We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were excited about our stay at le citizen and it was everything we could have hoped for. Great location, cool area, just north of the marais although better than the marais in my opinion as not as touristy. the staff were all so nice, our room was bigger than i expected (City K room- on first floor) and despite what others said it was really quite thanks to double glazing windows. the bed was HUGE and so comfortable. breakfast was YUM, beautiful bread and jams, yogurt and fruit, eggs, coffee, tea etc. Everything was great, thanks to the staff at le citizen!

Room Tip: we stayed in city k room and that was great, very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 468Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    126
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
123
405
55
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose this hotel due to its perfect reviews and it still managed to exceed out expectations. We were stunned by the personnel approach - professional high maintenance yet friendly attitude.
We usually stay in large hotels so we were a bit worried at first but within five minutes of walking in we felt like the whole hotel was one big family.

The rooms were clean, nicely designed, smelled fresh.....Just perfect.

Our great stay in this romantic city was topped with the hotel's breakfast! I am now a french cuisine lover as this food was nothing but incredible.

I can highly recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaysonmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for eight nights at the Le Citizen. The location is superb being right on the canal in the 10th Arrivee. This hotel is very boutique which makes it so much more personable. Our hosts Eric, Patrick and Lauren provide a very warm experience. The breakfasts as a part of the room rate are excellent, rooms although not large are comfortable and relaxing other a day exploring Paris. We loved walking and exploring Paris. From our hotel its a 5 minute walk to Le Republic and another 10 minutes to the Marais which is one of Paris's best kept secrets. There are 6 superb restaurants within a 5 minute walk from the hotel all recommended by the hotel. Although I have visited Paris 20 times over the years this was a trip where we enjoyed an aspect of Paris that tourists often dont get to see. All credit to our son who lives in this neighbour hood and made sure that our trip would be one not to forget. We will be back to enjoy this very special hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful modern hotel in central Paris on Canal St Martin. The room was compact and spotlessly clean free mini bar two beers two soft drinks and two juices, complete with snacks very nice. It was easy to find two stops from the Gare du Nore which is where Eurostar arrives into. The staff were so helpful happy to oblige at all times and the free use of iPad which was so helpful, so we could check out where to go whilst in our room. We stayed in room 6 and did not hear any noise from the busy canal side on the Friday and Saturday night, although it was extremely busy. Really would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a bit of comfort and luxury.
We will be going back soon . Special Thank you to John, Patrick and Eric for being so obliging :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandylincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Chose this small (12 rooms) boutique hotel off the back of all the reviews and was not disappointed. Felt more like a stay with friends! The service was exceptional .. from the informative swift check in ..through the regular chats and tips .. the cleanliness of the room ... and the breakfasts, wow, the breakfasts!

The rooms are small but provide a very comfortable bed and all the amenities you need (including an ipad, tea/coffee making and snacks and mini bar with cokes/beers, tv, and a wonderfully refreshing walk-in rain shower).

The location is great .. 5 mins walk to Republique Metro (4 lines for centre/Seine) and Colonel Fabien Metro (for Montmartre) ... 5 mins to Republique for L'Open Tour Bus stop ... on Canal St Martin where a young crowd hang out in the evenings drinking and chatting (but never woken by the noise and no signs of the gathering the next morning)....

Great value for money as includes breakfast which is fantastique! ... fresh pastries and bread, cheeses, ham, salmon, yogurts, cereals, and eggs on request ... fresh orange juice .. in a quiet atmosphere watching the Parisiens walk pass!

This is a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family - myself, my wife and our 11 year old daughter - just returned from a 5 night stay at Le Citizen Hotel which we really enjoyed. It is a very small boutique hotel without the amenities of a larger property but it makes up for it with staff that really go the extra mile to make sure that its guests are well taken care of. We had the most interaction with Eric and Laure who helped us to make dinner reservations every night at local restaurants - all within 5 minutes walking distance and some just around the corner or literally across the street - which were all very small but the food was just superb!!

Although the breakfast area is small - we did have to wait a little our first morning - the selection of pastries, fruit and a few hot items (eggs and pancakes) was certainly adequate to get us started for the day.

We booked the apartment which is essentially a larger room adjoined by a smaller one which meant that we had the whole floor to ourselves serviced by their efficient elevator. The beds were very comfortable. The spaces are well designed and accommodated all of our luggage.

The included minibar drinks and snacks were very much appreciated - it was nice just to be able to have some water when needed. We also took advantage of their "happy hour" from 6 to 7 pm - again it was nice to have a glass of wine with snacks after a long day of sightseeing or shopping, although it didn't seem like many other guests took advantage of this perk while we were there.

The hotel is off the beaten path but the closest metro station - Jacques Bonsergent - is only a 5 minute walk away. We really enjoyed being away from the major touristy areas and just loved watching the locals go about their daily life.

Our family would definitely recommend Le Citizen Hotel to anyone seeking a true Parisien experience and look forward to returning ourselves hopefully in the near future!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I were passing through Paris for 1 night and booked a room at Le Citizen Hotel, wanting to be in a quieter part of the city. The nightly rate was very reasonable for Paris in the Summer, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. From the sumptuous breakfast, happy hour snacks and wine, free phone calls anywhere in the world, and no-charge mini-bar, we cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was very enjoyable (even though they knew we would only be there for 1 night). We really enjoyed the area around the hotel. The Canal St. Martin is a very peaceful oasis in the middle of a large city. We will be back for a longer stay on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#30 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 645 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#52 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#47 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#26 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#66 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing