We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dare you to find a better use of an audio tour.”

Musee de la Musique
Book In Advance
More Info
$156.48*
and up
The Paris Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60...
Ranked #143 of 1,132 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has nearly 1,000 different instruments on display, complete with audio commentary.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I dare you to find a better use of an audio tour.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The first saxophones created Adolph Sax, and aboriginal instrument created by termites, and a rare live performance of a Crystal Bachet. Every instrument comes alive in the audio tour provided by the museum. You can also buy a CD of the entire museum in English. This is my all time favorite museum. I believe that I've seen examples of instruments in the museum in the The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013). See if you can pick it out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    68
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most friendly museum to non-French visitors”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

With a rich collection of exhibits and excellent curation, this is one of the most impressive visits in my 7-day trip in Paris. The free English audio guide together with video descriptions of various instruments and artists are very attractive to both me and my 10 years-old son. It's not crowded and live performances are free for visitors. Highly recommended to families! Don't miss the big park nearby!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrsLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
272 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Very good option for music lovers or those who are looking for something different”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is not one of the key attractions in Paris, but still a very good one. The museum is very well presented. There are a variety of musical instruments (three floors) presented in chronological order. The audio guide allows you to hear what the instruments sound like. If you do not read french, then the audio guide is very important to have so you have some explanation of what you are seeing.

Unless you have an interest in music history, I would not recommend this for a first time visit to Paris as there are other attractions more unique to Paris. Nevertheless, it is a good option if you have been to Paris multiple times and are looking for something new to see. It is also a good indoor activity to get away from the crowds.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kat0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Uncrowded Museum”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved this museum. It was well organized and the artwork that accompanied some of the displays was a nice addition. The audio guide is a must even for French speakers because you can listen to beautiful samples of the instruments as you walk along and learn about them.

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great alternative to traditional tourist attractions”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

When I asked a French friend of mine what we should see while we were in Paris, he told me about the Musée de la Musique. We only spent a little over an hour but had a wonderful visit away from the crowds. If you have any interest in music or music instruments this is a must see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Musique also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Musee de la Musique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing