We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location shame about the customer relations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Vendome
Ranked #627 of 1,810 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location shame about the customer relations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

On arrival we were duly shown to our room, surely the smallest room this hotel has to offer. A hotel of this ranking should not be able to get away with offering such a claustrophobic room at the prices they charge. It was not a good start. They were not full and their customer approach was bizarre. Only when we produced the advert showing the room we thought we had booked through Expedia did we finally get moved. Service throughout the rest of our stay was adequate. The location is very central and that is one of the few positives. If you choose to stay here, be very sure about what size room you are booking to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: If you book a classic room, be prepared for it to be very small indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    80
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
56
181
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I spent €10,000 here in December 2012 for my daughter's wedding. One of their employees behaved disgracefully & I have been trying for the last 7 weeks to get some attention from the hotel management. Incredibly the 2 most senior managers - The Executive General Manager, Elie Louca & the Hotel Manager Etienette Clamouze refuse to reply to my correspondence & voice messages. I have been courteous all the way through & just want an adequate apology & suitable redress against the employee concerned. Nobody replies so what else can I do but report them on Tripadvisor? Stay away because if you have a problem it will not be dealt with

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Gary17061957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etc1, Resident Manager at Hotel de Vendome, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Sir,
May I express my surprise to read this.
I did respond to your email and I am not sure I understand your comment in here.
I have resent you my email just now and I remain at your disposal to further discuss that.
I would be happy to call you directly at your best convenience, it is a shame that you feel like this despite the special event you had in our establishment.
Hopefully we will be able to talk soon.
Best regards,
Etiennette Clamouze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The location of Hotel De Vendome is in a fantastic location It is close to museums, great restaurants, around the corner from Laduree, yum. Chanel on rue Cambon ouch. We were a walk away(we like walking) from some great restaurants.The breakfasts were not worth the money so we gave it a miss after trying it once. The girls a reception were a great help with everything from where to eat etc, always smilling & happy. There was a young upstart that worked upstairs, but you will find them everywhere. All in all we would stay their again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Place de Vendome would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frenchcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Central to most things you would want to be near in Paris. A 15 minute walk to the Louvre & a 40 minute (very easy) walk to the Eiffel Tower.

I think overall the staff need a refresher course on customer service & general courtesy.

A promise to get back to us on a breakfast enquiry did not happen & the booking out of the restaurant for breakfast on our last morning for a function (and therefore no room for us) was only discovered when I phoned the concierge the evening before, which meant I could have missed the room service requirement for that morning. A notice was apparently pinned to the inside of the elevator. There are only 19 rooms in this hotel & for the prices charged I would expect a butler to arrive to personally tell me of the changed arrangements but no..... too arrogant for that.

Arrived in the empty restaurant one evening at about 7pm & asked to see the menus & after 15 minutes we decided to eat there but were told that the restaurant was fully booked. I asked the young fellow why he didn't tell us that when we asked to see the menus & he arrogantly replied, "you only asked to see the menus". This was typical of the hotel staff, which I viewed as less than helpful & at worst, arrogant.

Also, the $1,000 plus hold on my Mastercard was not lifted several days later which caused a reject on my credit card purchase in Singapore - even though the accommodation was fully pre-paid several months in advance & our room service & small ancillary charges were setlled in cash.

Air con was hot even though it was the beginning of winter.

I would not stay at this hotel again as the service is poor & I seem too much of an inconvenience for the staff.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The location is great, as you are right at the Tuileries metro and it takes 10 minutes to the Louvre. It feels safe, and the staff are OK. But for the price you pay for it, breakfast is a bit of a disaster - our food took 40 minutes to arrive each morning and all we ordered was scrambled or boiled eggs. The bread was not fresh, like it was frozen bread. The ham tasted like frozen ham. Room service comes on time, but the food is still not fresh.They do serve tea in the breakfast room, but there is nothing except for some overpriced macaroons. I have a feeling that the 'restaurant' is run by someone other than the Vendome - i.e. it is sub-contracted out. The staff just do not seem to be part of the hotel. Bathroom amenities are also not what I would call 'luxurious' - soaps, slippers, all very run-of-the-mill. The bed and the room however were great - good noise insulation, and good temperature control. Summary: We will not be returning to the Vendome. A wonderful hot breakfast can be expected at such a hotel, and in Europe there are wonderful buffet breakfasts. They need to address the food problem. Do check your bill too. They had inadvertently added breakfast on even though our reservation included breakfast. We stayed at the beautiful Lancaster off the Champs-Elysees before trying the Vendome, and the Lancaster's buffet breakfast really made our day each day, beautifully laid out and delicious, all of it. The restaurant of the Lancaster is a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuxurynCulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed there for 10 nights during our December holiday in Paris. Interior decoration was classically Parisien with good comfort and high level of personalized service. WiFi speed was reasonably fast (can even stream HD video) and room was equipped with quality toiletries. Front desk staff greeted us with a warm smile daily in winter Paris which made us feel homely. The Conceirge was very helpful to arrange for our museum passes and pre-paid phone card before our arrival. Unfortunately, there was a slip up by the limo driver failing to pick us up from CDG airport and we took a taxi to the hotel. The Conceirge offered his profuse apologies and he gave us an early check-in at 8 am and delivered a bottle of champagne to our room thereafter. We have booked the same hotel for our trip to Paris in early summer 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanCHLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Spent 8 nights in a perfect location, large room in the middle of the city and quiet -- a place to enjoy Paris - walking distance to Louvre, Orangerie, and Orsay museums as well as the Opera, Madelaine, etc. Also: restaurant Castiglione is across the street, perfect for quick continental breakfast, best pastry shop/tearoom in town is also in the vicinity (Laduree on Rue Royale, and Angelina on Rue Rivoli).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simihir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Le Burgundy
Hotel Le Burgundy
#229 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#279 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#102 of 1,810 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Property: Hotel de Vendome
Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#324 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing