other in a tiny circle on the screen.Continental breakfast is a good, but painfully slow affair as the same guy has to make all the coffees, lay the tables, squeeze the juice...etc...So, overall a poor but pricey hotel, redeemed only by the location and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Avoid room 33
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thek9sbllx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We are always bothered when we feel that our guests didn't get the most of what we could have provided.
Three main points here :
1- the boutique hotel and its size. You're right this 12 room hotel is small. Some of the rooms are bigger than the others though. And you were apparently in our of the biggest :-)
We acknowledge that the layout won't please everyone as we were working with a particular shape of the building and chose to create specific spaces to enjoy the view on the canal during the different moments of the day ( banquette for a nap/ little table for the breakfast / lounging in bed in the morning...). Maybe Room 11 would have a better choice choice which has the more typical layout.
2- Wifi : You're totally right to say that this "new" ad video is very annoying !!!! this happened very recently and we are working on changing provider to avoid this. We are very sorry that you had to endure this 15s spot each time you got on internet.
3- Breakfast service : It is very rare that there is only one person serving at breakfast, they are usually 2 or 3 but it might happen. Usually it is not a problem as the friendliness of the staff makes it ok for possibly a longer service compared to a restaurant where one has no relationship with the service team.

Again it is unfortunate that you didn't have the best time, but thank you for coming and for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pros: Super-friendly staff, solid breakfast with French breads, cheeses, fresh OJ and made-to-order eggs, free mini-bar that is restocked every day, modern decor, walkable from Gare Nord with luggage, free iPad during stay with a ton of Paris apps, located in trendy neighborhood on the Canal St Martin

Cons: Small room with very limited storage, about a 10 minute walk to the subway

Le Citizen is a great little hotel in a great neighborhood that we likely would not have visited had we stayed elsewhere. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianFromPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

fantastic hotel. good service. fantastic rooms. the room prices are not cheap but are in line with the average paris hotel fares. The hotel is in an excellent position . We were very impressed with this hotel, would stay here again and totally recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flytwo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I have recently spent 3 nights in Paris and, based on other TripAdvisor reviews, stayed at Le Citizen. We simply can't express in words how very much we enjoyed our stay and how comfortable we were made to feel - from the 'free minibar', the really friendly young staff (in particular Lore, Caroline & Erik), lovely breakfast and the clean spacious room - Le Citizen totally exceeded every expection we had.
Le Citizen is close enough to central Paris to be convenient, but far enough away from the main tourist areas to be 'genuine Paris'.
My only suggestion is to book Le Citizen well in advance, like we did. Once the word gets out about this gem of a boutique hotel, there are likely to be a lot of disappointed people who can't get in.
Michael & Zana
Perth, Western Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I took our two children (8 and 10) on a Paris vacation in late July. We booked 7 nights in the Zen Suite (Rm 44) at Le Citizen based on its great Trip Advisor reviews. Best decision I ever made. The staff, including Eric, John, Patrick, and Laure, were there for us at every turn. They not only recommended neighborhood offerings, but also gave good tips on dining around our daily tourist destinations. Laure even helped me figure out the brand of sandals all the young Parisian ladies were wearing (Les Tropéziennes). All the staff very patiently allowed me to practice my elementary conversational French.

I recommend booking a car through Le Citizen to take you from the airport to the hotel. Our drivers both to and from the hotel were safe and friendly, and the cost for our family was 65 Euros. It was well worth it not to have to carry suitcases and mind children on public transport.

Our suite was prepared for the four of us (the cushions along the windows were made up as two ample-sized beds for our children), and the minifridge was stocked with snacks and beverages daily, included in the room price. We were especially excited to see a French craft beer along with a Tsingtao in the mini-fridge every day. The kids were completely sold on the whole Paris thing when they discovered an iPad came with the room. The king-sized bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very large. The view from our windows was priceless. I loved the hotel's chic design and decor.

Breakfast was a pleasure: we enjoyed pastries, fresh breads, home-made preserves, cheese, salmon, eggs cooked to order, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee & tea. We also made it a point to get back to the hotel by "happy hour," which included a glass of wine or a soda, and some sort of nibble--watermelon gazpacho one day, Rocquefort another, chips another.

The closest Metro stations are a 5-10 minute walk, depending on which line you need. Because the hotel is not in the center of a touristy area, you will see a vibrant, young Paris. We took the the time to sit out along the canal in the evening with the local folks and were thoroughly charmed by the feel of the neighborhood. We will return to Le Citizen, and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for an attractive, friendly, and comfortable stay in Paris.

Room Tip: Zen Suite (44) comfortably accommodated our family of 4 (two adults and two kids--8 and 10). Lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have never stayed in a hotel that made us feel like we were family and staying in a home. This one does and gets our highest praise for outstanding everything. A fifteen minute walk from Gare de L'Est was easy. It was a VERY not evening when we arrived and the staff immediately got us water. Our City L room was on the second floor overlooking the canal. It was quiet even though it was hot and there was lots of foot traffic nearby. The bedding was excellent. The AC worked extremely well. The snacks and complimentary minibar were nice touches. The internet worked well. We need to call our bank in the US and were pleased to find that this service as well as a iPad were included. Breakfast which included fresh squeezed juice and cafe latte was plenty and very tasty. The staff is outstanding and extremely helpful. They helped with Metro directions and restaurant reservations. There are Metro stops nearby.
When we go back to Paris, we will stay there again. We recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#42 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#65 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#55 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing