We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Paris Wine Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Google
Ways to Experience Paris Wine Day Tours
from $346.50
More Info
from $323.32
More Info
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveler rating
462
17
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
462
17
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goat cheese farm jean bernard french countryside loire valley french wine day trip wine making wine enthusiast champagne region cheese making pouilly fume cheese maker wine maker moet chandon tour guide dom perignon champagne tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 485 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2018

OK lets start out with the fact that my wife and I have spent the last 10 days in France and have taken a number of wine tours. We do like our wine. Generally the tours have a been very good, but the tour of the Loire with JB was outstanding in every possible way. No kidding! We went to two family owned vineyards and spent time with owners who took direct responsibility for the wine. They were both truly hands on and therefore knowledgable. In the first instance we spent a couple of hours just talking to the owner, tasting his wines, and learning more about the process of wine making and the impact of each micro climate and terroir. The second vintner had just finished harvesting a plot of grapes and was beginning the process of pressing. The owner is the 5th generation to lead the vineyard and was busy, but still took time to meet and greet us and give a access to the work going on behind the scenes. In both instances the wine was outstanding and offered at a very reasonable price. We also visited a cheese maker and were able to watch them making cheese, meet the goats, and, of course, sample the delicious cheeses they produced. JB grew up in the area and was "at home," which meant we had an experience that was unique. Each person we met greeted him with warmth and affection which extended to us. JB was not an outsider and therefore neither were we. JB's personal relationship with these men and women, his own deep knowledge of wine and viniculture, and his passion for wines of theLoire were central to this exceptional experience. JB was also very organized and professional. Prior to and during the tour JB's communication (and English skills) were excellent. He was a skilled driver and we traveled in a comfortable vehicle which made our trip relaxing. He made sure to include rest stops and was always attentive to our comfort. We had so much fun! We learned a lot about wine production, made new friends, and felt this was our best wine tour experiences, ever .

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winedaytours, Wine tour guide at Paris Wine Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Dear Greg,

Thanks you so much for this so nice review!!! You are really kind with me and Paris Wine Day Tours.
It had been a great pleasure to share this day with you.
Hope to see you another tinme.

Cheers,
JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic trip with a stop at a big name house, lunch at a smaller family owned estate and a coop. Richard was great and kept us all entertained and his knowledge was impeccable. Definitely a great day trip that would be few to do as a couple or group but was even fun alone.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

A great day spent in the Champagne region. A great itinerary and plenty of tasting during the day. JB is knowledgeable, friendly and made sure we had a great experience.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

We did two tours with Jean-Bernard (JB) on consecutive days. The first was the Wine Enthusiast Tour to the Loire-Valley (Sancerre) and Burgandy region. The other was the Champagne Enthusiast to the Reims and Epernay areas of the Champagne region.

I cannot recommend these trips more. I wish I could give more stars. Review the website for details of each of these tours. JB was fantastic. Funny, passionate and extremely knowledgeable and took lots of pictures for the group which he later forwarded to us. You can’t go wrong with either of these tours – worth every euro. If you want more details read on. I will also post some pictures.

So, starting with the logistics of getting to the bus for the start of the tour. JB gives great directions when you book. The tour starts a little bit out of central Paris (where we were staying) which is great because you don’t waste time in traffic getting out of central Paris. We would highly recommend you take the metro from wherever you are staying. It is so easy and costs about 1.5 euros each way. Some folks used Uber or taxis to get to the meeting place and end up being a little late due to traffic and it costs 10’s of euros.

For the Wine Enthusiast tour (our first day), JB drove a mini-van which was comfortable and actually created a good atmosphere for all of the tour guests.
We visited the Port Aubry cheese farm which like wine has its own “region” crottin de Chavignol. This was a really interesting bonus as we had no idea of what goes into making this famous and very tasty cheese. (Yes we sampled!)

Next we visited Domain Champeau, (Pouilly- Fume wine) in the village of Sancerre. This where JB taught us about the terroir that makes up the uniqueness of each French wine and why the French order wine by the region and not the grape varietal. We tasted 3 excellent wines grown in a different soils and areas (terroir) on the winery.

As part of the tour cost, we had a fantastic lunch at Cote des Monts Damnes, Loire village de Chavignol, Sancerre. This is a really lovely restaurant where we tasted a Sancerre but others tasted Chateaumeillant Red or Rosé & White from Domaine Bourgeois.

We visited two other wineries where we tasted a Sancerre white (from a flinty soil) at the House of Sancerre and 4 different wines (red & white) from Estate Domaine Champault et fils.

In all we tasted 9 wines. We toured the wineries but also JB gave us some time to explore the small beautifully picturesque villages we passed through. I’ll post some pictures.

On the second day, we met JB at the same location but this time he had a larger bus with a driver because there were more guests. It wasn’t a huge bus so there was still that personal contact with JB and the other guests.

We started in Reims visiting a fantastic cheese and wine shop Vins et Fromages du Boulingrin. JB and the shop owner once again explaining the making and maturing of the different cheeses we sampled. We moved on to the unbelievable Notre Dame Cathedral (not to be confused with the one in Paris) first built in about 491 AD. A true highlight! Google the history you’ll be amazed.

We visited the famous Fossier biscuit maker and tasted some samples. JB told us that these are best had dunked in Champagne! It was time for us to visit the Mumm Champagne wine house were we had a fantastic tour and tasted Champagne Brut (Cordon Rouge). The tour takes you through the entire process while walking through the world heritage tunnels hewn out of the chalk.

Included in the cost of the tour, we had a great lunch at the Boulingrin Art Deco Brasserie accompanied by a Brut 1er Cru, from the Besserat Champagne house and a red & white Coteaux du Languedoc – Petit Pont vintage 2015. This was a great social event where we got to know the other guests from around the world.
In Epernay we visited and toured Moët & Chandon where we sampled the Brut Imperial champagne. What an amazing tour this was! I thought even better than the Mumm tour.

A really pleasant surprise was the visit to local small champagne wine maker Joseph Desruets Champagne in the village of Hautvillers. A very unpretentious place where the son, who has taken over from his recently deceased father, poured us samples of their Desruets Estate, Blanc de Noir and Brut Rosé. Bought a bottle of the Brut Rosé here and had the son sign it.

This is the village where Dom Perignon is buried. We visited the church containing his grave. The history is just amazing.
A very moving moment happened at the end of the day when we visited and paid honor to the fallen WWI British and Common Wealth soldiers at the Marfaux 1st World War Cemetery.

So, there you have it - really packed days with lots of fun times but also a good education into French culture and wine and cheese making. Pick one or both and just do it. You won’t be disappointed.

Thanks JB! A great memorable trip. (P.S. The camera lady says HI!)

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

Everything you could want in a tour of the Champagne region!! I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone. It was a wonderful day and JB was the best host, not only showing us around but having you feel the history and the French way. The food and champagne were excellent❤️

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank tamwerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews