We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviews are right - super funky and staff are super helpful.”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there based on other reviews. Rooms small but they make great use if all the space with shelving and cushions in the windows. Mini bar with pop and beer included is a nice touch. Breakfast is served in the lobby and the staff were more than happy to chat and recommend things I see and do. They even issue iPads if needed for use. Great ideas!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2pinacolodas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Le Citizen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 791 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Le Citizen for four nights at the end of June and it was wonderful-- I booked the hotel based on the reviews and we were very happy with the hotel. There were four of us so we stayed in a zen suite on the sixth floor. My daughters loved their beds that were nestled in the windows. The entire building is amazingly narrow, but the space is very well appointed. The hotel goes above and beyond many others and anticipates guests needs. There are even ear plugs in the room if one is bothered by the sounds outside at night! The staff are excellent and they are helpful and informative. We didn't use the mini-bar much, but it is such a nice thing that the drinks in it are free. My girls looked forward to the cookies or cakes that were provided in the room every afternoon.
The hotel is conveniently located close to a metro stop. We often took the bus as we liked watching the sites on the way to our destinations.
If you want to have dinner near the hotel, ask the staff and they will guide you to the right restaurant.
I have been to Paris many times, but have never stayed on the canal in the past. It was truly a delightful place to stay and it great for families. It was a welcome place to return to for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluewater777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Can only echo the sentiments of everyone else, Le Citizen is great! Stayed for a very pleasant 3 nights. The staff are excellent, they all go out of their way to assist in any way they can. Really liked the location, the Canal really came alive at night. Definitely felt like we were off the main tourist trail. Free mini bar was great to have. The included breakfast was good and enough to set you up for a heavy day of sightseeing.

The room is definitely on the cosy side - the main part is not that much bigger than the bed. But, comfortable enough. Great shower too. We'd been told about the free worldwide calls when we checked in, but when we tried to make use of the phone, it was dead - disappointing. We returned to the hotel during happy hour, but no mention was made of it. So, didn't appear to be happening - disappointing.

So, a few minor quibbles. But, would wholeheartedly recommend. Not sure if we'll make it back to Paris, but if we do, hopefully we'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikeeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were excited about our stay at le citizen and it was everything we could have hoped for. Great location, cool area, just north of the marais although better than the marais in my opinion as not as touristy. the staff were all so nice, our room was bigger than i expected (City K room- on first floor) and despite what others said it was really quite thanks to double glazing windows. the bed was HUGE and so comfortable. breakfast was YUM, beautiful bread and jams, yogurt and fruit, eggs, coffee, tea etc. Everything was great, thanks to the staff at le citizen!

Room Tip: we stayed in city k room and that was great, very spacious
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 468Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its perfect reviews and it still managed to exceed out expectations. We were stunned by the personnel approach - professional high maintenance yet friendly attitude.
We usually stay in large hotels so we were a bit worried at first but within five minutes of walking in we felt like the whole hotel was one big family.

The rooms were clean, nicely designed, smelled fresh.....Just perfect.

Our great stay in this romantic city was topped with the hotel's breakfast! I am now a french cuisine lover as this food was nothing but incredible.

I can highly recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaysonmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for eight nights at the Le Citizen. The location is superb being right on the canal in the 10th Arrivee. This hotel is very boutique which makes it so much more personable. Our hosts Eric, Patrick and Lauren provide a very warm experience. The breakfasts as a part of the room rate are excellent, rooms although not large are comfortable and relaxing other a day exploring Paris. We loved walking and exploring Paris. From our hotel its a 5 minute walk to Le Republic and another 10 minutes to the Marais which is one of Paris's best kept secrets. There are 6 superb restaurants within a 5 minute walk from the hotel all recommended by the hotel. Although I have visited Paris 20 times over the years this was a trip where we enjoyed an aspect of Paris that tourists often dont get to see. All credit to our son who lives in this neighbour hood and made sure that our trip would be one not to forget. We will be back to enjoy this very special hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful modern hotel in central Paris on Canal St Martin. The room was compact and spotlessly clean free mini bar two beers two soft drinks and two juices, complete with snacks very nice. It was easy to find two stops from the Gare du Nore which is where Eurostar arrives into. The staff were so helpful happy to oblige at all times and the free use of iPad which was so helpful, so we could check out where to go whilst in our room. We stayed in room 6 and did not hear any noise from the busy canal side on the Friday and Saturday night, although it was extremely busy. Really would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a bit of comfort and luxury.
We will be going back soon . Special Thank you to John, Patrick and Eric for being so obliging :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#50 of 1,804 in Paris
785 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,804 in Paris
1,448 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#198 of 1,804 in Paris
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#549 of 1,804 in Paris
505 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#294 of 1,804 in Paris
183 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#284 of 1,804 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $167 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing