We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #157 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had an amazing four-night stay at this compact 12-room boutique hotel, and can't speak highly enough of it! Service was impeccable from all staff, starting with prompt E-mail replies from enquiries we made for concierge services months in advance, to arranging flowers and champagne for my wife's birthday. If you want an inside track on what's on trend in Paris in terms of dining, art or shopping, I suggest getting in contact with Gaela ahead of your stay. Rooms themselves are excellent, we had a 'Suite Zen' which was spacious enough for our needs, and with three large windows (almost floor to ceiling) facing the canal. We had no problems with street noise being on the fifth floor but it could be a problem being lower down as Canal St Martin is quite lively at night, particularly on the weekends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benchickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    135
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
130
423
58
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed 3 nights whilst on shopping trip to Paris. Excellent room, very pleasant and helpful staff, 5 minute walk to Gare de L'est tube & rail, 10 minutes Gare du Nord. 30 minute walk to B. Haussmann for shopping, excellent local bars & restaurants especially Hotel du Nord 2 minute walk away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35CRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with the Mrs. Booking via email was a joy with all our questions quickly answered. Very helpful even before we arrived with lots of info in the confirmation email, setting out the locality, things to do, restaurants to visit. The service in the hotel was second to none. John was there all weekend, booked our restaurants, taxis, explained where was good to go, encouraged us onto the city bikes (this was a fantastic way to spend the day), helped with bags etc. I have never felt so welcome in a hotel - it felt like we were old friends. It really was fantastic and singles this hotel out from the rest. Rooms was Paris small but absolutely fine. The shower was good, the breakfast was excellent (and included in the price) with a choice of hot food if you wish. All in all I'd go back. The staff were so helpful it made a city I love anyway even better. A truly refreshing experience and a standard of friendly service others would do well to emulate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierslofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights (11-14th Nov) and absolutely loved it. The staff here are so kind, warm and friendly that we had a lump in our throat when it was time to go especially after hearing Laure's kind words about us. The hotel itself is coolly designed and decorated and really comfortable. The breakfast is very good and there is a free mini-bar, free Wi-Fi, free safe, free calls to international landlines and a very handy use of an iPad during your stay. The Jacques Bonsergent metro station is very close and the Republique and Gare L'Est stations are only a little further away so it's a great base to get around Paris. If you are staying on a Sunday then it's well worth a visit to the nearby Le Cinquante bar for a good old sing-song. We also liked La Patage and the food at Chez Prune was spot on. Loved Paris and loved Le Citizen. We'll deffo be back.
Gillian and Michael

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2LoversEntwined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We chose Le Citizen because of its interesting and convenient location (walking distance from Gard du Nord) and its high ratings from other travellers. The decision was justified: staff were charming, friendly and helpful; the hotel is stylishly decorated, rooms are a little small but attractive and very comfortable. Two great bonuses were (a) the breakfast (which was delicious with a wide range of choices and top quality ingredients) and (b) the complimentary use of an IPad for local information, etc. The immediate quarter is very interesting with great shops and restaurants. We hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank TKandJRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Le Citizen Hotel in Paris. Excellent value for money (195 Euros per night when we stayed inclusive of local taxes, continental breakast, use of i-pad and wifi in your room, mini-bar in the room (soft drinks & water) and telephone calls to landlines). Rooms were compact but clean and comfortable.

John on reception was a great guy really helpful and friendly.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the metro (go straight over the bridge over the canal, turn left off the bridge then right down the first street and the metro line is right at the end jon bon sergent I think). The metro is easy to use and we went all around from here (Eiffel Tower, Champs-Elysees, Latin Quarter, Bastille etc).

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent three nights at le Citizen at the beginning of October in a standard "City Room" on the sixth floor. As so many others have pointed out, the views of the canal are great, the beds are extremely comfortable, the breakfasts both healthy and filling, and the front desk consistently positive and helpful (merci Laure, tu étais si charmante et patiente avec moi). I travelled solo this time but if I go back as a couple, I think I would spring for the larger Zen or City K or L suites. The standard room was quite snug. I didn't find noise to be an issue between 11 pm and 7 am but the street is busy at other times. Lots of good restaurants and bistros oin the area which mercifully seemed to have more Parisiens than tourists as clients. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: My sixth (top) floor City Room had a great view and may have been a little quieter since it was furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheffip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Residence Foch
#67 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#26 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#48 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#58 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,797 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#203 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing