We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #80 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Lemoore, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights and absolutely loved this hotel! The rooms were pretty tiny but it was all part of the charm of this 12-room boutique hotel. The staff was absolutely fabulous and went above and beyond in helping us with our visit to Paris. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurenlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    126
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
123
405
54
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If one can get by with the extra small rooms, it's a nice quiet area. The hotel includes use of iPad, made to order breakfast, happy hour for wine and snack. Snacks and drinks were replaced each day and all were complimentary (hey, I hope they were anyway!) The subway station was fairly close, so we used that to go to the main Paris attractions each day. Some nice restaurants were nearby and the front desk clerks were very helpful.
We understand there are larger rooms, but did not see one of them.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger room if you have 2 people or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Kingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just returned from a two night mini break to Paris, staying at Le Citizen.
We choose Le Citizen purely based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed.
The hotel is based in the Saint-Martin area of Paris, right on the canal and close to some fantastic restaurants and bars. If you are arriving by Eurostar into the Gare du Nord, then the hotel is just a couple of stops away on the Metro. Alternatively, you can walk (as we did) and it only takes around 15 minutes.
The location itself is just outside of central Paris and could be described as where ‘real people actually live’, as there are plenty of apartments in the neighbourhood where you see people coming and going. It is a little bit rough around the edges, i.e. a bit of graffiti, but nevertheless kind of trendy and genuinely a pleasant place to be staying in.
To get to the Eiffel Tower / Champs Elise / other Paris attractions etc., takes minutes on the Metro - ‘Republique’ being the most useful local station as it has the most lines crossing through.

The hotel itself is fantastic – the most important asset being the staff who look after you from the second that you arrive to the second you leave. Nothing was too much trouble- from making drinks on your arrival to booking meals in local restaurants and constantly checking you are enjoying your stay.
The rooms (there are only 12) are extremely modern with very comfortable beds, trendy bathrooms, loaded mini bars (included in the price), ample toiletries and an iPad that replaces the normal out of date information pack that you normally find in hotel rooms. We were in one of the smaller rooms, which was fairly compact – but had ample room for us for the weekend. Other larger rooms are available, but at additional cost.
The included continental breakfast was great – croissants, coffee, cakes, fresh orange juice, choice of cereals etc., again served by the extremely helpful staff.
We slept reasonably well although did get disturbed a few times during the night by a bit of street noise, just outside the hotel. However, this wasn’t too much of an issue and the hotel does include ear plugs, if it really bothers you!
We ate at Marie-Louise & Philou (both recommended to us by John at Le Citizen). The food was great (real French menus) and at a reasonable cost, although make sure you book to avoid disappointment.
I would recommend taking a walk along the canal, down to the Bastille and then down to the Seine. If you then take a right – you are shortly at Notre Dame (around a 50 minute walk from the hotel).
In summary – if you want to stay in a place that is just outside the normal touristy areas, see a bit of real Paris and stay in a trendy boutique hotel, then this could be the choice for you. I would definitely recommend staying at Le Citizen…

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank glencdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I love the design of the hotel and location but it is the high level of hospitality which makes Le Citizen truly unique. The staff is very warm and friendly and make sure that all your needs are met. From the time I made our reservation, e-mail correspondences from the front desk were speedy and efficient. Confirmation comes with very informative PDF's on restaurants and shops in the area so that you're "in the know." It is obvious that the management puts emphasis on customer service which is sorely lacking in many other hotels.

We had the Zen suite on the 4th floor for a family of 3, which included my 5 year old daughter. The irregular space was fun for us because there were many corners to hide around. It allowed some to sleep while another could read at the other end. My daughter enjoyed the storybook that was on the shelf. We read it every night. The little touches like daily baked goods and free beverages in our room made the stay extra special.

The location of the hotel was just perfect for us. It is in a cool neighborhood, just where I would love to live if I could move to Paris. Unencumbered by a small child, you could walk leisurely down towards the Marais and then right along the Seine. With child, we found the metro very easy to use, to getting to our sightseeing spots.

My husband says that I have to be honest and can't give a flawless review. So... he found the platform bed too creaky and did not like how the shower can accidentally flood the bathroom. I'm willing to ignore those matters because there were so many more things to appreciate about this special place. We will definitely visit again ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eggoncarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

To begin with, the rooms at Le Citizen aren't anything to rave about. There are only 12 and they're generally small. We had a suite on the 6th floor, but the orientation of the room was somewhat odd as the room was elongated with the bed at one end of the room, separated by a strangely placed toilet and bathroom in the middle. We also found the housekeeping wanting as the floors were not mopped or swept and our feet blackened as a consequence. It's something the hotel should take note of.

We took the zen suite, which is as it suggests, zen. The bath and toilet though look out of synch with blue tiles throughout. It reminded me of a swimming pool changing room. What's nice about the room is the mini-bar is free, and the juices provided very nice (pear, mandarin orange etc etc). International calls are also free as the hotel uses voice over internet to connect. Very useful if you need to make long, lengthy calls overseas and even within France.

The location appears quite good, next to the St Martin's canal and near to many shops and restaurants. We found a nice Thai restaurant (called Mmm.. Shawn Thai) on the opposite bank of the canal that was good. There's also a small mini-mart about 5 minutes walk away. However, for our purposes, Le Citizen was far from the key touristy spots like the Eiffel Tower, Louvre etc etc and the key shopping hubs like Galeries Lafayette, St Honore etc etc. Cab fare to these locations was about 13 euros either way. We avoided the metro, after hearing horror stories of muggings and incidents of pick pocketing.

Now to what makes Le Citizen outstanding - its staff. John, Eric, Macky, Mario and others were helpful, showed initiative, provided good suggestions, even got us access to a members only designer discount store (called Tangara) just next to the hotel.

The staff were helpful from the start, getting us checked in a day earlier than planned, owing to our checking out of another hotel earlier than planned (see my review on Le Belle Juliet). They were also helpful in getting us cabs, and instructing the driver just where we wanted to go. On several mornings when we had to leave early for tours, the staff even offered to make us breakfast before the stipulated time of 730am, an initiative we were grateful for. Good service is indeed rare and the staff at Le Citizen exhibits the best there is in Paris.

In sum, Le Citizen is a comfortable enough hotel in a quaint location (by the St Martin's Canal). What makes it special is its staff. Good, friendly and helpful service can make or mar a holiday. In this instance, it made our overall stay in Paris a very pleasant one. Pity about the housekeeping though.

Room Tip: Take the suite. The normal room is way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singapore_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had an amazing four-night stay at this compact 12-room boutique hotel, and can't speak highly enough of it! Service was impeccable from all staff, starting with prompt E-mail replies from enquiries we made for concierge services months in advance, to arranging flowers and champagne for my wife's birthday. If you want an inside track on what's on trend in Paris in terms of dining, art or shopping, I suggest getting in contact with Gaela ahead of your stay. Rooms themselves are excellent, we had a 'Suite Zen' which was spacious enough for our needs, and with three large windows (almost floor to ceiling) facing the canal. We had no problems with street noise being on the fifth floor but it could be a problem being lower down as Canal St Martin is quite lively at night, particularly on the weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights whilst on shopping trip to Paris. Excellent room, very pleasant and helpful staff, 5 minute walk to Gare de L'est tube & rail, 10 minutes Gare du Nord. 30 minute walk to B. Haussmann for shopping, excellent local bars & restaurants especially Hotel du Nord 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 35CRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#30 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#51 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#47 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,870 reviews
Opera / Bourse
La Maison Favart
La Maison Favart
#26 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
Hotel Joyce - Astotel
#63 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing