We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Style able to accomodate Americans”
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Vendome
Ranked #544 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Wow, what a great weekend in Paris in the Spring!
The hotel was great, the location, down the block from the Louvre, the Gardens Tuileries, The Opera, and of course Galleries Lafayette. This hotel is in the center of Paris. The staff was great, as one would expect of a world class hotel. Breakfast was a delight of flavors and textures with the room service continental breakfast.

The concierge printed out maps from my Google searches. They made great recommendations for restaurants that were within walking distance. I can't say enough about their ability to help me enjoy the weekend. I only speak English, that was Not an issue.

I wish other hotels would learn from the staff at this one.

The beds were turned down every night, the room was spotless. The public restaurant was a nice place to sit and rest for a few moments. They did not push drinks or require to buy a snack to relax in the public room/ restaurant bar.

These people helped make my trip to Paris fun enjoyable, and trouble free. I highly recommend them to anyone that wants to be in the center of Paris and enjoy the sights and flavors of a great city.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EyeGuy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 439 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2010

For the right bank, the location can't be beat. Just a few steps (but not in) from the gorgeous Place Vendome and The Ritz. Service was welcoming and efficient, a pleasure. The hotel and our room are old world in style and while we find it rather old fashioned - like your rich aunt would stay there - it is well done. The only flaw was that we faced the street (rue St. Honore) and could hear the late night partyers at the Hotel Costes bar/lounge coming and going. And the garbage trucks in the morning. You might ask for a room in the back if this is a concern. Staying at the Vendome is not an exciting or interesting experience, but rather a refined and comfortable place in a superb location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bebe38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We booked this via Eurostar and was very pleased with the hotel. The room at the very top of the hotel offered no view but the room was really lovely and spacious. The bathroom had a separate room for the toilet which is also a luxury you don't normally find on a city break.

Everything from the room door to the furnishes were very plush. The hotel staff were pleasant although we did not really speak to them as we know Paris so well, we don't need help. But we did hear them helping some Americans and they were polite, professional and helpful.

We did not take any meals at the hotel - preferring to find our favourite spots.

The hotel is in the smartest area of Paris and felt reassuringly safe.

I would recommend this hotel for couples, not somewhere I would want to take our daughter - just a romantic break for my husband and I!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leese25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Just returned from a 9 night stay at this Slh where we had 2 double deluxe rooms. I can't say enough good things about this lovely property. Location was perfect-on the beautiful Place Vendome in a posh area away from the tourist crowds and trinket shops of Rue Rivoli but you can still walk everywhere including the Louvre and the d'Orsay. There are great restaurants in the neighborhood and you can spend time at the Ritz if you would like just next door. Sunday brunch at the Ritz is something to savor. Continental breakfast was included and was fabulous in their beautiful restaurant. Lovely ,lovely hotel better located than Plaza Athenee which we also visited which is overpriced and overrated.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
4  Thank cannbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

This was a lovely small hotel (29 rooms) located right in at the Vendome, around the corner from the Ritz. The location was brilliant, right on Rue Saint-Honoré which has the most amazing shopping and close to Louvre and gardens. It was priced beautifully and the room was HUGE by Paris standards. I am a bit of 5 star girl when I travel and I loved this place. The bathroom was enormous, with lovely fluffy towels, robes, slippers and great big bath to soak in at the end of day walking around Paris.

The staff were always friendly, accommodating, and the hotel was spotless. It is a great option if you are a traveller not interesting staying at a large chain of hotels.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jigitsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had booked this hotel 6 months before we visited Paris, we contacted them directly for the best rate, which was miles better than any other offer out there.

We stayed 10 days.

The service is on the whole 1st class, yet does fall down at times. We had an exceptional price for a Double Deluxe Room; however we were upgraded to a Suite. Amazingly we weren’t told we had been and it was never mentioned, we just happened to notice that it said Suite on the door.

I thought this was nice as there wasn’t a big deal made of the upgrade. A nice touch.

As we were in Paris Christmas day, we went out for lunch and a walk around a near deserted Paris. When we came back to the hotel the room had been tidied – which we didn’t expect for Xmas day, and they had left some chocolates, a small note wishing us a Merry Xmas along with a small gift bag which contained a sample of perfume from one of the local perfume shops. This was a very nice touch.

The room was BIG, and when you consider Paris hotel rooms it was positively enormous! The room was lovely, nice towels, bathrobes, great big king bed, marble bathroom, a sitting area, desk area etc.

We had lunch on our first day in Paris in the hotel. Lovely food, however, expensive verging on the point where I almost asked if it was a joke. We also had dinner in the hotel one night. The price was fair, yet the food was delicious. It’s a nice cosy atmosphere and the dinner service is very attentive - unlike the lunch service, when it is considerably quieter.

The hotel is small, 25 or so rooms, so you are not bumping into other guests all the time. Being in the Vendome area it is ideally suited to the wonderful high end shopping - nice to see how the other half live, ha!

I would highly recommend staying here. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aussietraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed for one night for business and really liked the hotel a lot. I would use it again for personal travel. The staff were excellent. I had a large front facing room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille - Starhotels Collezione
Louvre / Palais-Royal
The Westin Paris - Vendome
The Westin Paris - Vendome
#484 of 1,809 in Paris
3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Le Burgundy
Hotel Le Burgundy
#137 of 1,809 in Paris
732 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Regina Louvre
Hotel Regina Louvre
#93 of 1,809 in Paris
1,155 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#319 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#322 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $349 - $690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing