We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern small hotel in great location”
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #271 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We (couple) stayed for a week in double room/zen suite. This is a small boutique style hotel. Our room was comfortable, clean and modern. It was light and airy and overlooked the Canal St. Martin turning bridge. Internet is free and works well, we were given the loan of an ipad (which was handy), mini bar items were included and replenished each day, and international phone calls were free. Breakfast was also included, which was quite good. There is a metro stop about 5 minutes walk away (1 metro line, but only a couple of stops from Republic and Gare Est from which you can connect to other trains), as well as supermarkets, chemists etc. The area is not touristy (could not see any other hotels nearby) and has a very authentic inner city trendy neighbourhood feel. There are many good bistrots surrounding the hotel, making it easy to try some great food and avoid tourist traps. The staff are very efficient and friendly, and good at making restaurant recommendations and reservations (which you will need to eat at the location restaurants). This hotel is very good value for Paris and would appeal to those seeking an authentic Parisian experience away from the touristy areas, but still within reach of the main sights. Would stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonFinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
There are newer reviews for Le Citizen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 792 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff is wonderful! They really go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. The included hot breakfast and afternoon drinks and snacks add to the value of this hotel. The standard rooms are small, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was one of the best I have encountered while traveling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGLBPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

While the room is clean and comfortable with a soothing contemporary design, it's the staff that makes staying at Le Citizen such a pleasure. Every staff member there is dedicated to your enjoyment of the hotel and of Paris itself. The young lady that helped with our breakfast was especially kind and friendly, even smiling at my fractured French attempts (the entire staff speaks English). Rate includes breakfast, small snacks in the room, and an iPad for your stay. Location was great for us, as we were arriving from Gare du Nord, and leaving from Gare d'Est. Good communications prior to our stay, helped us book a local restaurant (Marie-Louise), and a friendly letter afterwards.

Room Tip: The standard room is a bit small (compared to US hotel rooms), we optioned for a City L room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Finding a decent Parisian hotel that doesn't the Earth is close to a recreational impossibility. Thankfully Le Citizen Hotel fills the void nicely.

The staff are perfectly welcoming and helpful. Upon arrival we were presented with a complementary iPad pre-loaded with loads of useful maps, guides and restaurant reviews. WiFi is free as are phone calls.

The rooms very in size and we had a small one. The layout is quite odd and there is no full size closet to hang anything. Thankfully my partner and I are thin because the bed was tiny. The snacks and drinks in the min-bar are free and there is a safe in the room. While the room was perfectly clean and well presented it was more suited to a single person than a couple. We had two small bags and they took up half the available floor space.

The main drawback of this and every other room is the street noise. All the rooms face the canal, which is a nice view, however the street out front is VERY busy especially on Friday and Saturday nights. Lots of motor scooters, trucks, and sirens. If you are, like me, a light sleeper, you best have some heavy-duty earplugs or you will never get any rest.

To get the most out of your stay at Le Citizen I would highly recommend booking a larger room on a higher floor.

That said, we were perfectly happy there. The breakfast was great, the location is just far enough away from central Paris not to be filled with tourist and still preserve a neighbourhood feel. Transport links are good and watching the boats go through the locks in front of the hotel is cool.

If you are arriving on Eurostar, take the 5 from Gare du Nord toward Place d'Italie and get off at Jacques Bonsergent (two stops)- the hotel is about a 7 minute walk from the Metro station.

Room Tip: Choose a larger room on a higher floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leicamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

- Room is very clean.
- Location is ok. 10 minutes walk from metro/subway. Avoid taking taxi, because taxi drivers cannot read the map and always failed to find the hotel. Subway closes by 1am.
- If you arrive from the Gare du Nord (Main train station), take advantage of their private car ride for 15 Euro.
- VERY friendly and helpful staff, especially after experiencing how other French works.
- Sweet little breakfast area, great breakfast. You can request for eggs. The morning staff usually help you with breakfast and make drinks for you (including coffee, café latte, fresh orange juice).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It was easy to see how this small and simple place rates a #4 of tout Paris hotels.
Their service is over the top wonderful. Every single staffer contributed to our feeling of well being, beginning with Eric who helped various times with my online reservations and changes.
We stayed, over a split-up period of 5 nights, in each of the 3 main room types. While all were comfortable, we preferred the middle one in price. It was just the right size. Like all rooms, it featured a FREE daily mini bar...some things in the little fridge and some on a shelf, including a daily treat baked by someone on staff. Madelines anyone? The included breakfast was beyond the usual French breakfast. Yes, the croissant and yogurt and tea/cafe. Also little sweet breads, eggs if you wanted as well as fresh squeezed orange juice. I adore the fruit salad. You could probably request other stuff though I can't imagine what that would be.
Your loaner ipad is fully loaded with tips, restaurant recommendations, Paris sites....
We encountered a few problems during the time of our stay (pickpocketing the worst), and not only got kind consoling from John, also plenty of advice on how to proceed. This kind of advice includes the staffer making the calls to facilitate your cancelling cards, finding the police station, anything you need.
There is a little happy hour as well.
Comfortable beds, eco theme and devotion to the arts.
AND you are directly over the edgy and hip Canal St. Martin.
If you do not need fancy, want reasonable rates, this is your Paris hotel. You will love it.

Room Tip: The smallest size room IS small and I am amazed I did not freak out. But it was fine. Book early a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

It's hard to find somewhere that accomodates a family of 5, with two teens and one 9yo. Le Citizen was very good for us, with the adjoining rooms and two bathrooms plus each room has a complimentary iPad (that gave us two iPads during our stay) everyone was happy.

Bedding, two children had to share a double and one single but the beds are comfortable and the rooms light and airy; opening out onto St Martin Canal which is a lively bustling area. Le Citizen does have a lift to service each floor - which not all places have so watch out!

Eateries in the area are more for over 18s and it was a challenge to find something 'kid friendly', however a solid breakfast each morning at Le Citizen with pastries, eggs (done 3 ways all you have to do is ask), freshly squeezed juice, muesli and youghurts plus coffee - it was actually a pleasant surprise and no one left breakfast unsatisfied. If your family likes pizza we suggest you go a few doors down to Canaletto Cafe, pizza is excellent the chef is Italian (service is slow but it isn't too busy) or there is a creperie across the bridge for both savory and sweet crepes.

Language is not a barrier at Le Citizen - all the customer facing staff speak English (and obviously French) and are helpful.

My only negative was there was a communication error where our transfers to the airport and a late check out was not done. Le Citizen did manage to get us a late checkout for one of the rooms, (thanks John.) This meant a trip in the rain to CDG with our luggage via rail, and Paris is not designed for this - there are only stairs not lifts at railways. So my advice is to make very sure that there is no chance of misunderstandings - write everything down again in a summary each and every time you contact to confirm what you have booked as multiple staff handle emails.

The area around Canal Saint Martin is lovely and it is a quick walk to the Metro to get into Paris sights. There are lots of little boutiques around for some shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyView2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#50 of 1,804 in Paris
785 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#32 of 1,804 in Paris
1,450 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#198 of 1,804 in Paris
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#549 of 1,804 in Paris
505 reviews
Les Halles
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
Handsome Hotel by Elegancia
#294 of 1,804 in Paris
183 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel du Ministere
Hotel du Ministere
#284 of 1,804 in Paris
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $167 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing