We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel for the value; cozy, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel for the value; cozy, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Traveled to Paris with my teenagers in summer of '11 and we loved this hotel. Very reasonable rates and the staff was very helpful. Enjoyed using the hotel-provided iPad to navigate around. Many enjoyable bistros, bars and cafes in the nearby neighborhoods (isn't that true anywhere in Paris?) and easily accessible on foot to the Metro. Will plan to stay here again if traveling on a budget.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FootballForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    132
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
127
416
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Le Citizen for two nights at the start of our trip to France. We ended up getting to Paris earlier than anticipated and planned on just dumping our stuff and starting our day exploring the city. When we arrived (you have to ring a little bell), the front desk clerk whisked us in and before we knew it had cups of coffee in our hands and a key to our room (yes, the room was READY at 8:00 in the morning...what a lovely surprise!). The rooms are small, but completely sufficient. My husband claims it was the best shower he has ever had during our travels. And I liked the little touch of getting an iPad, free wi-fi for our devices, and a lovely breakfast included in the rate of the room. We had a room that overlooked the Canal of St. Martin and enjoyed opening the windows and listening to the rhythms of the neighborhood. The area is filled with shops, cafes and bars and it's an easy walk to several Metro lines. It's hard to find a hotel that delivers on all fronts--service, value, location--and Le Citizen does.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My friend and I stayed in Le Citizen for two nights in mid-September.  We picked this because of all the good comments in trip advisor.  We booked a few months ago but Citizen K room type were already full as a result we stayed in Suite Zen which costs EUR40 more per night.  Before the stay, already very impressed by their responsiveness on various requests and they truly checked emails 24 hours a day.

Le Citizen is a very small boutique hotel with 12 rooms only, 2 on each floor.  When u first arrived, you immediately found the difference from normal hotel stay.  It really made u feel like a home stay.  When we first arrived at 7am, front desk already invited us to get breakfast in the small kitchen corner.  Their breakfast was amazing with freshly squeezed orange juice, home-made omlette, French toast, etc which are different from standard hotel offerings.  Have to say everything is fresh and yummy.

Since our room is suite, that is why it was spacious.  It was cozy again not like normal hotel cos you cannot find a door bell or a make-up room button.  The room has splendid view of the pretty canal however street noise is a problem.  So many freebies including breakfast, mini bars, snacks and usage of iPads during the stay.

As mentioned by others, the surrounding is a young hip area with locals rather than tourists.  It really gives you a chance to lead a local's life for couple of days.  This hotel is definitely recommended as overall the experience was quite unique and enjoyable.  The hotel staff just attended to every single request you may have and there was nothing you can criticize about their service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harmomimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at Le Citizen for three nights this summer and absolutely loved it. It's in a really cool neighbourhood along the Canal St. Martin, which has a young bohemian/artist vibe. At night time, all of the locals come out and sit along the river and drink wine and have picnics. So for the hotel itself, the staff was awesome, and made helpful recommendations for dinner, along with reservations. The room we stayed in was really small (as are most Paris hotel rooms), but it was really clean, with a great view (the hotel is situated directly across from the canal). At 6:00 pm the hotel serves aperitifs and has an inclusive breakfast which was really great. If you're really tall then you may take issue with the bed as it's definitely not made for tall people (it's short and not that wide). It's really close to the metro which is just a 2 minute walk away, and with Paris's easy to use subway system you can get anywhere you want to be pretty quickly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great job! It's a little hotel in a wonderful neighborhood, just in front of the Canal of St. Martin, quiet whit beautiful wiews. John's great with his kindness as well as the other members at the hotel. Small bedrooms but enough to a couple. Plenty of detalis. Recommend 100%.

Room Tip: We're in the City Room, Room 4, a basic one but enough and full charming, wonderful views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vadebacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

After traveling through four different cities in France we did not find a better or more friendly hotel staff (especially Pierre and Eric!!) than at Le Citizen in Paris. We stayed 3 nights in the beginning of our trip and 2 more nights at the end. We looked quite forward to coming back and seeing our friends at Le Citizen by the end of the trip! The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel includes many perks like a free stocked mini bar, free phone service to call internationally or locally, an iPad with every room, a complimentary happy hour every night, and an amazing included breakfast. Every morning we came downstairs to homemade yogurt, fresh delivered bread and croissants, 4 or 5 delicious homemade jams, fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, etc. Pierre made us the best coffee– and never failed to refill our mugs. The location is great– it is in an up and coming area of Paris with mostly locals in open air restaurants and bars or sitting by the canal. There is a GREAT bakery only several blocks away from the hotel called Du Pain et Des Idees where we stopped in every morning to buy lunch for the day. We even stocked up for our plane ride home! The hotel is further away from many tourist attractions, but if you spend all day by the sights it is nice to come back to a less touristy area for amazing meals at local restaurants [which the hotel staff is more than accommodating in helping to make reservations] and a real neighborhood feel. If we ever go back to Paris, we will definitely come back to Le Citizen, especially because of the exceptional service.
We miss you all!
Carol & Alison

Room Tip: Higher floors are better for light sleepers– the canal can be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

For accommodation well within Zone 1 of the Parisian Metro, Le Citizen is a standout. Probably not as convenient as some other places nearer to a metro station, once you learn the numbered lines (in Paris you are never really more than 500m from a metro station), this place and it's staff is top class both in quality and service.

On the shores of the man-made Saint Martin's Canal, the street of Quai de Jemmapes can be a busy at times (it's Paris) but Le Citizen has prepared you with good restaurants around it, 24 hour reception and ear plugs if needed (though during the week it was hardly necessary). The rooms and reception space are small (it is boutique) but there is space to store luggage (we managed with 65L and 80L backpacks) and the comfort of the room and sleep quality more than makes up for the limited space.

Pierre and, as we understood it, at least one other person are at reception 24 hours a day. We encountered Pierre the most whilst we were staying there and he has got to be one of the standout staff we've encountered at accommodations throughout a year of European travel. He was courteous, spoke English well and was helpful with the inquiries we had about Paris.

The breakfast spread is small but done well and healthy and Pierre is kind enough to also cook you up some eggs if you ask him to. The home-made natural yoghurt is delicious and the jams and breads are also very tasty (according to the hubby).

Overall, for a place that includes all the amenities upfront in the room price, Le Citizen is one of the most pleasant stays we've had in Europe and would book with them again in a heartbeat the next time we visit the City of Lights. Thank you Pierre and Le Citizen.

Included in price of room (as of 30 Aug 2012): International land-line calls to certain countries (to Australia is free at least), the minibar and WiFi internet.

Traveler Tip: For Coeliacs the only gluten-free bakery in Paris is just a 5 min walk down the road and is called 'Helmut Newcake' @ 36 rue Bichat open from Wed-Sat 12:00 - 20:00 & Sun 10:00 - 18:00 (if you are traveling in August-September, they do close for 2-3 weeks). For other food intolerances, there is a bio supermarket called 'Nauturalia' across the canal on rue Beaurepaire heading towards 'Republique' metro station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaisyHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#27 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#42 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#65 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residence Foch
#55 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#190 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,795 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing