We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Learn About Music

You can learn about music styles and instruments here at this modern museum at the outer edge of... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Thomas V
,
Oakland, California
One of the best

We have been to a few other music museums, but this is one of the best. There is a vast collection... read more

Reviewed October 26, 2019
Jip79
,
Doha, Qatar
Read all 304 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Paris
from $21.29
More Info
from $41.52
More Info
from $30.34
More Info
from $106.47
More Info
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
199
82
18
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
199
82
18
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 304 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2017

Most beautiful audio tour ever in a museum! Lots of beautiful instruments from everywhere and you can hear them during the audio tour. Anyone who sometimes plays music himself will find this museum interesting and wonderful.

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Johanhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017 via mobile

Offers a huge collection of musical instruments. Leads you through the history of both western, asian and african musical instruments.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank valdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017 via mobile

The museum is an excellent experience with hundreds if not thousands of instruments. A lot of information and audio examples is availble through the audio guide. For kids there are "red numbers" with adjusted content. The part I liked most was the live music demonstration. In my case it was with the flutist Florence Jacquemart. She explained various - never seen before - antique instruments and explained the early music. Last but not least there is a fantasic shop with many CDs and books at the end of your visit. Also here I found it amazing how France offers a rich set of interesting books for their children such as Raggae or Jazz explained with audio samples. Of course it would have been great to able to attend a concert in the concert hall but I didn't have tickets booked in advance.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Seereel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

Being a musician, I really wanted to see this museum, so I talked my wife into making the trek over here and SHE had a great time. I did as well, but I think she was pleasantly surprised as it is kind of out of the way in a not very visited part of Paris by tourists. It's located in the 19th arrondissement. But they have a fantastic display of stringed instruments, very ornate pianos, and they usually have a musician giving a short concert on one of the old instruments. I was upstairs looking at a display and I heard someone playing an old violin and I literally started tearing up because it was so beautiful, the sound in there is really nice. Lots of interactive displays so you can hear the old instruments and it's a very peaceful and quiet setting. They give you headphones so you're not disturbing everyone else's peace and quiet. It is definitely worth the trek to see this display. This is a very local neighborhood with lots of families and a very large park nearby with the river running alongside, so it's a good place to explore. Really beautiful museum, super friendly people working here, and they also have a very nice CD/record store with some very obscure selections. I was able to find some foreign CDs that I couldn't find in the States, so it was an added bonus for me. :-)

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank hankypanky505
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

Visited this museum on a Saturday and was really impressed with the collection of instruments from richly decorated clavichords to an immense variety and age of wind, string & percussion instruments, also including musical instruments from other cultures.

There is also likely to be a free performance from accomplished musicians. The afternoon I was there, there was a cosy recital for just a handful of us from Dominique Carré, an amazing manouche jazz guitarist. You can also asks questions of the performer in the session. Wonderful that this is included in the cost of your entry ticket. The price of entry is also extremely reasonable considerable the size of the collection and the museum.

Make sure you also take the headphone and commentary set in your preferred language before you go in (also no extra cost). The audio enriches your understanding and experience of what you are looking at and the musical examples really give you an accurate impression of what these instruments would've sounded like.

Definitely worth a visit when your in Paris!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews