We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy Day on Rue Cler”
Review of Rue Cler

Rue Cler
Ranked #92 of 1,132 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lively cobblestone street effectively preserves the ambience of Paris of old and is home to countless small shops.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Rainy Day on Rue Cler”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We enjoyed a walk down Rue Cler in a light rain, and enjoyed an afternoon in a small cafe' while waiting for a Spring shower to end. What a delightful avenue! Easily accessible and right on the Metro and bus line.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    165
    57
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great collection of artisan shops”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great little walk to construct a picnic on your way to the Champ de Mars. Grab some bread, cheese, fruit, wine, and whatever else you are looking for on this cute block of shops.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
224 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Day 3 First time in Paris Diary Part 7- Rue Cler”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We visited this neighborhood based on a strong recommendation of a famous American guide. It was near the Eiffel so there was no harm in taking a short stroll.
What I liked about the pedestrian street is the variety of shops on both sides. I remember the cafes, flower shop, cheese store, butcher store, and fruit stand. The store which is unforgettable is the chocolatier. We had our first taste of Paris macarons from this store at 1euro each. They actually are good. This street seems to be a preserved Parisian street which caters to the tourist. Still worth a 20-30 minute visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenThumb331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Usually like Rick Steves but not on Rue Cler”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Perhaps the build up in my mind was just too great.
It's a relatively short street with the usual cheese vendors, charcuterie, flowers, fish and so forth merchants. Nothing special or noteworthy that I could find.
There is nothing wrong with it, but the other markets in Paris….Rouge Enfant, Montorgueil, or even some regular working streets such as Rue Rivoli between Hotel de Ville and the Bastille, have more and more interesting shops.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank falconfling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“One of my favorite things in Paris”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I purposefully picked a hotel close to the Rue Cler after I accidentally found it during my last trip to Paris. It is a charming street filled with markets, cafés, bakeries, etc. we were able to buy all the supplies for a picnic here our first night, ate at a cafe for lunch before going to the train station, and purchased some premade sandwiches from a bakery stand to take with us and eat on our 6 hr train.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingspartan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue Cler also viewed

 

Been to Rue Cler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing