We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, convenient, and lovely hotel - we hope to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #179 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
1 review
“Friendly, convenient, and lovely hotel - we hope to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Le Citizen. The rooms are well-appointed, the beds comfortable, the hotel very clean, and the staff exceptional. I hesitated to write this review, only because I fear that once Le Citizen becomes well-known, it will be hard to get a reservation! However, I could not fail to give Le Citizen its due. A hotel that's modern and charming. An unusual combination!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    134
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
129
420
57
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We chose this area of Paris to get away from the high concentration of tourists in the more popular spots, and we are sooooo glad we did. From the window of our Zen suite, we were able to watch the canal boats go by, the locals rushing home with baguettes in hand, and the young party goers hanging out - very entertaining. I agree with all the positive points in previous reviews so no need to repeat here.

Do not miss walking along the canal and sampling the local restaurants.
We only stay in boutique hotels and this one, by far, is our favourite - it's all in the details and we appreciate every one of them here.

It is not quiet on weekends due to street noise so I recommend ear plugs. The bed is so comfortable anyway no-one should have trouble sleeping. We did encounter the local street people who camp out in front sometimes, and the "dirt" that some reviewers have mentioned - but this is Paris, you can't avoid drunks, litter, doggy doo, or graffiti.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you very much for you honest comment. We are glad that you were able to discover our up and coming neighborhood with all of the great bars and restaurants around. Next time you come, be sure to get in touch with our concierge team to discover our favorite places in the neighborhood and in Paris, we can even help make reservations! As you mention, the hotel is right on the canal and so maybe sometimes a bit noisy, especially during the summer, but please know that we have ear plugs available for our guests upon request. While this is a gentrifying neighborhood, Paris is a very big city and as in all big cities, as you mentioned, there are unfortunately homeless people, however we have never been bothered or had any problems with them. Thanks again for your comment and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were travelling to Berlin via London and stayed here one night as a base close to both stations, and near to Le Marais area. Service and welcome excellent as was loan of iPad, fittings and decor good quality, bathroom high standard but compact. Room a little on the small side. Great area, locals congregate along the canal in Summer, lots of bars and restaurants which are more authentic than on the tourist trail nearer to the centre. Interesting shops and markets close by, and easy walk to the galleries and museums in Le Marais quarter.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for your nice review. You were likely in a City room that we have created for those of our guests who intend to spend most of their day outside of the hotel, but I hope you will experience next time our Zen suite or junior suite, which are much more spacious. Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east hampton, ny
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The positive aspects of Le Citizen outweigh the negatives. We stayed 3 nights. On arrival were upgraded to a Zen suite. Not large, but beautifully designed with an Asian feel, scrupulously clean, and with a large bed-with-a-view that was extremely comfortable. The location directly on the Canal St. Martin is scenic, interesting, and removed from the tourist hubbub. That said, the neighborhood is a bit scruffy (tho to New Yorkers this is a positive, similar to the East Village), and the main attracttions of Paris are a bit far away. There is a sense of an area being colonized by a vibrant, young population. With no trouble at all we found bars and restaurants that not only rivaled those on the left bank, but were wonderfully welcoming, friendly, and conversant in English even tho they were in no way touristy. We had some input on these finds from hotel personnel, but found the La Fourchette web site most helpful.

As the hotel has only 12 rooms, there is no need for extensive staff, but it is manned 24 hours/day. Everyone was more than kind, and anxious to help with directions, suggestions, re-charges of the house supplied ipad, and service of a lovely simple breakfast complete with homemdade preserves. Sophie, the owner, of whom I've read in other reviews was apparently not present, but she left the property in good hands. They even arranged for a lovely lunch of several cheeses, ham, cornichons, fruit, bread and wine to be in our suite when we checked in, after my sons called from the states to request that for my wife's birthday.

All in all, a hotel that combines unique design and furnishings with exceptional service and the chance to experience the Canal St. Martin area of Paris.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trigger18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

Imagine the result when you enter into a new hotel with modern decoration , high tech service (all info on a personal IPad for each room) and only 12 rooms, personalized service and huge room just in front of one of the most romantic place in Paris. We really appreciated to find this special hotel, the best one we have ever tested in more than 20 trips in Paris, especially for a very attractive price even for the suites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mde14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

To be perfectly honest, if I was going to identify where I think Le Citizen's true niche lies, I'd say it actually makes an ideal business hotel than anything... having said that my wife and I loved it regardless and will definitely be back.

There are several little things that the hotel does which really made it stand out to my mind...

- The staff were very good in terms of their general service and friendliness (Pierre was exceptional).
- The staff provided excellent advice about local places to eat, which considering my wife and I are foodies, was very important. Also importantly, they were honest about comparing their own food options to surrounding ones, even if it meant that they might not get our custom downstairs as regularly as they may have done if they plugged their own eatery to us more aggressively.
- The FREE wireless is something which can be rare in European hotels. Here it's not just free "in the lobby", it's in the rooms as well.
- The complimentary iPad on request? Good move. Not only does it provide an extra service for the customer, it allows a great opportunity to flog partner's goods and services via Apps, allow referential trade etc. Good extra touch in terms of service provided to guests, but also a very canny marketing/business move as well.
- Free calls to landlines anywhere in the world. These guys are obviously utilising VoIP. Really surprised more hotels don't do this.

In regards to the Rooms...

- The rooms are small, but they are very clean, well maintained, and the IKEA style furnishings make for a stylish (if somewhat unorthodox) decor that is comfortable if it requires an allowance for something a bit different from the usual.

- The bathrooms are again something a bit different. Drainage of water due to the bathroom design is something that, to be honest, may bother other guests, although it certainly didn't bother us. The requirement to leave linen on the floor if it requires changing was another small difference, but this was clearly communicated by the staff.

- I've read a review saying the bed was small? We actually found the bed to be comfortable, large enough for both my wife and myself (My wife is a small/medium framed woman by Western Standards... I'm not a small guy by anyone's :) )

- I'd suggest that someone unused to urban sounds may be disturbed at night if they sleep with the windows open. It was the tail end of winter, so we had the windows closed at night, and slept quite peacefully...

- The decor seems to suggest an emphasis on style and modernity rather than traditional luxury/comfort. This means the rooms may not be to your taste, so bear this in mind. Having said that, we were never uncomfortable.

- My wife does not drink tap water as a rule, so the filtered water which was replenished daily allowed us to keep out water bottles topped up whilst out and about which was nice. I didn't care for the mineral water provided, but this is a more of a personal taste thing on my part as I'm not into Mineral water - nothing to do with the hotel there...

Overall a very pleasant if simple hotel.... as I said one gets the sense of it having a niche more as a business hotel than a traditional couples or leisure hotel, but the friendliness of the staff, good location well covered by the Metro network, nearby cafes, restaurants and patisseries, and some of the little extras they provide make it a good choice for a leisure type hotel regardless... especially given some of the horror stories floating around about Parisian hotels not being worth the money.

We paid a bit extra on this hotel compared to some of the other places we stayed at in Europe, but were not disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si_Botak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for the thorough review, I am sure it is very helpful for people who are looking into our hotel. We are pleased that you had such a nice stay with your wife. All your comments have helped a lot to improve our services. I believe you must have been in our the room which can accommodate a handicapped person. The shower in this room was designed to accommodate a wheel chair and after your comment and others we are looking into ways to improve the drainage without compromising a wheelchair access. Next time though, we hope you will try our Zen suite to experience something different! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

:-) The most friendly staff we have ever met.
:-)The quality of the (simple) breakfast is fantastic (home made marmelade, the best bread of paris, excellent tea .. °
:-( rooms are tiny

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanduyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Residence Foch
#67 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#25 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#47 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#57 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#9 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#189 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing