We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***********”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Citizen Hotel
Ranked #178 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“***********”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

:-) The most friendly staff we have ever met.
:-)The quality of the (simple) breakfast is fantastic (home made marmelade, the best bread of paris, excellent tea .. °
:-( rooms are tiny

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanduyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    134
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
129
420
57
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My wife, adult daughter and I spent three nights in one of the Zen Suites. Very modern, IKEA-styled furnishings. Extremely comfortable bed and bedding. Quiet and effective AC, along with windows that open wide, allowed for fresh air during the day and sound insulation at night. Bathroom very nicely appointed, if a bit small (but not so for Paris), with a great waterfall showerhead. As others have commented, Le Citizen is located in what is still a transitional neighborhood, with few tourists and places catering to them. There was a resident homeless man who habituated the curb right below our window, cursing strangers and being visited by neighborhood pals. My daughter found him intriguing and amusing (from a distance), while I found him annoying. This is not the Rue Cler but a (lower) middle class Paris neighborhood, which is a bit out of the way. That said, the Gare de l'Est is an easy 10 minute walk and the closest single line Metro station about the same. We had breakfast one AM at the hotel, and it was very nice at 12.5 Euros each. The owners and other hotel staff are friendly and helpful. If it were located in the 7th or 8th, it would command a much higher nightly rate.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRV_1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I came for the high design (which did not disappoint), but the surprise was the very friendly welcome. Coffee and conversation were freely offered whenever I went past the reception desk. A loaded iPad, complete with email access, local restaurant recommendations, sights, and maps, was handed to me when I checked in. Frequenters of hip high-design establishments in London, New York, and LA will recognize the concept--and the neighborhood. Enjoying a cup of morning coffee in the cozy comfort of my yoga alcove, I was able to observe the homeless person who had spent the rainy night in a sleeping bag along the Canal St. Martin, just outside my windows, as he urinated on the sidewalk while the hip locals walked nonchalantly by. Very now, very far from the tourist havens of the Rive Gauche. At $240 a night, not everyone will think the distance is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMoss_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Overall this hotel really delivers, a warm and inviting stay. We hope to return again soon.

Pros
Big modern room by Parisian standards
Newly renovated - small/boutique
Very comfortable beds
Ipad available for every room - also free wi fi for other devices
Good location - near to Republique Metro
Helpful friendly staff

Cons
Area is still quite mixed so theres a few homeless people hanging around near to the hotel which we heard one of the nights
Shower is modern but it sprays water all over the floor (This really was a minor concern all in all though)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Excellent location, friendly staff, beautiful decor. For a weekend getaway you can't beat the price and the location. The rooms are large and well furnished.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amato11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Le Citzen staff made us very welcome from the moment we arrived, there was good conversation, local recommendations and always there if we had any questions. Usually I miss my own bed and shower whilst I'm staying in a hotel but this was treat. We stayed in the Zen Suite and the rain shower was heavenly, better still the super king size bed like we have at home but was even more comfortable, then to be enveloped in big soft feather duvet.... I'd stay there again. They have iPads in the rooms, this was vey handy to look up info for our day ahead, excellent idea. Close to the metro it made dashing around Paris very easy.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 55
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2011

For the final night of a 2-week dream holiday, we looked for a fresh, new hotel experience in Paris, and we found it at Le Citizen. Contemporary interior design was very much to our taste, as was the interesting, lively surrounding community of Canal St Martin. The reception staff were very helpful, knowledgeable, and likeable. Our room was small, but this was no surprise--it was described accurately on the website. Attention to detail, quality components, and creative use of space made the most of the limited area. We loved our room, our (temporary) IPad, our breakfast, and the nearby restaurant recommended and booked by the reception staff. We didn't want to leave, and we hope to return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulot_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Residence Foch
#58 of 1,798 in Paris
2,200 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel 34B - Astotel
Hotel 34B - Astotel
#24 of 1,798 in Paris
1,113 reviews
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#44 of 1,798 in Paris
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Residence Henri 4
Hotel Residence Henri 4
#68 of 1,798 in Paris
994 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#8 of 1,798 in Paris
875 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Relais Bosquet Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Property: Le Citizen Hotel
Address: 96 quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing