We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room and location but piling vibrations during day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Ranked #63 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Nice room and location but piling vibrations during day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Pros
(1) Stayed in suite which was nicely decorated, had 2 Mac computers that doubled as TVs and a nespresso machine.
(2) Quiet at night.
(3) Great neighbourhood with cute little shops and restautants. Near the department store Bon Mache. Great Sunday market nearby
(4) Near a metro station
(5) Staff are friendly

Cons
(1) There is piling next door from 8 or 9 am to 5pm on weekdays. You can feel the vibrations. There can be loud drilling noise too. Don't stay here if you need the room to be quiet from 8am to 5pm. To be fair, the hotel does warn you about the noise when you book it.
(2) Not that cheap considering the noise.
(3) Not near the common tourist sights

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    172
    38
    21
    3
See reviews for
76
515
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is by far one of the best overall hotel experiences I've ever had. My wife and I stayed for a few days just recently and we were blown away by the attention to detail, hospitality and excellent vibe. It's situated in a beautiful neighborhood (think SoHo NYC) that's away from the touristy traps and filled with little pastry shops and boutiques. The front desk staff rivals the best in the world in terms of hospitality and care...and their knowledge of the area and wider Paris was perfect. We also took advantage of the spa, which, also, was wonderful.

If you stay, visit Martine's just down the street...a little cafe that features one of the most wonderful proprietors in Paris (Martine). She put together day's itinerary for us that was spot on for our style.

I'm extremely critical and picky...and La Belle Juliette just hit it out of the park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I booked La Belle Juliette based on the reviews of others here on Tripadvisor as I was in Paris on business.

The hotel is situated near (10 minute walk) a number of Metro stations in an interesting street - but certainly not a main road.
It's not the most fashionable of locations, but I rather liked the area.

Sadly when I stayed, there was significant renovation going on behind and to the side of the hotel of a neighbouring property. Noise levels were very high. To be fair the hotel had written prior to my stay to advise of this.But it was too late to change my plans. Before staying, I'd recommend giving it a while until the works have completed.

Having said that my room on the third floor was well designed but somewhat small I thought for the price £220 ish. It had an en suite shower and seperate toilet.

I loved the Apple TV / Computer!.

For me the hotel ticked all the boxes of hospitality with young, well trained and charming staff.

I didnt get a chance to use the spa - so can't comment.

I would definately stay again, and would recommend others, but will check to make sure the renovations nexxt door have completed before doing so.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

During a recent stay in Paris, I spent three nights at the Villa Madame and two nights at the Juliette. I was reluctant to book at the Juliette because the location is a far walk from the better neighborhoods of Paris (and many blocks from the nearest Metro). But the reviews were so wonderful that I couldn't resist checking it out for myself. After two nights, I'm totally confused by these reviews. There are so, so many better options for hotels in Paris.

Location: I don't like staying the "tourist" center of any major city, but I do like staying in a charming neighborhood with cafes, great shops, etc., etc. While Juliette isn't too far from these types of streets and neighborhoods, there are too many other hotels in Paris located much, much closer. The location isn't really convenient to anything and it's on the outskirts of the 6th arr and the only attraction in walking distance is the metro stations. When you're in Paris, you walk A TON. Find a hotel that's close to something so you don't dread getting back to your room.

Rooms: Tiny, tiny, tiny, tiny. Yes, they are cute and stylish, but this was one of the smallest 4-star rooms I've ever stayed in (in Paris). I booked a superior room and was shocked by the size. I asked to see a deluxe, but it wasn't much bigger and costs $100 more. For the same price, you can find bigger rooms in better locations. Bottom line.

Service: Everyone was very friendly (difficult to find in Paris) with just one exception. Housekeeping was extremely late (4pm?) both days, but they did their best to finish the rooms when I complained.

Spa: Great massage, but it took a lot of coordinating to get the steam room heated/turned on. You must pre-arrange with the front desk 30 minutes before your visit and it doesn't always turn on when you arrive.

I've stayed in nine different hotels in Paris over the last six years and think all of them are superior to the the La Belle Juliette. Maybe my TA expectations were just too high.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, book the biggest room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KerriJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebourquin, Directeur général at Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments and opinions on La Belle Juliette. We were very sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations.
We were very surprised to hear, however, that you found our hotel to be poorly situation with respect to transport. Indeed, La Belle Juliette is a two-minute walk from its closet metro, and a five minute walk from others. From there it is only a short metro ride to many of the city’s major attractions. Our street, rue du Cherche Midi is noted by Parisians for its excellent shopping boutiques and restaurants, and has a more authentic Parisian feel than other, more touristic, neighborhoods. Most of our clients are delighted to have the opportunity to experience Paris like a Parisian ; we were saddend by the fact that you did not find it to your liking.
We read your remarks about the size of the room, and we understand that you felt the were too small. However, we would just like to mention that our room sizes are clearly indicated on our website and on all of our reservation documents.
We were delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy a treatment at our Spa. With respect to the Hammam/Steam Room, for reasons of security and for respect for the environment, we only turn it on, on demand. As such, it is necessary to wait 20 minutes before the Hammam reaches its ideal temperature. This is why we ask our clients to let us know 20 minutes in advance of usage. This is usually done during the check-in procedure, but seems that you were not informed. We have taken action to make sure that all of our receptionists will mention this fact from now on.
Again, we would like to express our sincere thanks for your comments on La Belle Juliette. We take every comment quite seriously, as they help us to improve the quality of our service.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to La Belle Juliette on your next stay in Paris.

Eric BOURQUIN
Général Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I think everything has already been said prior reviews but just add on….this hotel was wonderful. It is a smaller hotel, which is what we were looking for. While the rooms were small (which we knew going into Paris), the space was well used. And, we were hardly in the room so it was really not an issue. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. I have to say the beds are among the most comfortable I have ever had in any hotel.

The location was wonderful. A more residential/quiet area which was nice for what we were looking for (it's not right by any of the major attractions so doesn't have the touristy feel to it). The Metro station was nearby and walking to attractions from here was also easy.

The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. I would certainly consider staying here again if I am fortunate to get back to Paris any time soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisconsinBadgerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My partner and I arrived into Paris only to be disappointed with the accommodation we had booked. With plans to celebrate our 20th anniversary with a week in Paris we needed to take quick action...... So it was straight onto Tripadvisor for an alternative ( not easy at this time of the year) We found it here at the Hotel La Belle Juliette. The person on the end of the phone (Dany) was nothing short of amazing, he sorted out a weeks booking, as well as private car transfer from where we were to the hotel all within less than a few minutes. On arrival at the hotel he offered us the most sincere welcome we have ever enjoyed arriving into Paris. What a positive attitude and all our problems dissolved away. Oh to the hotel. It's furnished beautifully! well located, modern, clean and fitting of a weeks celebration in Paris- and of course Dany!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UpfrontAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had the most lovely weekend staying at this hotel. The room was small but this is Paris and the quality of the furniture, furnishings and extras more than made up for this. They had thought of everything. The shower is fantastic.Lovely toiletries, complementary bathrobes and slippers and comfortable bed. WiFi in the hotel is free.The staff are lovely and all speak impeccable English and cannot do enough to help. I asked if they had soya milk at breakfast and someone went out to get some - impressive. By the way have breakfast. The room where it is served is lovely and the quality is excellent. Only reason we did not give a 5 for sleep as we had a fire alarm at 6.30am. The use of a hairdryer in another room tripped the alarm. Lots to do in the area being near St Germains and Montparnasse. Some nice restaurants in the area. We tried Lancetta on the basis of an earlier recommendation and endorse that recommendation. All in all we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADLP05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#91 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#54 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#104 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#115 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#58 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,798 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette

Property: Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Address: 92 rue du Cherche Midi, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Juliette. The discreet luxury of a four-star hotel and the charm of an address that visitors and Parisians will give to their most demanding, cultured friends. In the pure Parisian tradition of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the hotel is guided by a modern vision of romanticism and urban conviviality. Exceptional service with particular attention to hospitality, guests' well-being, calm and tranquility... All in the heart of bustling Saint Germain. Corinne and Pascal Moncelli, the owners of the hotel, have decided to breathe new life into an establishment that had been left to abandon on the rue du Cherche-Midi by telling the story - or rather stories - of a famous historical personality. This star of her time lived in the 19th century, frequented all the intellectuals and politicians of the era, was blessed with exceptional beauty, had an extraordinary love life and - above all - excelled in the art of receiving. The popular literary salon that she organised from the tender age of 15 attracted the greatest minds of the time and continued until her death, age 72! It is Juliette Recamier - famously known as La Belle Juliette - who gives her name to this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing