We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:45 AM - 12:15 PM, 2:00 PM - 7:45 PM
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Eglise Saint-Etienne-du-Mont de Paris
from $86.59
More Info
from $86.59
More Info
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveler rating
527
289
33
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
527
289
33
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rood screen beautiful church old church gothic renaissance de paris pantheon shrine nave architecture carved century stone neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 850 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2019

It is a beautiful structure. In the heat, it was fairly comfortable but in late afternoon might be too warm for some.

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank pjames862016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Walking down the Rue Clovis on our way to visit the Pantheon, we passed by the 15th century church of Saint-Étienne-du-Mont and the shrine of Paris' patron saint, "Saint-Genevieve". This is a stunning building both inside and out, consisting of many different architectural styles from Gothic, renaissance, to Baroque. The beautiful Bell tower was designed by architect Stephen Viguie in 1494, followed by the bell casting in 1500. Besides the shrine of Saint Genevieve whose crypt the original church was built over in the 6th century. The Church ground also holds the tombs of Jean-Paul Marat, scientist and physician, Mathematician Blaise Pascal, and Dramatist Jean Racine. If the church its open go in and spend some time checking out the intricate wood work and stained-glass windows.

TIP: Even though its free to enter it is not always open so call the church at 33 1 43 54

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

It's FREE and very worth entering. Seriously. It's so beautiful inside! There are two mini spiral staircases (for show not for you to climb) and I think this church was featured in a movie or something and yes so please enter if you have the time, it's just right beside the Pantheon!

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank carrrrousel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2019

After a concert at Saint Ephram and time to spare in the midst of Paris' Music Festival, we wandered into this church where a local choir of young were singing. Must have been St. Genevieve's Day because the church visitors were asked to place votive candles near the altar. It felt good to see so many young adults in this setting.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank ArtsyGalBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I were in Paris for a few days and since I went to Saint Genevieve High School in Panorama City, CA we went to Saint-Étienne-du-Mont which is the church containing the Shrine of Saint Genevieve. She was Born in Nanterre, France in the 5th century. The original church was built in the 6th century on top of her crypt. The church has been expanded many times and also contains the tombs of Mathematician Blaise Pascal and Dramatist Jean Racine. Jean-Paul Marat, political theorist, scientist and physician is buried in the church's cemetery. The Pantheon was built in her honor but eventually became the secular mausoleum it is today. This is a very beautiful church with gorgeous and interesting side Altars. I recommend a 1 - 2 hour visit and it’s right next to the Pantheon another place I recommend!

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank TimDore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews