We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People Make The Difference.......” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“People Make The Difference.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel in September 12 with mother who is 82 years old. After a very long trip from Aus, we arrived at 2200hrs and were welcomed like old friends by the night receptionist. Our room was all that could be wanted, two very comfortable beds, clean and functional bathroom and a great modern decor. The breakfast (included in the room rate) is one of the best "continental" offerings I have found - did I mention the freshly squeezed orange juice and pastry still warm from the bakery? Every one of the staff, reception, housekeeping, breakfast room went out of their way to make our stay our best experience in Paris, ever. Once again, the Tripadvisor reviews came up trumps!

Room Tip: City K rooms are spacious and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    132
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
127
416
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is a nice small modern boutique hotel, The standard room are small (a typical Paris standard) we got a K suite, the price are slightly high side. The room is clean. Our room is facing the Canal Saint Martin. It a kind of getaway from the super tourist attraction and a touch of Parisan experience.

Breakfast and min bar in our room are included.
For breakfast we request for eggs to be make the style we wanted with a decent selection of food. The morning staff always help us make drinks, orange juice and our coffee!

The Staff are super friendly and helpful! Always greet with a warm smile.
I will sure come back for this hotel!

Room Tip: The standard room are small (a typical Paris standard) we got a suite, the price are slightly high s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We (couple) stayed for a week in double room/zen suite. This is a small boutique style hotel. Our room was comfortable, clean and modern. It was light and airy and overlooked the Canal St. Martin turning bridge. Internet is free and works well, we were given the loan of an ipad (which was handy), mini bar items were included and replenished each day, and international phone calls were free. Breakfast was also included, which was quite good. There is a metro stop about 5 minutes walk away (1 metro line, but only a couple of stops from Republic and Gare Est from which you can connect to other trains), as well as supermarkets, chemists etc. The area is not touristy (could not see any other hotels nearby) and has a very authentic inner city trendy neighbourhood feel. There are many good bistrots surrounding the hotel, making it easy to try some great food and avoid tourist traps. The staff are very efficient and friendly, and good at making restaurant recommendations and reservations (which you will need to eat at the location restaurants). This hotel is very good value for Paris and would appeal to those seeking an authentic Parisian experience away from the touristy areas, but still within reach of the main sights. Would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonFinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff is wonderful! They really go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. The included hot breakfast and afternoon drinks and snacks add to the value of this hotel. The standard rooms are small, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was one of the best I have encountered while traveling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGLBPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

While the room is clean and comfortable with a soothing contemporary design, it's the staff that makes staying at Le Citizen such a pleasure. Every staff member there is dedicated to your enjoyment of the hotel and of Paris itself. The young lady that helped with our breakfast was especially kind and friendly, even smiling at my fractured French attempts (the entire staff speaks English). Rate includes breakfast, small snacks in the room, and an iPad for your stay. Location was great for us, as we were arriving from Gare du Nord, and leaving from Gare d'Est. Good communications prior to our stay, helped us book a local restaurant (Marie-Louise), and a friendly letter afterwards.

Room Tip: The standard room is a bit small (compared to US hotel rooms), we optioned for a City L room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Finding a decent Parisian hotel that doesn't the Earth is close to a recreational impossibility. Thankfully Le Citizen Hotel fills the void nicely.

The staff are perfectly welcoming and helpful. Upon arrival we were presented with a complementary iPad pre-loaded with loads of useful maps, guides and restaurant reviews. WiFi is free as are phone calls.

The rooms very in size and we had a small one. The layout is quite odd and there is no full size closet to hang anything. Thankfully my partner and I are thin because the bed was tiny. The snacks and drinks in the min-bar are free and there is a safe in the room. While the room was perfectly clean and well presented it was more suited to a single person than a couple. We had two small bags and they took up half the available floor space.

The main drawback of this and every other room is the street noise. All the rooms face the canal, which is a nice view, however the street out front is VERY busy especially on Friday and Saturday nights. Lots of motor scooters, trucks, and sirens. If you are, like me, a light sleeper, you best have some heavy-duty earplugs or you will never get any rest.

To get the most out of your stay at Le Citizen I would highly recommend booking a larger room on a higher floor.

That said, we were perfectly happy there. The breakfast was great, the location is just far enough away from central Paris not to be filled with tourist and still preserve a neighbourhood feel. Transport links are good and watching the boats go through the locks in front of the hotel is cool.

If you are arriving on Eurostar, take the 5 from Gare du Nord toward Place d'Italie and get off at Jacques Bonsergent (two stops)- the hotel is about a 7 minute walk from the Metro station.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leicamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

- Room is very clean.
- Location is ok. 10 minutes walk from metro/subway. Avoid taking taxi, because taxi drivers cannot read the map and always failed to find the hotel. Subway closes by 1am.
- If you arrive from the Gare du Nord (Main train station), take advantage of their private car ride for 15 Euro.
- VERY friendly and helpful staff, especially after experiencing how other French works.
- Sweet little breakfast area, great breakfast. You can request for eggs. The morning staff usually help you with breakfast and make drinks for you (including coffee, café latte, fresh orange juice).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#42 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#65 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#55 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Orbitz so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing