We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Vendome
Ranked #637 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Understanding how wildly expensive Paris is for U.S. travelers, i was understandably nervous about what I would find at the Hotel de Vendome, where i had booked a four-night stay. This charming hotel is on the block immediately off Place Vendome and just around the corner from the Ritz (which is closed for renovation). Our room at Hotel de Vendome was quite reasonable by Paris standards, generously sized, and the service was old world charming. Only 29 rooms makes the place quite intimate, almost all the staff were quite helpful and pleased to have us staying with them (refreshing for Paris) and overall i would go back most certainly. The small bar/restaurant is alright and the service there is actually quite dim, but everything else about the hotel is Five Star.

Room Tip: Buy the modest upgrade for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    80
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
180
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of staying in a suite at this hotel for 4 nights this last week . The service was impeccable and the bar was a lovely relaxing area to indulge in a delicious glass of pink champagne after shopping. Our suite was fantasic with every comfort you could wish for. The hotel is perfectly placed for shopping and dinning out. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I found the Hotel de Vendome on line and fell in love with the pictures. We traveled from New Orleans to Paris. This was our first trip to Europe. I must say that The Hotel de Vendome did not disappoint. It is a beautiful, elegant Hotel in an excellent location that is within walking distance to just about everything. Our room was wonderful. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet even though we had a room that faced the street. The bathroom featured a gorgeous marble deep soaking tub which came in handy at the end of a long day. We ate at their restaurant everyday. It was delightful and the food was excellent. The staff service was top notch. While we were there we requested wake up calls, taxis, room service and everything was done as requested. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel de Vendome is a classic hotel in the old french style with updated amenities. The staff was very helpful and accomodating. Not much of a lobby, but we loved the chic dining area on the 1st floor. The rooms were small, but comfortable and the location coudn't be beat. We would return in the future.

Room Tip: Be sure to include breakfast with your reservation...it's expensive a la cart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browneydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Best location in Paris to walk from, take the bus or the Metro. Our room was standard size for Paris but very clean and beautifully appointed. The bath was fabulous, the tub being a bit of a step up/out not a problem although I am 5'1" taking care.... the marble floor and separate sinks/toilet with bidet were very nice. The restaurant closes early but has a very good breakfast with attentive staff. We travel quite a bit and found this to be one of our nicer stays - we like smaller 4 or 5 star hotels with historic significance. The townhouses which comprise the place Vendome also include the Paris Ritz (different section) but are all just lovely! We would come back in a minute and will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to Paris!!

Room Tip: We were on main street and heard nothing - blackout drapes were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a week in Paris and were pleased with this hotel. We got a junior suite, nonsmoking. We had a full bath and a powder room. The hotel is clean and elegant without being pretentious. We never heard a peep from neighboring rooms or the hall. The staff are friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. The location is tremendous in the fashionable 1st arrondisement, close to the Tuilleries and Louvre, L'Opera, and shopping.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite if you plan to stay more than few days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaymarketCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Breakfast was served with attitude, you felt bad to ask for things. It was like a dead hotel with no energy. Although some of the staff was nice it definitely is not a five star hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights and was dieing to leave the hotel but last minute, everything wAs booked out. Luckily I found the w, and that is a true five star hotel. I only stay at 5 stars and hotel
De vendome should advertise as 4 star.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liza786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Le Burgundy
Hotel Le Burgundy
#226 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#284 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#102 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Property: Hotel de Vendome
Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#322 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#324 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing