We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint Germain des Pres Quarter

Saint Germain des Pres Quarter
Place St-Germain-des-Pres, 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$55*
and up
Paris Saint-Germain Quartier Polaroid Photo Tour
Ranked #21 of 987 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this area. I stopped into Les 2 Magots Brasserie for a late afternoon glass of wine and people watch. Highly recommend it! Great shops, and fun restaurants.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PEH14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,170
    1,470
    224
    36
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
634 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“A wonderful walk at any time of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This area is a wonderful walk to experience everyday life in Paris. It´s true… it´s full of tourists like myself, but this is is real life in Paris. A walk during the day is nice and at night, with the city illuminated, is precious.

The area I´m talking about is the 5.o and 6.o arrondissements. There are plenty of department stores and alternative shops (the up scale shops are in other area), very good not expensive restaurants and brasseries (my favorites are: Brasserie Balzar, Petit Pontoise and Che Fernand restaurants), some boutique of just small and cosy hotels (try the hotel Des Grands Hommes or the La Sourbonne boutique hotel). I think that this area is what is considered the Latin neighborhood, "Quartier Latin". It has also the Luxembourg gardens, the university La Sorbone buildings, the Patheon, the Middle Age Museum, the Notre Dame church, to mention some of the interesting places to visit.

It´s my husband and my favorite area in Paris. We try a different hotel every time we visit in order to choose the best spots.

On Saturdays there is a small precious street market that sells vegetables, cheese, bread, foie gras and other foods, as well as incredible African masks. We never miss it when visiting the city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
366 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Love this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We love to go to this area every time we are in Paris. All of the famous designer shops along the Boulevard. Great place for people watching.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bocagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This quartier in the 6º arrondissement is the place to be! With its countless cafés, brasseries, boulangeries/pâtisseries and boutiques, there are so many wonderful options. The ambiance is upbeat and fun. It is also close to so many historical buildings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mmelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I loved St Germain. So beautiful. There is lots of good shopping in both stores and on the street. There are lots of good restaurants around too. Definitely a place to go in Paris.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cfarrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint Germain des Pres Quarter also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Saint Germain des Pres Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing