We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, but beware the pickpockets”

Basilica du Sacre-Coeur de Montmartre
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.26*
and up
Sacré-Coeur and Dome with Private Guide
Ranked #11 of 1,098 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Montmartre landmark, a 19th-century basilica built by the French government following the Franco-Prussian War, features a large medieval dome that provides excellent views of the city.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place, but beware the pickpockets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Basilica is a beautiful monument and filled with interesting architectural details, both on the inside and on the outside and, though not as beautiful as Notre-Dame, it’s well worth the visit. The view from Paris is also great.

But beware: there are lots and lots of pickpockets, both on the staircases and the entrance of the church. Be alert and keep your belongings close to you. You really don’t want to make things easier, because, from what I’ve heard from locals, this is a place with a very, very high number of unhappy incidents.

This are tips and advices I received from locals, and, though they sound a little bit exaggerated, believe me, they are true: try not to go alone, and don’t stop at the stairs for nothing – not for taking pictures, not to answer phone calls and not to tie your shoes. If anyone approaches you, reply, without even thinking, you’re in a hurry to take the metro (and do so in French if you can). Sometimes they physically try to stop you (they did that to me), but don’t stop, and don’t keep your guard down.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seelenwahnsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,083
    6,942
    1,546
    390
    290
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We arrived at the Basicilica and upon entering the church we heard the most beautiful sounds of the nun's chanting and singing. I think everyone that visits will have a different experience and hopefully find the same peace within those walls that I did. There are many areas within the Basicilica to light candles for your intentions. It is a must see in Paris.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ssina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful church with stunning views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited in the evening so too late to visit the dome or crypt. Entry to the Basilica - free but there is a charge to go up to the dome or into the crypts. After getting off the metro at Anvers, found you had to walk through and area of tacky souvenir shops to get to the foot of Sacre-Coeur. We found this area a little seedy, very crowded and felt a little uneasy after the many warnings of pickpockets. Once you battle through it and arrive at the steps of the Sacre-Coeur , WOW what a magnificent sight. We did chicken out of climbing all the steps up and used the funicular railway instead. (Poor feet already suffering from 2 days walking around Paris! ). If you buy the multi-day Paris Visite ticket for the metro you can use this on the funicular railway as well. Once at the top the views of Paris are superb. On entering the church a rather large and intimidating guard ensured nobody entered with a camera as no photos allowed! Luckily I had a bag large enough to put the camera in or we would have had to go in separately. I found this a little off putting as even in the Notre Dame Cathedral you were allowed to take photos (without a flash). Inside is very beautiful only spoilt by the souvenir coin making machines placed in several points around the church. Whilst I'm aware the church relies heavily on donations for its up keep, surely a small shop somewhere near the exit would be more appropriate. . Despite this, definitely a must see if you're in Paris.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sianhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I went here 33 years ago and lit a candle, I did the same thing again with my daughter and husband, just a beautiful Church a must see. Then a walk around Montmartre - this is the highlight of Paris to me - Paris is just so busy although there Metro is great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is one beautiful church, the property itself is stunning. The journey approaching it was a event in itself. Such a pretty area, great walking tour. Downfall, incredibly crowded, but that is expected in the summer. Free, donations welcome. I would definitely explore the area as it was a hilight. If walking or climbing steps is a issue, you will struggle with this church, can take a special trolley for a cost. We made this a full day, visit church and area, lunch. Tons of walking but a great day. Loved the town, found the I Love You wall, with words written in 400 languages, great vistas at certain points.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoseAng2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica du Sacre-Coeur de Montmartre also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Basilica du Sacre-Coeur de Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing