We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful room, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France (Canal Saint-Martin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Really nice room with complimentary drinks & iPads. Great connecting room for a family, with nice sofa area. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Near to republique which has 5 tube line and on the canal which has lovely bars and restaurants and a few too many hipsters.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodweeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    126
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
122
405
54
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Seri Begawan, null, Brunei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Three nights, four days was just wonderful at this hotel. In an old building but totally renovated to accommodate small but comfortable rooms with ensuite, fridge, safe, sitting area and so many extras Le Citizen hotel ticked all the boxes for our stay. Breakfast was fresh, and healthy with good service. The staff go the extra mile offering tips, transportation guides and we were greeted with a happy and friendly smile each time by all the staff. It is in a great location with many good bistros nearby, metro a short distance away. I would highly recomend this hotel and I think all the other guests staying at the same time were as pleased as us. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked our hotel at through TripAdvisor based on reviews and it did not disappoint.
Great staff made you feel like you were staying in a home. Eric, Laure, John, Patrick, Mario, and a few others were always ready to help, cook an amazing breakfast, give directions, etc...whenever we needed something. Again, it felt more like staying at a home, right on the Canal St. Martin, with beautiful views and a short walk, but not too close, to all the touristy places.
We will definately stay here again on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband & I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Citizen last week. It was for our honeymoon & we booked the Zen Suite. It wasn't cheap but we wanted to push the boat put for our special occasion. The room was a beautifully well thought out space. The bed was excellent, as were the pillows (very important!) I loved the mini bar snacks which came inclusive of room.

The staff were helpful & friendly but not overbearing. They booked us a really good local restaurant for dinner one night.

Breakfast was delicious. The pastries & fruit salad was to die for.

A very nice place in an interesting, picturesque but not touristy area.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights here in March and it was a fantastic experience. The rooms were modern and very comfortable (including probably one of the nicest showers I've ever used). Each morning we were served a delicious complimentary breakfast of pastries, eggs, fruit and coffee. The staff was attentive and incredibly helpful. If we needed directions, help with reservations, or suggestions on what to do, they were happy to be of service. While we did not get to explore the neighborhood that much, we found the hotel conveniently located a short walk from the Republique metro stop, which got us on a number of different lines.

All in all, I could not recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jswerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second stay at Le Citizen -- in a suite Zen -- and we are looking forward to going back. The service is outstanding and personal. The staff are really well-organized from the booking process onwards. The hotel rooms are thoughtfully designed and comfortable. Perhaps the bathroom design/layout could be a little better, and the (included) breakfast could have a few, really great items instead of offering such a big selection. But these are small things and the fair prices make up for them. The location is convenient, and if you want to travel further than walking distance many métro lines meet at the nearby République métro station, from where it's easy to get to most parts of Paris extremely quickly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely canal hotel in a very nice, up and coming area. Very very small rooms, but made up by good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff. Easy 5 part from the room size. I love the area and hotel bookeda number of restaurants for us. I would come again!

Room Tip: Maybe opt for a bigger room if it is within your budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MT_norway79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#34 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#53 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#48 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#27 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#64 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing